Skip to content

Review: Divine Justice

November 14, 2008

divine-justice

The head of the CIA and a US Senator have been murdered and everyone is after the killer, John Carr, also known as Oliver Stone.  Oliver Stone was a former assassin for the CIA and he is on the run.  He is being hunted by a federal agent as well as the members of the Camel Club (the Camel Club is a group of friends who seek the truth). The federal agent wants him arrested and the Camel Club aims to protect him.

While Stone is running, he befriends a young man, who leads him to the small town of Divine, Virginia.  On the surface, Divine appears to be idyllic, but Stone discovers that things aren’t always as they appear.  He becomes involved in some investigations into the corruption in the town.

Things really get exciting when the federal agent and the Camel Club arrive in Divine.  Divine Justice is David Baldacci‘s fourth book in the Camel Club series, but it’s not necessary to have read the other books to enjoy this one.   It was published by Hachette Books on November 4.  I found it hard to put down – I even read it while I stood in line to vote.  This book is loaded with suspense, mystery and action, and I recommend it to anyone who likes that type of book.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2008 7:27 am

    My husband used to always pick up the latest David Baldacci at the airport when travelling. Now he has a Kindle, so he has more choices … I wonder if he’ll “whispernet” this one, it does look good (I’m like you, I hate “down time” in lines and always have a book with me … if I don’t have one of the kids I need to keep an eye on!)

  2. November 14, 2008 8:03 am

    I love this series! I’m waiting for this installment from the library. Somewhat impatiently, I might add. 🙂

    Lezlie

  3. November 14, 2008 8:13 am

    Oooh! I really need to read this one. Your review makes me want to drop all my other “committments.”

  4. Amy permalink
    November 14, 2008 8:19 am

    I am reading this one right now and I am really enjoying it. I was hooked right away and want to keep reading but life keeps interfering. Great review!

    Amy
    http://readingtoolate.net

  5. November 14, 2008 9:09 am

    I haven’t read the first Camel Club book, yet, but I intend to. It’s great to know he’s still putting out great novels. Thanks!

  6. November 14, 2008 9:18 am

    Not that Mr. Baldacci needs any help in the publicity department, but I just want to add that my store hosts him for a book signing twice a year—his parents’ home is just down the road, and we’re basically his “home store”—and he is always incredibly kind, gracious, and generous with his time. When a big author comes around, we always wonder what it will be like to work with him or her, and David is wonderfully down-to-earth and does not at all act like fancy author that he is.

  7. November 14, 2008 10:29 am

    It’s always nice that the author of a good book is also a nice person.
    I can’t say that I have read anything by Baldacci in a long time. Perhaps I need to reconsider that.

  8. Bobbie Crawford-McCoy permalink
    November 14, 2008 1:07 pm

    Really great review!
    I carry a book with me everywhere 🙂
    If there are a few moments that I can squeeze in a little more reading, I do it!
    Have a great weekend Kathy.

    -Bobbie

    Book Reviews By Bobbie
    http://bookreviewsbybobbie.wordpress.com/

  9. November 14, 2008 1:11 pm

    I’ve never read any Baldacci but a lot of people seem to really like his books. Glad you enjoyed this one so much.

  10. November 14, 2008 4:41 pm

    I haven’t read any of his but keep thinking I need to get one. Thanks for the reminder!

  11. stacybuckeye permalink
    November 14, 2008 4:56 pm

    I haven’t read Balducci on awhile. This sounds good, but I’d have to read them in order.

    It’s good to hear that he is a nice and gracious person. Whenever I meet an author who is a genuinely nice person I am always more inclined to spend money on their books!

  12. November 14, 2008 7:44 pm

    Kathy, I can just see you reading while standing in line to vote! That’s a pretty great visual.

  13. November 14, 2008 7:55 pm

    I haven’t read anything by him but I’ve always wondered. I’ll have to keep this series in mind!

  14. November 14, 2008 9:38 pm

    This does sound good. I will have to keep an eye out for it. Thanks for the great review, Kathy!

  15. November 15, 2008 12:17 am

    I am so glad to read a positive review, I really need to read my copy! I love this series. 😀

  16. November 16, 2008 10:12 am

    Can’t read the review. I’m addicted to this series and I don’t want to know anything that’s going to happen before I have a chance to read this one. I know you will understand. I did read in the comments that you enjoyed the book…now I am REALLY excited!!!

  17. November 17, 2008 12:52 pm

    Must be a great book if you read it standing in line! I’ve never read anything by this author. Sounds interesting, though.

Leave a comment