Skip to content

Wondrous Words Wednesday

March 25, 2009

vocabulary

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  Feel free to join in the fun.

The first two new words I came across this week are from The Girl She Used to Be by David Cristofano.

1.  chimerical – “And all the chimerical, fancy detail work cannot change the predestined outcome of another cycle through the system.”

Chimerical means existing only as the product of unchecked imagination.

2.  recidivism – “And the recidivism rate for criminals that went into the program is not even a tenth of what it is for people who get rehabilitated in prison.”

Recidivism is the tendency to relapse into a previous condition or mode of behavior.

The next two words came from The Red Leather Diary by Lily Koppel.

3. aigrettes – “Florence tried on walking hats, zany caps, aviator’s helmets, and formal crêpe designs with feathers, jeweled aigrettes, or ‘tailored’ flowers with silk petals.”

An aigrette is a spray of feathers for the head.

4. exegesis – “Florence and her fellow M. A. candidates were assigned a full biographical exegesis on an obscure literary figure for their thesis”

An exegesis is an explanation of or critical interpretation of a text.

What new words have you discovered lately?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2009 8:34 am

    Good ones! I didn’t know a few of these either.

  2. March 25, 2009 9:14 am

    Not too sure I could work exegesis into a conversation but it might be fun to try. My wondrous words are Here

  3. March 25, 2009 9:42 am

    The only one of your words I knew was recidivism (again because it’s a fairly commonly used French word). I’d heard a couple of the others but wouldn’t have been able to define them.

    My words are here:
    http://shereadsandreads.blogspot.com/2009/03/wondrous-words-wednesday-march-25.html

  4. March 25, 2009 10:10 am

    Good ones! I was familiar with recidivism, but the others were new.

    My words are here.

  5. March 25, 2009 10:20 am

    I’ve had to look up both aigrettes and exegesis in the past. Exegesis is one of those words that I’d never seen before, and then as soon as I looked it up, I started seeing it everywhere.

    The book review I posted today (The Blackest Bird by Joel Rose) had a ton of vocab words.

  6. March 25, 2009 10:27 am

    I never heard of aigrettes before, but the other words are (vaguely) familiar to me. I found some new gardening words this week, here they are.

  7. March 25, 2009 11:02 am

    Great words. I managed to find a word this week that wasn’t even in the dictionary. I had to do some digging. It is posted here:

    http://ravndahl.blogspot.com/2009/03/wondrous-words-wednesday.html

  8. March 25, 2009 11:27 am

    I am always happy if I know one of the words. This week I know…and have actually used two… recidivism and exegesis. So two I feel twice as smart as usual!! 😉

  9. stacybuckeye permalink
    March 25, 2009 11:47 am

    Love the word chimerical. It was the only one I knew 🙂

  10. March 25, 2009 12:00 pm

    I think I’d look just smashing with an aigrette, don’t you??

    My list is HERE

  11. March 25, 2009 12:30 pm

    All new words to me.

    My words are here

  12. March 25, 2009 5:19 pm

    I wish you could be at the Guernsey discussion too! We would have so much fun.

  13. March 25, 2009 6:41 pm

    ah, but can you work a few of these into the SAME sentence? Exegesis sure sounds like a show-off word to me.

  14. March 25, 2009 8:25 pm

    I had a word for this week, but I can’t find the piece of paper where I wrote it down! Argh…

  15. March 25, 2009 9:12 pm

    I *just* found your wonderful little meme, and couldn’t resist the urge to play along

    Happy Reading, everybody!

  16. March 25, 2009 9:23 pm

    This is a fun meme! I never comment, and heaven forbid I find the time to do it, but I love to read ’em!

    & I have an award for you. =)

  17. March 26, 2009 4:19 pm

    aigrettes must be French. figures it would have to do with fashion 🙂

  18. March 27, 2009 5:31 pm

    Someday I’m going to start keeping a vocab. notebook, again, but it’s just not happening. I knew three of these words! Aigrette is not something I can see myself using in everyday conversation. 🙂

Leave a comment