Skip to content

Review: I Am America (And So Can You!) Audio Book

January 23, 2009

I AM AMERICA.inddI Am America (And So Can You!) by Stephen Colbert is a rambling commentary of his character’s views on just about everything from higher education to welfare to racism to illegal immigration.  His character is a narrow minded, right-wing conservative who is very opinionated.  The audio book is on 3 CDs and runs about 3 and a half hours.  Since I’m not familiar with The Colbert Report, it wasn’t until I was on the second CD that I realized that this is a character he’s portraying and not his actual opinions.  I found some of the book laugh out loud funny, but a lot of it was just plain irritating.  The cover says the audio book is “shouted by the author” and that’s just the way it comes across.  I might have enjoyed this one more in the print version.  I think fans of The Colbert Report would enjoy it more than I did.

Review copy provided by Hachette Books.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2009 7:39 am

    I know he’s very popular but I have never been a fan, which is why I passed on this book.

  2. January 23, 2009 8:19 am

    I enjoy his show! I’d probably love this book!

  3. January 23, 2009 8:20 am

    I am a fan of Stephen Colbert, so I would probably like this book. But, as much as I enjoy his shouting, I don’t know if I could listen to 3 1/2 hours of it!

  4. January 23, 2009 8:38 am

    My sons have this book and howl with laughter at it. Yes, you do have to understand his character to enjoy it.

  5. January 23, 2009 8:53 am

    He would be *hugely* annoying if you didn’t know he was playing a part! He’s probably hugely annoying to some people even if they *do* know that. 🙂 I don’t like him as much as Craig Ferguson, but when I catch some of his clips, he usually makes me laugh.

    Lezlie

  6. January 23, 2009 9:15 am

    My brother LOVED this book!

  7. January 23, 2009 10:05 am

    Maybe I should try this book.

    😀

  8. stacybuckeye permalink
    January 23, 2009 11:49 am

    I’m not a fan, but my husband is so we tried it on a car trip. I lasted about 20 minutes before I had to switch to something else.

  9. January 23, 2009 12:17 pm

    I bought the book as a birthday gift for my husband, an unofficial member of the “Colbert Nation.” He’s read it twice and keeps nagging me to read it too :-). I think I’d rather do that than listen to it – I handle Stephen better in small doses. But then, I’m a Jon Stewart girl :-).

  10. January 23, 2009 2:44 pm

    My boys are huge fans of The Colbert Report – they watch it every morning before school. I’ve never sat down and watched a whole episode but as background noise it’s pretty interesting. The audiobook sounds like it could be pretty fun.

  11. January 23, 2009 3:33 pm

    I’ve never watched him and the book didn’t really appeal to me as something I’d like to read. Nice review though, Kathy.

  12. January 23, 2009 5:42 pm

    I have the print version and while some of it was funny, a lot of it is irritating!

  13. January 23, 2009 7:00 pm

    I am a fan of both Colbert and John Stewart. I really liked it when they were both together all the time. I’ve heard interviews with Stephan Colbert when he is just himself (not in character) and he’s very interesting but still funny. I think you have to like sarcastic humor. Good review – very fair.

  14. January 23, 2009 7:44 pm

    I’ve seen The Colbert Report a few times and he is pretty zany and funny. I don’t know that I would enjoy an entire book though. Nice review!

  15. alirambles permalink
    January 23, 2009 7:50 pm

    I’ve never heard of the guy, but it sounds like I’d be irritated either in print or on audio. Thanks for the review!

  16. January 23, 2009 8:01 pm

    Even though I’ve watched his show from time to time, his sarcastic humor is not my favorite. I only find him to be funny about half of the time. I haven’t read the book because I have found that most verbal comedy doesn’t translate that well to print (at least in my experiences).

  17. January 24, 2009 12:48 am

    Yep. I have to agree….if you didn’t watch his show (which I love), his book might be mighty irritating.

  18. January 24, 2009 9:07 am

    i love him but he’s definitely not everyone’s cup of tea!! 🙂

  19. January 24, 2009 9:22 am

    I’m pretty hit or miss on him. I’ll see a clip that I love, but try to watch the show and eh. I’d probably pass on the book too.

    I do have Jon Stewart’s book here. Unread, of course.

  20. January 24, 2009 9:44 am

    As much as I love The Colbert Report, I don’t think I’d go for this on audio (you brave gal, you). Reading the book was funny because I could do it in short doses. The whole thing would have benefited from turning down the volume (not literally) a few notches!

  21. January 24, 2009 3:21 pm

    You are the audiobook queen! I think I’d feel much as you did, listening to Colbert’s shouting for over 3 hours. It seems that it would have appeal to his fans, who are used to his delivery.

  22. January 24, 2009 11:36 pm

    I’m not a fan of his show. I guess if you’re going to read something like this, the best way to do it is to listen to the “author”.

  23. January 26, 2009 10:28 am

    This book sounds interesting, I think I will listen to it.

  24. January 28, 2009 2:40 pm

    I’ll pass on this one. I’m not familiar with him, and that cover is pretty disturbing. LOL

  25. January 29, 2009 2:46 am

    Well summed up. My husband and I listened to this on a road trip. We enjoy The Colbert Report (we’re actually watching it right now, interviewing Paul McCartney), but we don’t recommend listening to the book in huge chunks. We couldn’t decide whether or not it was a good thing that the audiobook is abridged. We bookcrossed ours at a reststop in Wyoming when we’d finished it and hoped that whoever picked it up either knew Colbert or figured out that he’s tongue-in-cheek.

Leave a comment