Skip to content

Review: Kosher By Design Lightens Up

November 12, 2008

kosher-by-design

When Kosher By Design Lightens Up by Susie Fishbein was delivered, I don’t know who was more excited – me or Carl.  We both enjoyed looking through it.  The first few pages of the book explain how to keep a kosher kitchen and make healthy choices in your eating habits.  There is a section with definitions and explanations of flours, sugars, oils, etc.  The section on entertaining has some great ideas.

The reason you buy a cookbook is for the recipes, though, and this one has some great ones.  I cooked the Cabbage Soup this weekend and the recipe is simple and easy to follow.  The soup was delicious!  There’s a picture with every recipe, and the recipes use ingredients that are easy to find.  The directions are clear and concise.  The recipes in this book are for food that your family will eat – things like Italian Pot Roast, Enchiladas, Salmon Burgers, and Blueberry Pancakes just to name a few.  There is an emphasis on making the dishes healthier.   There are a lot of recipes that I want to try like the Greek Frittata Ring, Multigrain Pasta with Roasted Red Pepper Pesto and Frozen Pumpkin Pie.

You can see some sample pages here.  It’s not necessary to be Jewish (I’m not) or keep a kosher kitchen (I don’t) to enjoy this beautiful book.  This is a great cookbook for beginners and pros alike.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2008 8:16 am

    Thanks for the review. I’m a cookbook freak. I’ll take a look at this one next time in the bookstore.

  2. November 12, 2008 8:44 am

    Since you love cooking and my family loves eating can we come live with you??? 🙂 I am so not a good cook or even interested in it. But I want to be, ya know?

  3. November 12, 2008 9:44 am

    I love looking at cookbooks and imagining my family’s face if I could ever pull off something besides the basics. But I love to look and the cover looks yummy!

  4. November 12, 2008 10:22 am

    Kathy I got this book too and I love it. So many great recipes. I am like you not Jewish and my kitchen isn’t kosher but I want to have a family who eats healthy. This was a great book filled with all kinds of great recipes. We are always looking for new things to eat and try and this is a hit so far. Great Review!

  5. November 12, 2008 10:30 am

    Oh, that cover looks yummy – cheesecake, right?

    Healthy eating doesn’t have to be dull; it sounds like this cookbook proves it.

  6. November 12, 2008 10:53 am

    Thanks for the review. This sounds like a great cookbook. Yummo on the Cabbage Soup-I just bet that was delicious.

  7. November 12, 2008 12:00 pm

    The recipes are wonderful. I love this cookbook and I never would have picked it up if I hadn’t gotten it to review (I’m not Jewish, either). It is full of great information!

  8. November 12, 2008 1:56 pm

    the cover looks deliciously inviting! you should share the cabbage soup recipe with us sometime!:)

  9. stacybuckeye permalink
    November 12, 2008 4:15 pm

    Having a picture with every recipe is a must for me. Now you’ve made me want to try something new!

  10. November 12, 2008 7:04 pm

    This one is on my chanakah list this year. I am Jewish but I don’t necessarily keep kosher.
    I am looking for recipes that are easy to make. Her other cookbooks are definately for gourmet and large crowd. This one looks like it would be easy and family style. No complication. I like that .
    Thanks for the review.

  11. November 13, 2008 6:57 am

    I love cook books of all kinds too. I have quite a collection. I am also a big fan of cabbage.

  12. Bobbie Crawford-McCoy permalink
    November 13, 2008 9:47 am

    Great Review!

    I like the sounds of this book! The recipes sound and look so delicious.
    I think I might get a copy to review now! 🙂
    Thanks Kathy.

    -Bobbie

    Book Reviews By Bobbie
    http://bookreviewsbybobbie.wordpress.com/

  13. November 13, 2008 9:48 am

    I love cookbooks! This one sounds neat. I’ll have to check it out.

  14. November 13, 2008 1:23 pm

    Great review 🙂 It’s a really fun book.

  15. November 14, 2008 7:49 pm

    Kathy, the recipes you listed all sound delicious but very un-fussy, which I like. I hope you’ll share some of your favorites when you’ve had a chance to experiment with this book!

  16. July 10, 2009 2:41 am

    Hi, I have five of Susie’s cookbooks and I am hinting to my family that I want the sixth. I have never had six books by one author.

    I love that her presentation is beautiful and clear. The photos are spectaculat and the recipes have to be eaten. They will be loved.

    I could probably go through the entire book or any of her other books, for that matter.

    For those with children, she has written a book. The recipes are child pleasing and simple to follow.

    No, I am not getting paid to say all this. Most of the people I know have some of her books. We know when we see a good thing.

    To be fair, I like Tyler Florence too.

Leave a comment