Skip to content

Tuesday Thingers and Picture of Milou

January 20, 2009

tuesdaythingersTuesday Thingers is hosted by Wendi of Wendi’s Book Corner and today Wendi has a question about yet another feature I knew nothing about.  Today’s question is:

Have you ever used the Swap This Book function which can be found on the main page of any book (here is an example of Flirting With Forty by Jane Porter: link shown on book page, what it looks like if you click on the link)? If so, what do you think about it? If not, are there any other swap sites you utilize to exchange books once you are done? What do you do with your books if you no longer want them anymore?

I didn’t know about the Swap This Book feature of Library Thing, so I’ve never used it, but I do think it’s a great idea.  I’ve gotten duplicates of several books, and listed them under ARC Junkies – “ARCs you wanna read or are ready to pass on.”  I don’t use swap sites.  After I read them my books, I pass them on to a local friend.  Once she’s read them, I take them to my mother and sister for them to read.

__________________________________________________

milou-at-deskThis is Milou sitting with Carl at his desk.  She likes to have a lap to lay on, and something to prop her head up on.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2009 9:18 am

    I think I would look at the swap thing before I joined Bookmooch, I think that might have been where I originally heard about bookmooch!

  2. January 20, 2009 9:28 am

    I haven’t tried any of the swapping places yet. If I don’t want to keep a book, I give it to a friend or donate it for the UAAW booksale.

  3. January 20, 2009 9:49 am

    I don’t swap books – if I really hate them, I’ll donate them to a local charity shop or the like, but normally otherwise I keep them. The only people allowed to read my books are my mom and my fiance.

  4. Chelsea permalink
    January 20, 2009 9:52 am

    What a cool feature of Librarything! And what a cute dog! 😀

  5. January 20, 2009 10:01 am

    I hadn’t noticed the Swap This Book feature before either! What a good idea.

  6. January 20, 2009 10:12 am

    My local friends are sometimes borrowing my books, and they get some of my ARCs too. I’ll sometimes save books for specific people that I know will like them too. That is such a cute pic of Milou!

  7. January 20, 2009 11:17 am

    I swap at paperbackswap and rarely keep anything any more.

    I love that you have a weekly picture of Milou, I keep saying I’m gonna have a weekly picture of the Pirate and the Bug, but I never follow through.

  8. January 20, 2009 11:34 am

    What a cute picture of Milou. I always wonder how dogs can be comfortable putting their necks like that-mine does that too. It sure doesn’t look like it would feel good but they do it all the time.

  9. January 20, 2009 1:32 pm

    My dog always has to prop his head up, too. Usually it’s on my knee! 🙂

  10. January 20, 2009 2:04 pm

    I haven’t used any of the swap sites, but I admit they sound like a good idea. Now if I could just make myself keep thinking that way, I could bring a few hundred of those books back from storage and find new homes for them.

    Milou is so cute! Looks like she’s keeping an eye on things, even while napping.

  11. January 20, 2009 2:29 pm

    I do give my books to my sister in law and some book reader friends…but still the books pile up. And I need a place to send books that I really did not like and don’t think others that I normally give books to will like.
    So I have tried the BookMooch…but not terribly happily.

  12. January 20, 2009 4:50 pm

    The dog is MINE! Mwahahahahahahahaw! If Milou all of a sudden goes missing from inside your house, be aware that the great chartroose, renowned as one of the world’s most notorious canine coveters, may be the culprit.

    I let my books stack up until they begin to become dissatisfied and go into attack mode and then I clean them out. The good ones go to other bloggers or the giveaway shelf at my little workplace, and the bad ones go in the trash.

  13. January 20, 2009 5:35 pm

    What a dolly girl… great picture of Milou!

  14. MeMe permalink
    January 20, 2009 6:53 pm

    That is so sweet…………..

  15. January 20, 2009 7:08 pm

    Very cute pic!!!

  16. January 20, 2009 8:29 pm

    I’m like you…I really don’t use swap sites, but love to share books with friends and family. I have shared with friends on Librarything if they are looking for a book I have and I am done….

    I love you dog…mine is a bit bigger..but she loves having something to lay her head on too!

  17. January 20, 2009 9:30 pm

    Milou is so sweet looking! 🙂

  18. January 20, 2009 10:24 pm

    I’m pretty much the same about bookswap sites. I pass my used books on to the library.

  19. January 20, 2009 11:22 pm

    Adorable picture….looks like there’s some serious thought going on!

  20. January 21, 2009 10:27 am

    Love the pic!

    –Anna
    Diary of an Eccentric

  21. January 21, 2009 3:00 pm

    I haven’t written a Tuesday Thingers post this week (too busy watching inaugural events yesterday!) … I’ve used PaperBackSwap, but not the swap feature on LT.

    I was laughing at Milou propping her head up — it looks like she needs a dose of that bottle of cola on the desk 🙂

  22. January 21, 2009 3:02 pm

    My Riley is a little too big for my lap, but it doesn’t stop him from trying from time to time. 🙂 Right now, he’s curled up in my chair, right behind me. Makes leaning back a little difficult.

    I wasn’t familiar with the LT swap feature either until this question came up. It’s a great idea!

  23. January 21, 2009 11:16 pm

    I’d forgot that I’d seen swap feature on librarything. I meant to check it out and forgot. I’ll look at it now though. I usually pass doubles on to friends.

    You have such a cute dog! She resembles mine somewhat (he’s a daschund) since he too likes to prop his chin up on something (usually my foot).

  24. January 27, 2009 2:24 am

    Very cute picture Kathy! I’m amazed at how cuddly Milou seems to be!

    I am trying to swap a few books to get additional copies for one of my book clubs, but I am starting to give my books to the ladies there instead of swapping them. I haven’t tried to swap via the Arc Junkies, but I think I will try to post something there this week as two of the books I’m looking for aren’t really showing on any of the swap sites yet.

    Thanks for participating in Tuesday Thingers last week! I’ve got this week’s posted now.

    Hope you had a great weekend! 🙂 Wendi

Leave a comment