Skip to content

Review: Lift

April 3, 2010
tags: ,

When Kelly Corrigan saw how quickly her children were growing up and realized how little they would really remember of their youth, she decided to write them a letter.  She tells them of her fierce love for them and also weaves in some other stories – when her daughter had meningitis, when a relative’s son passes away, when a friend has a baby by in-vitro fertilization.

I really enjoyed The Middle Place by Kelly Corrigan, so I was very excited to see that she has a new novella out.  When I saw the video for Lift, I knew I wanted to read it.   Unfortunately, I felt like the best parts were in that video, so I wasn’t as touched by the book as I thought I would be.  Corrigan’s writing is expressive and touching, but I felt like it was rambling, so I wasn’t that deeply involved in it – I stayed dry-eyed throughout the book.

Lift is short and sweet and can be read in a very short time, and it would probably might a nice gift for a young mother.

Shop Indie Bookstores

I am an Indiebound Affliate.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2010 6:05 am

    I’d love to be able to read in bed like that with my kids in the future, when I do have my own kids… Thanks for the review and the video, Kathy!

  2. April 3, 2010 7:36 am

    OK, well that video make tears come to my eyes! Such a shame that the book doesn’t. Because this book has SO much potential to leave me in a puddle of nostalgic mess. I mean, I’m there. My kids are no longer babies, and they generally don’t need me unless they are sick or can’t figure out their math homework. They are going to be grown and gone and I’m gone to look up and ask “what just happened”?

  3. April 3, 2010 7:44 am

    The video is so sweet. They do grow and change so quickly.

  4. April 3, 2010 7:45 am

    Might be a good gift for a baby shower???

  5. April 3, 2010 8:33 am

    I loved Corrigan’s THE MIDDLE PLACE and I’m waiting for this one from the library!

  6. April 3, 2010 12:18 pm

    I loved “The Middle Place”, and hadn’t even heard of this one. I’ll see if my library has it, though. Thanks for letting me know about it!

  7. April 3, 2010 12:57 pm

    I went to a reading of Corrigan’s for this new book and it intrigued be but as I am not a mom yet I am not sure I will be as moved yet. I do think it will make a good gift for my friends who are having baby’s though. Especially since you said it’s good for young mothers. Thanks for your review!

  8. April 3, 2010 1:07 pm

    Great video. The book looks perfect for my daughter who is in the middle of raising two girls who are changing so quickly.

  9. April 3, 2010 1:10 pm

    The video is touching. They do grow up quickly (my youngest is in middle school). Great review, Kathy.

  10. April 3, 2010 1:51 pm

    She didn’t touch your emotions. It’s sad when an author doesn’t do that for the reader. I’ve seen another title, Lift. I thought it was about a bird. Hope I don’t sound cuckoo. Enjoyed the review.

  11. April 3, 2010 2:41 pm

    Sorry the book wasn’t what you had hoped Kathy but at least it would make a great gift – nothing wrong with that.

  12. April 3, 2010 3:26 pm

    i haven’t read this one but i do like novellas. even though it didn’t work for you i might give it a whirl! i skipped the video so i wouldn’t spoil the book. 🙂

  13. April 3, 2010 4:06 pm

    Sorry this one didn’t live up to the expectation. I am still on the fence whether I like to view the video previews of books. I like to gather my own images. Thanks for the tip on gift giving. I love to give books as gifts.

  14. stacybuckeye permalink
    April 3, 2010 5:37 pm

    Dry eyed isn’t necessarily a bad thing in my eyes 😉

  15. April 3, 2010 10:07 pm

    I’m sorry this one didn’t touch you the way it did me. I didn’t cry, but I sure had a lump in my throat. Maybe watching the video clip ahead of time (as well as several of her other videos), and having a grown daughter who lives 600 miles away from us, caused me to get a bit emotional as I read her book. Twice! I never read books over again so soon, but I did with this one.

    I think it would be a good gift, but maybe not for a new mom. I think it speaks to those who are on the other side of parenting. The empty-nesters who look back and wonder where did the time go?

  16. April 3, 2010 10:22 pm

    Ok – I skipped the trailer so I may still enjoy the book. I love the idea of this book as a legacy for the author’s children. thanks for sharing your perspective on the book.

  17. April 4, 2010 10:54 am

    My thought is that this is a great idea for a mother – writing a letter for each child with your emotions and memories of that loved one’s childhood. What a treasure that would be, especially as the child becomes a mother herself.

  18. April 4, 2010 10:55 am

    I loved The Middle Place and the video for lift, but I havent manage to get the book yet. I have so much that I am reading that I am glad to know I don’t have to rush to get to it from your review.

  19. April 4, 2010 12:58 pm

    It’s sad for us booklovers when a video has more depth than a book. Wish this one worked out better.

  20. April 4, 2010 2:52 pm

    Read and liked another book with the same title, a memoir written by a falconer from California. That one I gave 5 stars.
    Harvee
    Book Dilettante

  21. April 5, 2010 1:50 pm

    Sounds interesting. Reminds me of the journal I started for The Girl before she was even born. Too bad it’s been neglected over the last few years.

    –Anna

  22. April 5, 2010 3:54 pm

    So sorry that this was a lackluster read for you. The premise sounds good, and I love the cover, but I am going to defer to your opinion on this one and skip it. Thanks for the very honest and thoughtful review!

  23. April 5, 2010 9:32 pm

    This new one is so short. I’ve hesitated to buy it just for that reason. It sounds like it would make a nice gift for someone though.

    • April 5, 2010 9:53 pm

      It is short, Ti, but I wound up reading it twice, so I feel it was worth the money. It’s 20% off at B&N, so it winds up being only $13.50. Same price as a trade paperback. 🙂

  24. April 6, 2010 3:25 am

    This will make a good gift for me 😀
    I need to put this up somewhere as a probable gift option 😀

Leave a comment