Skip to content

Kid Konnection: Diary of a Wimpy Kid

January 22, 2011

Greg Heffley is just an ordinary kid.  He’s the middle child; he’s tormented by his older brother and thinks his younger brother gets away with everything.  He thinks his parents are clueless.  Now he has to face middle school, and he can’t quite find his place there.  Greg’s mom has suggested he keep a journal (it’s NOT a diary) and he goes along with it so he won’t have to answer everyone’s questions about his childhood when he’s rich and famous. Rowley is Greg’s best friend and sometimes Greg finds him embarrassing – Greg just cringes when Rowley asks him if he wants to come to his house “to play”  in front of other kids at school.  When something happens to make Rowley popular, Greg has to figure out how to save their friendship.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney is a fantastic book!  I just loved Greg – he wants so hard to fit in and comes up with some crazy schemes to do so.  Sometimes it seems as if nothing ever goes his way.   The thing is, he thinks he’s got everything figured out yet he’s so clueless in some ways.  As I read this book, I can remember having some of the same feelings when I was that age.   This is a great book for parents and kids to enjoy together because they’ll both be able to relate to Greg.  I love the fact that the protagonist of the book is male because I think it will get boys to read it.   Since I could relate to this book –  I’m not sure if that’s because I was once that age or because I’m the mother of a male – I wouldn’t rule it out for girls.

This book is written much like a diary – on lined paper with a font that looks like printing.  There are illustrations (similar to the one on the cover) on every page.  The illustrations are black and white and pretty simple, but they really work in this case.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid is the first book in a series and it is just delightful!  If you have a middle grade reader in your life, you must get this book for them!

For more children’s books reviews, go to Booking Mama’s feature, Kid Konnection. If you’d like to participate in Kid Konnection and share a post about anything related to children’s books (picture, middle grade, or young adult) from the past week,  leave a comment as well as a link on her site.

I won this book in a contest on Bookin’ with Bingo.   I am an Indiebound Affiliate.
23 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2011 7:58 am

    One of my favorites from this book was Greg’s thank you card to his aunt that went something like: “Thank you for the pants. They look so good on my legs.”

  2. January 22, 2011 8:48 am

    These aren’t totally my kind of humor, but my kids love them!

  3. January 22, 2011 9:34 am

    I guess I have to pick one of these up – so many kids love them!

  4. January 22, 2011 9:47 am

    I’ve been toying around with starting this series, but you have pushed me over the edge. It’s going on my wish list for my birthday!

  5. January 22, 2011 9:56 am

    I want to be a kid again and read fun books 🙂

  6. January 22, 2011 10:09 am

    My youngest has all of these plus he got the Diary of a Wimpy Kid movie for Christms. When I saw you had marked them all “to read” I wondered why I had never picked one of them up. Your review makes me think I ought to rectify that!

  7. January 22, 2011 10:56 am

    Sounds like a fun read.

  8. January 22, 2011 11:55 am

    Diary of a Wimpy Kid seems to the IT movie for young kids these days. Makes you smile and say “YES” they done right when they wrote this one.

  9. January 22, 2011 1:50 pm

    Girls love it too! Now you have to see the movie and review it.

  10. January 22, 2011 2:03 pm

    I’ve not read any of these but keep hearing it’s a great series for kids.

  11. January 22, 2011 4:12 pm

    Nice review. I’m glad you liked it. I really want to read this series!

  12. January 22, 2011 4:40 pm

    I breezed through the book at a bookstore and thought my granddaughter (just started middle school this year) would be interested. She said, “No, they’re boring.” Boring seems to be a favorite word for I’m don’t want to do whatever you want me to. I was disappointed.

  13. January 22, 2011 11:39 pm

    I think this is a great series too. My boys would have enjoyed them if these books were around when they were little. They needed the extra motivation to keep them interested in reading.

  14. January 23, 2011 9:00 am

    This is a great series for any reader, but especially reluctant boys. When I was in the classroom, I couldn’t keep them on the shelf. My librarian now won’t carry them, but our kids still get their hands on them and can’t get enough of them! I have even bought the whole series for my oldest granddaughter…she’s almost ready to dig into them!

  15. January 23, 2011 5:29 pm

    This book made me laugh out loud. The other great thing about this book is it got my nephew hooked on reading. I love when book really hooks kids.

  16. January 23, 2011 5:31 pm

    I read the first one too and loved it. These books are NEVER on my shelves!! I have a hold list a mile long for each title in the series!

  17. January 23, 2011 9:10 pm

    I’ve been amazed that my first grader can read (and seems to follow and understand) these books!!! (They are all the rage at his school … and the “big gift” he wanted from Santa this year.) I’ve started reading them too, and they are fun. I can see why kids like them so much!

  18. January 24, 2011 7:40 am

    Glad to see you enjoyed it. I’ve only read one, Dog Days, and I thought was pretty good. The Girl absolutely loves this series! She read the newest book in just a few hours.

  19. January 24, 2011 7:43 pm

    I always wondered what the “diary of a wimpy kid” series
    was all about. Sounds fun! I’m a middle child too.

  20. escapingjourney permalink
    January 24, 2011 9:41 pm

    Glad to see you enjoyed this one. I’ve been interested in this book but haven’t picked up a copy yet, just wasn’t sure if it was for me. I’m now even more interested.

  21. January 26, 2011 3:48 pm

    This one sounds so awesome. My son would have loved it but unfortunately at almost 17, I know he’s outgrown it!

  22. January 30, 2011 6:58 pm

    I hope to hop on to this series one day. I’m on book-buying ban at the moment but when I’m ready to “open up” once again, I’ll dive in!

  23. February 5, 2011 1:48 pm

    Oh there it is! I somehow missed this post, not sure how. Great review! These books are excellent!

Leave a comment