Skip to content

Tuesday Thingers

December 2, 2008

tuesdaythingers

Marie‘s come up with a great question this week.  It is “What’s the most popular book in your library? Have you read it? What did you think? How many users have it?”

the-golden-compassThe most popular book in my library is The Golden Compass by Phillip Pullman, and it’s actually my son’s book.  11,416 people have it listed in their libraries.  It’s the 41st most popular book on Library Thing and it’s been reviewed by 265 members who’ve given it an average rating of 4 stars.  I have read the book (at my son’s urging) and at first I struggled with the fantasy aspects of it.  As the story progressed, I got into it more, and did end up enjoying it enough to read The Subtle Knife.  I can’t wait to see what everyone else has to say on this one.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2008 7:32 am

    That’s interesting – I would have thought it would be higher than 41st. So no Harry Potter in your library?

  2. December 2, 2008 7:36 am

    I read the Golden Compass and really enjoyed it also. Haven’t read either of the other two books in the series yet.

  3. December 2, 2008 7:58 am

    I have all three Pullman books up on LT. But Dan Brown was more popular!

  4. December 2, 2008 8:16 am

    I’ve never read this one, but it sounds good.

  5. December 2, 2008 8:19 am

    I never read Pullman (I have read interviews with him and dislike him so much I would not bother reading the books and giving him any of my hard earned money)…and I don’t like Potter…oh, what to do with me…lol

  6. December 2, 2008 9:14 am

    I haven’t read this one. Fantasy/sci-fi aren’t my usual choices, either, but Harry Potter is the most popular book in my library (and I read it, and enjoyed it … good to try new things!)

    Here’s my full answer

  7. December 2, 2008 10:00 am

    I have this one on my shelf, but haven’t read it yet. Maybe I will finally get to it one of these days.

  8. December 2, 2008 10:28 am

    I have the trilogy of this series in one big book and had started it but never kept going. I really should drag it out again because I did like it.

  9. December 2, 2008 12:21 pm

    I have these books too, but haven’t read them yet.

  10. December 2, 2008 1:28 pm

    I loved the movie, but haven’t read the book! Kathy – where did you get your facts from? I think I pulled information from the wrong place on LT – I looked at the overall popular books as I couldn’t find the stats on my own books!!

    Here’s my Thinger!

    🙂 Wendi

  11. December 2, 2008 1:31 pm

    I found the stats I listed in my library – I hope they’re right.

  12. December 2, 2008 1:31 pm

    i enjoyed this series once i got into it. just read it this fall. well…almost. for some reason i left the third book with about twenty pages to go.

  13. December 2, 2008 2:04 pm

    I have Pullman’s His Dark Materials and started reading it. I liked what I read, but got sidetracked and have to find the time to get back to it. It was good to see an non-Harry answer!

  14. December 2, 2008 3:10 pm

    I liked The Subtle Knife better than The Golden Compass, honestly – I thought it was a lot easier to get into. I’ll be interested in your thoughts about that one!

  15. December 2, 2008 3:19 pm

    I’ve always wanted to read the Golden Compass, but never did. I’d love to give it a try though, it sounds like a fantastic read.

  16. stacybuckeye permalink
    December 2, 2008 3:44 pm

    I’ve never read Pullman, The most popular book in my library is the first Harry Potter. I share that book with 37,368 other LT members.

  17. December 2, 2008 3:59 pm

    I’ve resisted reading this one. But good to know that I would probably like it if I read it.

  18. December 2, 2008 9:58 pm

    I liked the Golden Compass very much, too. It took me a while to get into it because it reads very much like a historical at the beginning, and I’m not that fond of historical fiction. But then I got a little deeper into it, and it pulled me in. I read The Subtle Knife, and have the third one but haven’t read that yet. I enjoyed the Harry Potter books more, though.

  19. December 2, 2008 10:36 pm

    I have this series myself…I read the first one since the movie came out of it too. The movie left ALOT out!! The 2nd book was a bit better than the first. I haven’t gotten around to the last one yet…It’s amazing how many people had Harry Potter as the top spot…Didn’t see anyone else with Golden Compass…

  20. December 3, 2008 1:55 am

    I haven’t read it yet. Maybe someday.

    My most popular book was Pride and Prejudice. There was just under 25,000 other libraries with it. We actually might own Harry Potter but it would be on my son’s shelf which didn’t get listed.

  21. December 3, 2008 11:33 am

    I’ve never read this book Kathy. Mine was Catcher in the Rye but I think it would have been another book if I had my library complete at LT…someday, I’ll add all my books!

  22. December 4, 2008 12:54 am

    I haven’t yet read Pullman’s books, but I have them in my personal library. One of these days . . . Harry Potter made the top of my popular LT list, followed by the Hobbit.

  23. December 4, 2008 8:34 am

    I haven’t read this one. I think you’re the first person I’ve seen with this answer, Kathy. More interesting than mine, which was the ubiquitous (but wonderful) Pride and Prejudice.

Leave a comment