Skip to content

Tuesday Thingers

October 7, 2008

Today’s Tuesday Thingers question is “LibraryThing’s Recently Added feature: do you look at it? Do you use it for ideas? Is there something listed there now that looks interesting to you? What have you added to your LT library recently?”

All I’ve seen are books that were recently added by me and I don’t need to look at those since I added them.  My memory’s bad, but it’s not that bad!  Some of the books I’ve recently added are Rocket Man by William Elliott Hazelgrove, The Mighty Queens of Freeville by Amy Dickinson, The Heretic Queen by Michelle Moran, Matrimony by Joshua Henkin and American Born Chinese by Gene Luan Yang.  I do look at what others have added under Connection News and find it to be a great resource for new books to explore.

In other news, my giveaway of An Exact Replica of a Figment of My Imagination by Elizabeth McCracken ends at midnight tonight.  You can enter it here.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2008 9:04 am

    I just got a copy of Matrimony – I’ve really been wanting to read it!

  2. October 7, 2008 9:07 am

    My connections are interesting, too, since I find all of those libraries full of books I might like to check out myself. I’m getting The Heretic Queen from Michelle Moran soon and I can’t wait! I’ve heard such brilliant things about it and I loved Nefertiti.

  3. October 7, 2008 11:21 am

    Several people have mentioned using Connection News to find interesting books. I’ve completely ignored that feature up to now – guess I’ll have to pay more attention in the future!

  4. October 7, 2008 2:22 pm

    On connection news I always the notice the people who must be shelf awareness junkies!

  5. October 7, 2008 2:40 pm

    Funny observation from Lenore … yes, I see the same names again and again. Maybe that’s a subliminal reason I don’t enter a book until I read it, so I’m after the wave (?)

  6. October 7, 2008 9:31 pm

    Sometimes I wonder if I’m the only blogger who doesn’t use Library Thing. I look at those questions and think . . . uh, no idea what that means. LOL

    BTW, thanks for that wonderful review of See You in a Hundred Years. I just added it to my wish list. Like I needed to add to it, but I love that kind of memoir.

  7. October 7, 2008 10:17 pm

    I like the recent activity section because it’s a reminder to me if I haven’t added something. I also like it on other people’s profiles. Still, you’re right about it not telling you something you didn’t already know. It was most handy to me to compile my list for Mailbox Monday.

  8. October 7, 2008 10:38 pm

    Okay, Dawn and Lenore, explain the Shelf Awareness comment! I think I know what Shelf Awareness is (the newsletter, right?) but how do you know someone’s a junkie? Just curious!

    I usually don’t add books until I read them, but I’ve recently started adding books with a TBR tag when I see them on another blog and think they look good.

  9. October 8, 2008 1:04 pm

    Connection News seems to be the preferred way to find new books with other LT users. Hmm! 🙂

Leave a comment