Skip to content

Review: Laura Rider’s Masterpiece

March 28, 2009

laura-riders-masterpiece

Laura and Charlie Rider seem to have a happy, if somewhat bland, marriage.  They own and operate the beautiful Prairie Wind Farm nursery in a small town in Wisconsin.  Laura is the brains behind the nursery and Charlie is the muscle.  Laura admires Jenny Faroli, the married host of a popular radio talk show who lives in the same  small town.  Laura also dreams of writing a romance novel.

When Charlie and Jenny meet in a chance encounter one evening, Laura encourages Charlie to contact Jenny, and in the beginning, even helps him write the emails.  She says Charlie needs more friends, but she really has ulterior motives for suggesting the friendship.  Jenny is captivated by the emails and her relationship with Charlie  evolves into something no one expects.

Laura Rider’s Masterpiece by Jane Hamilton is a small book that packs a powerful punch.  The story is compelling and well written.  Laura wasn’t a very likable character because she was so manipulative, yet somehow I just couldn’t hate her.  Jane Hamilton’s  writing skills shine in this one.  She has written two other novels – The Book of Ruth and A Map of the World.  This book will be published on April 9, 2009. (This book does contain sexual situations and language.)

Review copy provided by Hachette Books.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2009 6:27 am

    Just received this one to review. Looking forward to it. I love little books that have a powerful punch!

    • March 28, 2009 7:37 am

      I enjoy Jane Hamilton’s books so I will be on the look out for this one.

  2. March 28, 2009 9:35 am

    I can’t wait to read this book because I think Ms. Hamilton is a fantastic writer.

  3. March 28, 2009 10:33 am

    I haven’t read any other Jane Hamilton books. I just received this one in the mail yesterday and I am tempted to start it right away..

  4. March 28, 2009 10:39 am

    Nice review – but I just can’t decide if it is “my kind of book”

    I honored you with an award today — hope it contributes to a nice weekend.

  5. March 28, 2009 10:54 am

    i’ve never heard of this author…but am adding her to my list (an actual notebook that i keep next to my laptop!!). i love that your review is short but informative, without giving anything away. 🙂

  6. March 28, 2009 11:03 am

    I’ve seen this book around lately. Sounds like one to add to the list.

  7. stacybuckeye permalink
    March 28, 2009 11:07 am

    This sounds a little messed up. But you did like it, so maybe that’s not a bad thing.

  8. March 28, 2009 1:01 pm

    Manipulative and you still couldn’t hate her? This must be an incredible author lol!

  9. March 28, 2009 1:14 pm

    I can’t believe this is only her third book! I happened to read both her other books, and never realized she didn’t have more.

  10. March 28, 2009 2:17 pm

    I haven’t read any of her books, but this does sound kind of interesting.

  11. March 28, 2009 5:17 pm

    I haven’t read Jane Hamilton but this sounds like a great book. 🙂 Thanks for the review!

  12. March 28, 2009 5:30 pm

    I really enjoyed Map of the World years ago. Thanks for letting me know about this new one. What a great cover!

  13. tbfreviews permalink
    March 28, 2009 7:41 pm

    This sounds like an interesting book I’ll have to grab when I get the chance. Thanks for sharing it!

  14. March 28, 2009 7:51 pm

    Cute cover! I read A Map of the World last year and this sounds very very different. I’ll have to keep my eye out for it.

  15. March 28, 2009 9:01 pm

    I love the cover of this one. I will have to check it out. It sounds like a good one. Thanks for another great review, Kathy!

  16. March 29, 2009 11:33 am

    Great review. My review of this one should post soon as well. Funnily enough, I did hate Laura Rider!

  17. March 29, 2009 12:38 pm

    I loved Hamilton’s other books and am waiting for this one. She’s a great writer.

  18. March 29, 2009 7:47 pm

    This sounds like a good one. I’ve enjoyed some other books by this author and this sounds good too.

  19. March 29, 2009 9:41 pm

    I’m definitely a fan of Jane Hamilton and would love to read this book!

  20. March 30, 2009 12:42 am

    I read Book of Ruth and so may try this one. The plot sounds good and if the writing is as good as the previous book, I’m in.

  21. March 30, 2009 11:11 pm

    I gave this ARC away without reading it even though the cover really caught my eye! I’m bummed now, it sounds really intriquing!

  22. March 31, 2009 1:36 pm

    Oh.. this one sounds so good. Interesting… The cover is great. Thanks for the review.. you are on a serious roll with good books.

  23. April 1, 2009 12:47 pm

    Sounds like a good one! Adding to my list.

  24. April 23, 2009 2:40 pm

    Sounds interesting. I read Hamilton’s When Madeline Was Young and enjoyed it. I’ll have to keep an eye out for this one.

Leave a comment