Skip to content

Tuesday Thingers and Picture of Milou

December 23, 2008

tuesdaythingers

In her final week as the host of Tuesday Thingers, Marie of The Boston Bibliophile gave us this question:

Holiday gift-giving. Do you give books for the holidays? Did you participate in LT’s SantaThing, either this year or last, or in other blogging gift exchanges? Were you happy with what you received?

I do give some books for Christmas, but not a tremendous amount, since most of my family doesn’t read much, I’m sad to say.  I participated in the Secret Santa gift exchange that was organized by Dewey and Nymeth and my Secret Santa was fantastic!  You can see what she sent me here.  I didn’t do SantaThing since I had just done the other Secret Santa.

_________________________________________

milou-cleaning-her-toy-bear

Here’s a picture of sweet Milou cleaning her toy bear.  Who would want to play with a dirty bear?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2008 8:45 am

    what a cutie 🙂

  2. December 23, 2008 9:26 am

    She is adorable! 🙂 I’m giving books for Christmas, as I’ve probably blogged about way too much lately, but mostly to my closest friends and family. No Secret Santas for me this year! Time just got away from me and I didn’t want to sign up and not come through. Perhaps next year?

  3. December 23, 2008 9:37 am

    Milou is too cute Kathy. Michael said he wants a dog like Milou.

  4. stacybuckeye permalink
    December 23, 2008 9:47 am

    Milou is adorable 🙂
    I did all of my Chrisrmas shopping in 2 bookstores this year and did my part for the economy and the publishing world. The only problem I found was that I spent too much money because it’s always easy to justify spending extra on books!

  5. December 23, 2008 9:59 am

    Looks like Milou is doing a really good job on that bear! Such a sweetie. I didn’t do any book exchanges this year. Christmas sort of snuck up on me!

  6. December 23, 2008 12:25 pm

    What an adorable photo! 🙂

    The Book Blogger Christmas Swap was a lot of fun. I participated in a Secret Santa paperback swap in a book group I belong to and the SantaThing this year as well. I don’t often get books as gifts unless it’s something I specifically request (and beg) for. Most of my family doesn’t like to risk getting something I may have already read and I’m sure there are those who think the last thing I need is another book.

  7. December 23, 2008 12:35 pm

    I loved the Secret Santa exchange this year, and look forward to participating again next year. Similarly to you, I didn’t do the SantaThing this year. I was already doing the Secret Santa, and just didn’t have the extra money sitting there!

    Milou is so cute (as usual) – isn’t it funny how they love their comfy (regardless how dirty) toys??

    🙂 Wendi

  8. December 23, 2008 12:54 pm

    She is so cute!

    I gave quite a few books this year, especially to the kids. My husband, like me, would rather receive a book than almost any other gift (makes him easy to buy for)!

  9. December 23, 2008 1:21 pm

    Milou would look like a little reindeer if she had some antlers. LOL.

    I bought a lot more books this year than last. I bought several for gifts and to my delight…my own children asked me for several books and that made my day!

    I’m sure I will be hitting the day after Christmas sales at the bookstore too.

  10. December 23, 2008 2:14 pm

    Cute pic! I bought quite a few books for Christmas gifts this year. For Serena and The Girl, of course, but also for my sister.

  11. December 23, 2008 2:58 pm

    I did both gift exchanges this year because I’m a sucker for gift exchanges. Cute dog picture!

  12. December 23, 2008 3:39 pm

    I want to do both exchanges next year, but we’ll see what my wallet has to say about it! I like to do at least one, it’s nice to get surprise books in the mail.

  13. December 23, 2008 4:39 pm

    Awww, look at Milou. I was tempted to participate in SantaThing, and I probably would have done it if it had been open worldwide. As you might have guessed, I’m also a sucker for gift swaps 😛

  14. December 23, 2008 5:01 pm

    Very cute photo. I think I need to jump into these exchanges next year too.

  15. December 23, 2008 9:06 pm

    I am really sorry to see this go. I’d pick it up, but have made a commitment to focus on a few things in 2009. I have a bad habit of having too many irons in the fire. That’s why I wrote out my 2009 goals, printed them out and read it when something like this comes along. As much as I’d like to have super human abilities, I don’t. I’m just a freaky book blogger…lol!

  16. December 23, 2008 11:03 pm

    Kathy – I had a nice email-chat with Marie today, and am going to try to keep Thingers going (along the lines of what you suggested is probably where we’ll head. . . I’ll share a few ideas soon!) So . . . I would also like to invite you to join me at Wendi’s Book Corner next week as I begin hosting Tuesday Thinger with a huge thank you to Marie!

    Merry Christmas (in case I don’t leave a message between now and then – my son’s 2nd birthday is tomorrow. . . 🙂

    🙂 Wendi

  17. December 24, 2008 12:53 pm

    Merry Christmas, Kathy!

  18. December 24, 2008 1:31 pm

    Milou’s a cutie – thanks for the picture, and Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  19. January 2, 2009 2:13 pm

    Awwwww-Milou is so sweet. Buddy does the same-has this old filthy toy that I’ve had to repair several times over the years that he cleans. It’s too funny.

Leave a comment