Skip to content

Wondrous Words Wednesday

November 20, 2019

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where you can share new words that you’ve encountered or spotlight words you love.  Feel free to get creative!   If you want to play along, grab the button, write a post and come back and add your link to Mr. Linky!

I found this word in SURPRISING STORIES BEHIND EVERYDAY STUFF by Stephanie Warren Drimmer.

1. diopter – “Each row of letters represents a different diopter – a unit of measurement for vision.”

A diopter is a unit used to measure the correction, or focusing power, of the lens your eye requires.

_________________________________________

What words do you want to celebrate today?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2019 6:48 am

    I’ve worn glasses since the age of ten but I don’t think I’ve heard of this word before today.

  2. Lloyd Russell permalink
    November 20, 2019 9:29 am

    Uh…no.

    Lloyd (408) 348-4849

    On Wed, Nov 20, 2019 at 12:00 AM Bermudaonion’s Weblog wrote:

    > BermudaOnion posted: ” Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where you > can share new words that you’ve encountered or spotlight words you love. > Feel free to get creative! If you want to play along, grab the button, > write a post and come back and add your link to Mr. ” >

  3. Mae Sander permalink
    November 20, 2019 11:32 am

    If you have ever bought reading glasses at a drug store or other over-the-counter source, you have seen the numbers from 1 for the weakest glasses to at least 5 for very strong glasses, then you have seen diopters in use — those numbers tell you how many diopters of magnification you get.

    My post today is about an item with a special new-word kind of name: Hotbox.

    best… mae at maefood.blogspot.com

  4. November 20, 2019 2:25 pm

    I’ve never heard about diopters. Interesting.

  5. November 20, 2019 2:57 pm

    Kathy, I knew the meaning of this word, but I didn’t realize that each row of letters (on an eye chart) represents a different diopter! 🙂

  6. November 20, 2019 3:58 pm

    That is certainly new to me

  7. November 21, 2019 4:14 am

    I pick up new glasses today. I hope they got the diopters right! (ha ha, trying to use a new word in a sentence like in grammar school) But these glasses should be interesting – they are not regular progressives but some kind of digital adjustment things – no idea how they work, but am hoping I will be able to see!

  8. November 25, 2019 8:16 am

    I won’t likely be using this word anytime soon.

    I thought of you and these posts while reading my current book: I’ve written down 7 words already and looked up others ‘just to make sure I know it’! LOL I’m not even 10% in.

Leave a comment