Skip to content

Tuesday Thingers

October 28, 2008

This week’s question: Legacy libraries. With which legacy libraries do you share books? Tell us a little about a couple of them and what you share.

Once again, Marie has come up with a question about a feature I didn’t even know existed.  I had to search, but I finally found legacy libraries under statistics.  It turns out that I share one book – Gone With The Wind – with Ernest Hemingway and one book – The Prince of Tides – with Eeva-Liisa Manner.  I’m really not surprised because most of the legacy libraries are of historical figures.  My library is by no means complete – it doesn’t list all of the books I’ve read through the years.  This was still a fun feature to check out.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2008 9:06 am

    It was interesting, looking through those libraries. Apparently a lot of interesting dead people liked Virginia Woolf, because I share several of the VW titles in my library with the Legacies.

  2. October 28, 2008 9:11 am

    I had no idea where to find this–thanks for mentioning it.

  3. October 28, 2008 10:12 am

    It took me a while to find it too, Kathy. Actually, I didn’t look under statistics, I was looking at the group. I’ll check your way, it might be more user friendly.

  4. October 28, 2008 11:08 am

    I had trouble finding this also but when I did it was very interesting. My library is not complete either!

  5. October 28, 2008 11:31 am

    Sounds like your library is similar to mine – current reads but not all. I like learning something new each Tuesday!

  6. October 28, 2008 11:32 am

    My library is by no means complete either, but I thought this was a fun feature.

  7. October 28, 2008 12:56 pm

    Oh!! I forgot to add Gone with the Wind to mine!! I LOVE that book!!

    Wow – I’ve just started entering my books as I just learned about this part of the site this morning! I’ve got 2 with Marilyn Monroe and 6 with Ernest Hemingway!

    This was fun – to see the rest of my list: http://wendisbookcorner.blogspot.com/2008/10/tuesday-thingers_28.html

    🙂 Wendi

  8. October 28, 2008 1:58 pm

    I’m one of the fortunate who has my entire library listed, so I had a lot of “hits” with the Legacy Library feature. Quite interesting to scroll through the lists!

  9. October 28, 2008 3:00 pm

    I didn’t really have much in common with any of the figures, which didn’t surprise me! I had three books in common with Hemingway, and that was the best I could do. 🙂

  10. October 28, 2008 4:49 pm

    As with many of the number things and connections at LT, the more books you have entered in your library, the better results you get.

  11. October 28, 2008 5:25 pm

    It’s heavily slanted towards classics, which makes sense since the legacy libraries are intended for dead people. So if your background in older literature isn’t too heavy, or you’ve only been recording what you’re reading recently, you’re not going to have many in common. I have lots of leftovers from my English degree that slant my library towards them even if I don’t particularly care for the books.

  12. October 28, 2008 9:54 pm

    Interesting. I had no idea. I think I’ll have to check it out.

  13. October 29, 2008 2:34 am

    it can take a year or two to get your whole list of books and reading catalogued. I couldn’t keep track without LT now. This was such an interesting question to answer. It’s my first Tuesday Thinger post and I really enjoyed doing it.

  14. October 29, 2008 9:35 am

    I had quite a few interesting legacy library “overlaps”. I suspect this snapshot won’t change much (except for new legacy libraries which are created), as my older/classic books have been entered into my LT library, and I’m adding mostly new/recent (past 2-3 years) releases now.

Leave a comment