Skip to content

Weekly Link Round-Up

February 8, 2009

roundup2

Here are some blogs and posts I want to highlight this week.  (Some of these links are part of a link-sharing group started by Amy of My Friend Amy.)

Discussion

I’m sure most people know that it’s important to read to kids, but Amy of My Friend Amy brings up the point that not all parents are capable of reading and she suggests other readers get involved to  make a difference.

Trish of Hey Lady! Whatcha Readin’? had a great post about children’s books that are on topics that are not usually discussed.  She highlights several books and wants to know if you would read them to your kids.

Giveaway

Marta of Marta’s Meanderings is hosting her first giveaway.  She’s giving away 3 copies of Run For Your Life by James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge.  It’s always fun to win a book.

How-To

Have you always wondered how people make those cute little buttons they use for challenges and memes?  Beth of Beth Fish Reads did a great post giving step by step directions.  By the way, she made the button at the top of this post.

Reviews

Are you blue because the holidays are over?  You can recapture a little of the magic by reading Wendi’s (of Wendi’s Book Corner) review of Cole Family Christmas by Jennifer Liu Bryan with Hazel Cole Kendle.  She says the book is beautifully written and illustrated.

If you’re looking for a children’s book, Shelly of Write For A Reader reviewed Little Skink’s Tail by Janet Halfmann.  According to Shelly, the book has beautiful illustrations and some fun activities in the back.  This book has even won several awards.

Rebecca of The Book Lady’s Blog said every time she tries to talk about Cutting For Stone by Abraham Verghese she is “reduced to a babbling, incoherent mess”.  She said this book is so good, she even daydreamed about it when she was away from it.

Just For Fun

Dawn of She Is Too Fond Of Books has a great guest post from Caitlin Hamilton Summie of Unbridled Books.  Caitlin shares her love of the Tattered Cover Bookstore and even shares a picture from her wedding reception which was held there.


10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2009 6:39 am

    Thanks for the links, Kathy! I’ve got Beth’s post bookmarked as I’m sure that one will come in quite handy in the future.

  2. February 8, 2009 8:13 am

    Thanks for your tour around the blog-o-sphere. I will check them out. Wisteria.

  3. February 8, 2009 8:56 am

    Thank you for sending me to the review of The Cutting Stone. It sounds like an absolutely ‘must-read’ book!

  4. February 8, 2009 9:02 am

    This was a wonderful and informative post! Some I had seen but some I had not! I’m off to explore … and I’m real excited about the information on the button making! Thanks for this! It is so hard to keep up with all the great blogs out there and this helped point me to some neat things I had missed!

  5. February 8, 2009 9:34 am

    Thanks for the links. I’ve already zipped over to Beth Fish Reads. I’ll check out the others, too.

  6. February 8, 2009 10:15 am

    Thanks for the shout-out and for helping me evangelize Cutting for Stone. If I could send everyone a copy of it, I would.

  7. February 8, 2009 11:50 am

    I loved that she had her reception in a book store!

  8. February 8, 2009 4:31 pm

    Great links Kathy! 😉

    Thanks for including me ~ hope your weekend has been wonderful!

    Wendi

  9. February 8, 2009 9:18 pm

    You did a great job summarizing these! I’ve got to get my act together and actually submit a link/type up a post next week!

  10. February 9, 2009 8:53 am

    See, your post was fabulous!

Leave a comment