Skip to content

Review: American Savior

January 21, 2009

american-savior

Russ Thomas is a reporter for WZIZ, a TV station in Massachusetts, when he is sent to report on the story of a young child who had fallen three stories, seemed dead, and came back to life when a stranger came up and touched him.  Others were calling it a miracle, but Russ remained skeptical.  Later, he’s sent to a hospital where the same stranger has visited a young girl and seemingly cured her of a chronic illness.

The stranger becomes known as “The Good Visitor,” and he turns out to be Jesus Christ.  Jesus calls Russ on his private phone and tells him that he’s running for President of the United States and would like for Russ to work on his campaign.  Russ is not convinced at first, but finally agrees when Jesus visits Russ’s girlfriend in a dream.

Jesus assembles a ragtag campaign team and heads out on the road as the candidate for The Divinity Party and chooses his mother as his running mate.  Jesus runs an unusual campaign – he doesn’t criticize his opponents and he’s available for questions.

American Savior by Roland Merullo started out with a bang for me.  The middle of the book, with all of it’s campaign details, did drag a little bit, though.  When it gets to the end of the campaign, the book really picked up again.  It is worth reading for all of the questions it brings up.  When a woman screams that the candidate is not Jesus,

“I might not be,” he said slowly. “I might not be. But my question to you is this: would you know him if he came into your midst? If he came into your midst and did not look the way you expected him to look, and did not speak as you expected him to speak, would you know him?”

That really made me sit and think for a little while.  This book is humorous as well as thought provoking and I enjoyed reading it.

Roland Merulla has written ten books, including Golfing with God and Breakfast with Buddha.  He lives with his wife and children in Massachusetts.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2009 7:26 am

    What a premise! I haven’t heard of this one, but sounds interesting.

  2. January 21, 2009 8:08 am

    I just saw this the other day and thought it looked really interesting! I think I’ll add this one to The List. 🙂

    Lezlie

  3. January 21, 2009 8:57 am

    Sounds really good! I’m going to keep an eye out for it.

  4. January 21, 2009 9:12 am

    For some reason I thought this was non-fiction when i started reading your review and quickly realized i was mistaken, lol!

  5. stacybuckeye permalink
    January 21, 2009 10:08 am

    I read another review of this somewhere, but the review didn’t make it sound nearly as intriguing as yours.

  6. January 21, 2009 10:26 am

    This sounds like an interesting book. What a unique premise.

    –Anna
    Diary of an Eccentric

  7. January 21, 2009 10:33 am

    Interesting review; thanks!

  8. January 21, 2009 10:35 am

    Sounds like a great book; I’ll definitely keep an eye out for it! 🙂

  9. January 21, 2009 10:37 am

    Oh, how fun. Isn’t there a song about what if Jesus sat next to you on the bus, would you know him?

  10. January 21, 2009 10:54 am

    Interesting review Kathy. I’ve never heard of this before. I like the quote you used.

  11. January 21, 2009 11:05 am

    This is a book I would have passed by if I hadn’t read this review. Now, I want to read it right away. It sounds so intriguing. Thanks for doing such great, honest reviews for us.

  12. January 21, 2009 11:21 am

    I’m a big fan of Merullo and I didn’t know about this book- thanks for the review!

  13. January 21, 2009 11:26 am

    Very interesting review – I’ve Stumbled it! At the beginning, I thought it might be a non-fiction book, and then I got to the part where Jesus calls him on the phone and I was like “What?” But then it all clicked!

  14. January 21, 2009 1:48 pm

    Care: Yes, “One of Us” by Joan Osborne. Makes me think I should review this book just so I can use that song for my playlist, LOL.

    This looks like a book I’d like, especially if it’s done with humor. Kind of like Lamb, but with a contemporary setting? And not by Christopher Moore, alas.

  15. January 21, 2009 2:54 pm

    My book group will be reading *Breakfast with Buddha* next … I didn’t know Merullo had other books (clearly I’m behind in my reading!)

    Matthew 25:35 “For I was hungry, and you gave Me something to eat; I was thirsty, and you gave Me something to drink; I was a stranger, and you invited Me in” came to mind when reading your review.

    Thanks; it’s going on my wish list!

  16. January 21, 2009 3:00 pm

    Hmmm…just sounds a bit too weird for me.

    One slight quibble about the quote. Certainly Christ might appear in a way we don’t expect…seems He did that once a couple of thousand years ago…but is he going to say things we don’t expect. Hmmm..I would argue no, Truth can’t contradict Truth.

  17. January 21, 2009 3:06 pm

    This does sound interesting! Thanks for the great review, Kathy!

  18. January 21, 2009 3:50 pm

    “Humorous” and “thought-provoking” without actually being satiric? Hmm, no wonder the details get a bit bogged down in the middle.

  19. January 21, 2009 4:10 pm

    Sounds like a good read! I have to ask though – does the book ever get a little too religious? Preachy, perhaps?

    • January 21, 2009 4:17 pm

      I really didn’t feel like the book got too preachy. I think it was intended to make you think about your beliefs, not sway you to a certain way of thinking.

  20. January 21, 2009 5:58 pm

    That looks really interesting! I also think you picked a great quote to use – it is really thought-provoking and if there are more examples like that in the book, I will definitely be reading it.

  21. January 21, 2009 6:16 pm

    This sounds worth taking a look at. I think I’ll look for Golfing with God, as well!

  22. January 21, 2009 6:35 pm

    I wondered about this book. I’m glad that you liked it. I don’t know. I get so tired of politics IRL that reading about it makes me sick to my stomach – even if Jesus is involved. I’m glad that you liked it.

  23. January 21, 2009 7:57 pm

    Wow. Sounds like a neat book even if it does have politics in it :o)

  24. January 22, 2009 12:03 am

    What an interesting premise for a book. I’m glad you enjoyed it overall even though the middle was a little slow, Kathy.

  25. January 22, 2009 11:33 am

    This sounds like a book I might enjoy. I just love the intricacies of political campaigns, probably why I’ve volunteered for some of them

  26. January 22, 2009 11:52 am

    It sounds unique. I like thought provoking yet not preachy. Thanks for the review.

  27. January 22, 2009 9:57 pm

    This one is going on my wish list. I can’t wait to read it!! Thanks for the review.

  28. January 24, 2009 7:06 pm

    wow what an interesting idea for a book…I’ll have to try to pick this one up!

  29. January 25, 2009 3:11 pm

    I took my 15 year old to the library yesterday (our favorite activity). I saw this book and grabbed it because of your review. Well, guess who is halfway finished with it? Yes, my son. Maybe I will read it soon.

Leave a comment