Skip to content

Wondrous Words Wednesday

May 27, 2020

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where you can share new words that you’ve encountered or spotlight words you love.  Feel free to get creative!   If you want to play along, grab the button, write a post and come back and add your link to Mr. Linky!

I found this word in THE PLAIN JANES by Cecil Castellucci.

1. vernissage – “Will you send me an invitation to the vernissage?”

A vernissage is a private viewing of paintings before public exhibition.

_________________________________________

What words do you want to celebrate today?

21 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2020 3:42 am

    Hi Kathy,
    Probably not a book I will be adding to my list, however I really like the cover art and the word is amazing, I had no idea there was a specific word for this event. Now, if I ever get the opportunity to mix in such illustrious circles, I won’t let myself down by just calling it a ‘viewing’! 🙂
    Thanks for sharing and hosting and I hope that all is okay with you.
    Yvonne
    xx

  2. May 27, 2020 7:08 am

    That’s a new word for me.

  3. May 27, 2020 8:04 am

    I’ve never received an invitation like that, although I did receive an invitation to an artist’s public viewing (I wonder if there is a word for that…probably) and I did attend.

  4. Lloyd Russell permalink
    May 27, 2020 10:04 am

    That would be no.

    Lloyd (408) 348-4849

    On Wed, May 27, 2020 at 12:01 AM Bermudaonion’s Weblog wrote:

    > BermudaOnion posted: ” Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where you > can share new words that you’ve encountered or spotlight words you love. > Feel free to get creative! If you want to play along, grab the button, > write a post and come back and add your link to Mr. ” >

  5. May 27, 2020 10:48 am

    I had no idea!

  6. May 27, 2020 12:15 pm

    Hi,
    I’ve read the word, but never knew what
    it meant…have a great day!

  7. May 27, 2020 3:31 pm

    I don’t remember ever hearing/seeing that word before. Sounds like it would be a neat thing to do.

  8. May 27, 2020 4:30 pm

    Yes finally one I know

  9. May 27, 2020 5:16 pm

    Bon mot!

  10. June 3, 2020 8:06 pm

    There is a reason I didn’t know that word. Too fancy 😉

  11. Carol Evans permalink
    June 5, 2020 11:37 am

    Seems like a word I’ve run into before, but I wouldn’t have been able to come up with the definition.

  12. June 10, 2020 12:37 pm

    Hi,
    New word for me…thanks for sharing.
    Have a great day!

  13. June 16, 2020 11:24 am

    I’ve definitely not heard of that word before!

  14. Felicity Grace terry permalink
    June 25, 2020 11:42 am

    Well there you go, my new word for the day. Thank you.

  15. Beth Hoffman permalink
    July 8, 2020 12:44 pm

    I should have known this, but I was clueless!

  16. Mareli Thalwitzer permalink
    September 23, 2020 5:20 am

    Hi there Kathy! I saw this meme on Yvonne’s page over at Fiction Books and I think it’s wonderful.

    Do you mind if we use it until you open the linky again?

    Here’s a link to my post if you want to have a peek Wondrous Words Wednesday

  17. Mareli Thalwitzer permalink
    November 25, 2020 9:12 am

    Hi there Kathy! Hope you are well? Hope you are having a good year and that you will return to blogging real soon…

    I am still using your meme, but I do give credit all the time. Do hope you don’t mind!

    Keep well and take care.

    Elza Reads

    • November 25, 2020 12:15 pm

      Feel free to take over the meme and make it your own!!

      Kathy

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      • Mareli Thalwitzer permalink
        December 23, 2020 2:15 pm

        Dearest Kathy,

        Hope you are well! That would be such a great honor. I am going to work on it for a bit and then I’ll chat to you before we do it from my blog. Let me just play around a bit as I have never hosted a meme. But I so love Wondrous Words Wednesday!

        I do hope you are having a wonderful Christmas season and then you get to spend it with loved ones.

        Merry Christmas!

        Wondrous Words Wednesday – Christmas

  18. December 22, 2020 11:39 am

    I miss seeing you post here, Kathy. I hope you will be back soon.

  19. January 9, 2021 1:30 pm

    Stopping by to say hi and hope all is well. Happy New Year Kathy.

Leave a comment