Skip to content

The Mighty Queens of Freeville

November 28, 2008

In the 1980’s, Amy Dickinson was married with a young daughter and living in London when her husband decided he wanted a divorce.  Since she came from a family of strong women (many of them single parents), she blossomed after she got over the pain of the divorce.  In The Mighty Queens of Freeville: A Mother, A Daughter and the People Who Raised Them you learn about Amy and her strong family.  These women are loyal, supportive, loving and there for each other.  There are some amazing women in the family – after Amy’s father left her family, Amy’s mother went to college and now teaches college herself.   They were an inspiration and source of strength to Amy after her divorce and it was Amy’s daughter Emily who dubbed them The Mighty Queens of Freeville.

This book is a delightful, fun read.  Amy’s self-deprecating humor made me root for her and Emily.  How could you not love someone who entitles a chapter in her book “The Apex of Dorkitude: Dork, Like Me.”  Amy Dickinson is the author of the Ask Amy advice column that is syndicated by the Chicago Tribune and the host of “Talk of the Nation” on NPR.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2008 9:39 am

    At first look, this book doesn’t seem like delightful and fun but I’ll take your word for it 🙂

    That ‘Ask Amy’ link is pretty interesting…

  2. alirambles permalink
    November 28, 2008 11:02 am

    I’m waiting to review this until it’s released, but I did enjoy it. Funny thing is, I put it down a month ago at about 2/3 of the way through and have had no pull to pick it up again. I decided to hold off until after the New Year, so it’ll be fresh when I review it. It’s always odd to me, though, when an enjoyable book can sit there without calling to me to pick it back up. (Though if I didn’t have a dozen more waiting to be read, that sure wouldn’t be true!)

  3. November 28, 2008 11:07 am

    This is on my pile too. I’ve heard many mixed reviews. Glad you enjoyed it.

  4. November 28, 2008 11:09 am

    Glad you liked this book Kathy. I’d love to read it one of these days.

  5. November 28, 2008 11:40 am

    I did like this book – I didn’t think it was great, but I did think it was a quick, fun read.

  6. November 28, 2008 12:19 pm

    The Dork part caught my attention. I can relate to that.

  7. November 28, 2008 12:57 pm

    I have this in my TBR pile too, I like to wait to read them until close to the release date. I’m glad to know it is a quick fun read!

  8. November 28, 2008 1:18 pm

    lol-This showed up in my mailbox today.

  9. November 28, 2008 3:36 pm

    Kathy-I enjoyed reading your review. I just got this book last week and it is in my TBR pile. Glad to hear that you thought it was a fun read..I can use a fun read!!

  10. November 28, 2008 4:05 pm

    I actually like her advice column, but hadn’t heard of the book before. It’s on my list now, though 🙂 – thanks!

  11. November 28, 2008 4:33 pm

    It was a good read like you said Kathy. If I hadn’t gotten it from BN I think probably wouldn’t have read it.

  12. November 28, 2008 6:57 pm

    Sounds like an interesting book – I’ll look for it.

    I just gave you an award – and there’s a meme that goes with it. Come over to claim it.

  13. November 28, 2008 8:23 pm

    I’m glad to hear you enjoyed this one, it’s near the top of my TBR. I was hoping it would be fun! At first glance I picture something along the lines of Steel Magnolias.

  14. November 28, 2008 9:02 pm

    I think I’d like her sense of humor.

  15. November 28, 2008 10:00 pm

    I’ve never heard of Amy, but this book sounds great. I love it when people write about their lives with a sense of humor.

  16. November 28, 2008 10:34 pm

    I saw this one on Shelf Awareness and was curious about it (although not compelled enough, for some reason, to request a copy)–glad to see you liked it!

  17. November 29, 2008 12:59 pm

    This is in my pile – I’m so glad you posted the review. I’m really looking forward to it now!

  18. November 30, 2008 3:55 pm

    On the basis of its title alone, I embrace this book. Your blog, too, is quite stunning. It’s my first time here.

  19. November 30, 2008 9:30 pm

    I received *The Mighty Queens of Freeville*, too, but will read it closer to the pub date. When I first read of it, I thought it was fiction, but realized it was a memoir when it came in the mail and I took a closer look … it should work out for me, as I generally enjoy personal memoir.

  20. November 30, 2008 9:47 pm

    I have this one on my TBR list!

  21. December 1, 2008 10:14 am

    Sounds like an interesting book. Love that “dorky” chapter title.

  22. April 25, 2009 6:14 pm

    I linked your review to mine of this book…

  23. June 3, 2009 1:11 am

    I must admit to laughing out loud and driving my husband nuts reading it aloud to him. It’s apparently not nearly as funny for a man!

Leave a comment