Skip to content

Tuesday Thingers

October 21, 2008

Today’s question: Series. Do you collect any series? Do you read series books? Fantasy? Mystery? Science fiction? Religious? Other genre? Do you use the series feature in LT to help you find new books or figure out what you might be missing from a series?

I learn so much from Marie’s questions!  I didn’t know there’s a series feature on Library Thing.  I will definitely have to check it out because I do enjoy some series like Sue Grafton’s alphabet mystery series and John Sanford’s Prey series.  I think the series feature would be helpful to someone like me because I do like to read series in order.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2008 8:41 am

    Hmmmm…I didn’t know either.

  2. October 21, 2008 9:01 am

    I didn’t know it either. Have you read Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum (numbers) series? You’ve got to! You’ll love it. Makes me laugh so hard sometimes!

  3. October 21, 2008 9:28 am

    I know very little about LT. Haven’t had much time to explore there.

    I’ve heard of the Sue Grafton series, but haven’t read any of the books.

    As for series, I loved Harry Potter, the Yada Yada Prayer Group, the Twilight saga, and James Patterson’s Womens Murder Club. Oh, and Beverly Lewis’ numerous series set in Amish country.

  4. October 21, 2008 9:38 am

    As a good Jersey Girl, of course I read the Plum series (very funny)…and I have read the Grafton series…and numerous other mystery series.

    But Potter…never got past the first book.

  5. October 21, 2008 9:51 am

    A lot of those mystery series I didn’t even know were series, so I’ve just read a couple and it doesn’t bother me to read them out of order.

  6. Amy permalink
    October 21, 2008 10:01 am

    I really like to read series in order too.

  7. October 21, 2008 10:28 am

    Wow I have to revise my post because I am having a brain malfunction today!

  8. October 21, 2008 11:30 am

    I like to read them in order too, it makes me grumpy to have to read them out of order! Now I am getting books to review that are part of a series that I haven’t read the beginning of, urgh!

  9. October 21, 2008 11:32 am

    Seriously, half the reason I do Tuesday Thingers seems to be to learn about new LT stuff!

  10. October 21, 2008 12:00 pm

    Glad to be of service! 🙂

  11. October 21, 2008 12:40 pm

    I like the Sue Grafton series as well and second the Janet Evanovich/Stephanie Plum series but it is getting a bit repetitive in the last few books.

  12. October 21, 2008 12:42 pm

    I didn’t know about the series thing on LT either. But, I have tons of series that I read, so I am going to have to look for it.

  13. October 21, 2008 1:13 pm

    One of these days I’ll go on LT and have a look see.

  14. October 21, 2008 1:58 pm

    I always have to read series in order!

  15. October 21, 2008 3:01 pm

    Count me amongst Those Who Must Read In Order!

  16. October 21, 2008 3:21 pm

    I didn’t know that there was a Series feature, either! I would say that I like series that don’t dwell on just one character. I got sick of Stephanie Plum after the fifth book. I can’t imagine 15. But, I loved Philippa Gregory’s Tudor series (although it may not technically qualify).

  17. October 21, 2008 3:41 pm

    i didnt know about the series thingy in LT as well…should check it out..i like to read the books in a series in order as well…and i sometimes like to read them all together.. it sometimes is a little overwhelming but i like to get the complete picture in one go!:)

  18. October 21, 2008 6:15 pm

    Like you, I didn’t know LT had that feature!

    🙂 Here’s the link to my first Tuesday Thingers post:
    http://wendisbookcorner.blogspot.com/2008/10/tuesday-thingers.html

    Wendi

  19. October 22, 2008 8:03 am

    I don’t use LT enough — I’ll have to check out more features. I totally agree with you: Series must be read in order!

  20. October 22, 2008 10:22 am

    Series must be read in order – YES!

    I haven’t read any of the Sue Grafton books, what letter is she up to now?!

  21. October 22, 2008 10:47 am

    I didn’t know about it either. I always use Fantastic Fiction for series info. I can’t stand to read a series out of order.

  22. October 22, 2008 7:46 pm

    I’m another who under-utilizes LT. I’m so glad Marie is enlightening us 🙂

Leave a comment