Skip to content

Tuesday Thingers

October 14, 2008

Today’s question: Early Reviewers- do you participate? How many books (approximately) have you received through the program? Have you liked them generally? What’s your favorite ER book? Do you participate in the discussion group on LT?

Marie from The Boston Bibliophile came up with another great question!  I joined Library Thing in mid-July and one of the first things I did was join Early Reviewers.  Since then I’ve gotten two books.  I have participated in the discussion group a little bit.

  • In August, I got Tears of the Desert: A Memoir of Survival in Darfur by Halima Bashir which is a fantastic book that I highly recommend.
  • In September, I got The Islands of Divine Music by John Addiego which hasn’t arrived yet.
14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2008 8:12 am

    I joined LT in August and received a book in my first month. I didn’t get anything in the second month, but that’s okay. It’s not like I have nothing to read 🙂

  2. October 14, 2008 8:54 am

    I joined ERs as soon as I joined LT also! It’s such a great opportunity. I’ve heard wonderful things about Tears of the Desert and think I’m going to have to add it to my list. I’ve gotten 2 ER books so far (I’m 2 for 3, which isn’t bad).

  3. October 14, 2008 9:47 am

    I think one of the main reasons I joined LT was for ER

  4. October 14, 2008 12:08 pm

    You’ve gotten some great books, and you found the ER much sooner than me. It was nearly a year before I ventured further than just my library page (lol) I love the discussion boards but I mainly lurk – my shyness is terrible 🙂

  5. October 14, 2008 12:28 pm

    It took me about a year to find out about ER, too. Until then, I was just trying to get all my books catalogued! Once I had that accomplished, I started exploring, and that’s how I found ER.

  6. October 14, 2008 1:33 pm

    I’ve been a LT /ER member since January and can you believe I’ve never received a book? I post all of my reviews on LT (amongst others), but I guess the almighty algorithm hates me. 🙂 I’ve never been particularly upset over not receiving one…after all, I’m swamped with books already, but have often found it curious.

    I still think it’s a great program. Besides, I need to spend more time organizing my library as opposed to receiving yet another book!

  7. October 14, 2008 3:14 pm

    To show you how out of it I am, I didn’t know there was a discussion group for the books. 😦

  8. October 14, 2008 7:08 pm

    Kathy, that reminds me, I need to add Tears of the Desert to my TBR list.

  9. bookroomreviews permalink
    October 14, 2008 8:36 pm

    I’ve been really lucky and the mighty algorithm has picked me every month since I started. I dont know why, but I love it:)

  10. October 14, 2008 8:56 pm

    Thanks for the welcome, I like your blog. I was really surprised to get a book the first time I tried.

  11. October 14, 2008 9:36 pm

    I’m glad your first ER book was such a success and I hope you enjoy the next one you’re reading 🙂

  12. October 14, 2008 9:39 pm

    ER is why I joined LibraryThing. I had great luck the first few months (I’ll have to look back to see how many), but I haven’t snagged anything in several months. It’s just as well, though. I’ve got too many books to read as it is. 🙂 I really love the program, though. It’s a great way to spread the word about books and to give back to readers.

  13. October 15, 2008 10:19 am

    Can’t wait to read your review of “The Islands of Divine Music.” I received that one from the publisher in August, and the author will be stopping by my blog for an interview in a couple of weeks. I’ll be posting my review them. I really love generational sagas, so I really enjoyed the book!

  14. stacybuckeye permalink
    October 15, 2008 9:06 pm

    I received The Ark, the Reed, & the Fire Cloud last week and it is not at all what I was expecting. It’s always good to try something new, I guess 🙂

Leave a comment