Skip to content

Review: Fifty Is Not a Four-Letter Word

March 7, 2009

fifty-is-not-a-four-letter-word

Hope Lyndhurst-Steele is a successful magazine editor, wife and mother.  Her 50th birthday is approaching and she is dreading it.  Her life seems to fall apart after her birthday.  The magazine she works for wants to take a new direction, so she’s fired.  She finds out her mother is terminally ill with lung cancer, and only has a few months to live.  She discovers her 18 year old son, Olly, is having an affair with an older woman, which has a horrible affect on their relationship.  And, her husband leaves her.  After hitting rock bottom and wallowing in self pity, Hope has to pick herself up and decide how she’s going to approach the rest of her life.  You just might be surprised with how things turn out.

Fifty Is Not a Four-Letter Word by Linda Kelsey is chick-lit for the older crowd.  I enjoyed this book and I connected with Hope’s character even though her life is very different from mine.  This book made me think about the fact that women tend to second guess themselves and put themselves down.  It also made me thankful for female friendships.  When Hope discovers Olly’s affair, she blames herself and questions her decision to work instead of staying home with him.  Her friend Maddy reminds her of what a good mother she is.  Fifty Is Not a Four-Letter Word is much deeper than the title and cover indicate and I think it’s well worth reading.

Review copy provided by Hachette Books.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2009 7:24 am

    Great review! I’m glad to hear it was deeper than you gathered from the title and cover. Sounds like a thought provoking book that I would enjoy. I’m glad you liked it.

  2. March 7, 2009 7:41 am

    I’m waiting on this one from Hachette. After reading your review, I’m really looking forward to it! Thanks.

  3. March 7, 2009 7:43 am

    Since I’m over 50, I would likely be able to relate to the book as well — though my life is not anything like Hopes!

  4. March 7, 2009 8:53 am

    This looks adorable! I’m glad you enjoyed it. Sometimes it’s just nice to kick back with a light read.

  5. March 7, 2009 9:16 am

    OK — I was hooked by the title alone. Seeing how I am less than one year away from this milestone (how did time pass so quickly??) I have a personal interest in the subject. Your review is excellent and I know that it is a book that I too will enjoy.

  6. March 7, 2009 9:47 am

    Great review! I’m waiting for my copy to come but I wasn’t sure what it was about except for the title!

  7. March 7, 2009 9:54 am

    I had seen this title but hadn’t read a review. I think I’d like it. Thanks!

  8. March 7, 2009 11:37 am

    Great review Kathy. This really does sound good. I’ll be adding it to the wishlist. Happy Saturday!

  9. stacybuckeye permalink
    March 7, 2009 1:18 pm

    I liked the title, but your review makes it sound like more than pretty name. Great review 🙂

  10. March 7, 2009 1:21 pm

    This one sounds really good. I’m still waiting on my copy. It seems like it takes forever for ARC’s to get to the west coast!

  11. March 7, 2009 4:34 pm

    I’ve got this one on my tbr pile. It sounds good! And you beat me to it – I was coming to tell you about your award as well!

  12. March 7, 2009 4:50 pm

    It sounds like it’s a good thing that you didn’t see a lot in common between your life and Hope’s! I’m glad you liked this one, Kathy.

  13. March 7, 2009 6:33 pm

    This has a cute title and cover and it sounds good. I wonder if it would be a fun book to give to a girlfriend turning 50?!

  14. March 7, 2009 8:11 pm

    This sounds like a worthwhile book to read. I’m not yet 50, but I imagine something like this would apply to women of any age really. Great review, Kathy.

  15. March 7, 2009 10:30 pm

    I’ve presented you an award on my Sunday Salon post.

    Sheri
    A Novel Menagerie

  16. March 7, 2009 11:50 pm

    I shy away from chick-lit but when it has to do with age-related angst I am somehow drawn to it. Could it be the fact that I hit the big 4-0 last September?? I’m glad you enjoyed this one.

  17. March 8, 2009 11:42 am

    Sounds good! Do you know when this will be in stores? I have a friend from book club who’s turning 50 this summer-she’s not too happy about it either! It would make a great gift.

  18. March 8, 2009 12:07 pm

    Hey this sounds like a good one. Cute cover! Nice reivew… as usual.

  19. March 8, 2009 5:32 pm

    Nice review. I’m in my fifties but I know exactly how the rest of my life is going to go. Exactly as it has for the last 40. lol I see you’re reading Galway Bay, I didn’t request it because I’m not up to writing reviews but I’ll be very interested to see what you say about it.

  20. March 9, 2009 1:05 am

    This is a great review – it certainly sounds like an interesting book!

  21. March 9, 2009 2:55 am

    I hope this is a sign of more to come – heroines over fifty in a chick-lit format. I was looking forward to your review – you didn’t disappoint. Thanks.

  22. March 9, 2009 2:13 pm

    Another half century blogger here…me, not the blog of course…lol

  23. March 9, 2009 2:36 pm

    I know a few people who would enjoy this one. I think my mom would (even though she’s a decade or so younger than fifty!)

  24. March 9, 2009 8:35 pm

    Sounds like a good one — thanks! I like it for the title alone.

  25. March 10, 2009 1:37 am

    This sounds like it would be a really fun read. Chick-lit lost it’s appeal for me when it all began to read the same, but this sounds great. We need more fun fiction that focuses on women of all ages.

  26. March 27, 2009 1:51 pm

    Boy, it seems like what can go wrong does go wrong in her life. I’ve got about 20 years til I hit 50, but I’m finding that I relate to fiction about that age group more than I do those traditional 20-something chick lit books. This one sounds interesting.

    –Anna

Leave a comment