Skip to content

Review: An Offer You Can’t Refuse

April 9, 2009

an-offer-you-cant-refuse

At 17, Lola Malone was dating 18 year old Dougie Tennant.  Dougie’s mother found Lola to be unsuitable and offered her £10,000 to break up with him.  At first, Lola was insulted and refused the offer.  When she later discovered her beloved stepfather needed the money to pay off a gambling debt she returned to accept the money. She gave her stepfather the money, vowing to never divulge his secret to anyone.

Heartbroken, Lola wrote a letter to Dougie and moved to Majorca for three years.  When she returned to London, her stepfather repaid her ten-fold with money he made from an internet business he had started.  Lola found a job in a bookstore and bought a nice flat and settled into a pleasant life.  Walking home one evening, she came to the aid of a woman being robbed.  The woman turned out to be Mrs. Tennant, so Lola met Dougie again.  When Lola saw Dougie again, all of her old feelings for him re-surfaced, but he had moved on with his life and didn’t want to have anything to do with her.

An Offer You Can’t Refuse by Jill Mansell is the story of Lola and Dougie and their family and friends.  There is a lot going on in this book, but the story lines are easy to follow.  This book is pleasant and entertaining and the characters are quirky and likable.  I loved the fact that Lola worked in a bookstore and loved to read.  It is somewhat predictable, but that didn’t make it any less enjoyable.  It’s a light, quick read and I found it delightful.

Jill Mansell is a best selling British author.    An Offer You Can’t Refuse has sold over 4 million copies in Britian and will be published by Sourcebooks in the United States this month.

Review copy provided by Sourcebooks.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2009 7:55 am

    It was a cute little story, wasn’t it? Way out of your normal genres!

  2. stacybuckeye permalink
    April 9, 2009 9:00 am

    Hmm…Sounds light and fun, but something about the silliness of offering money and the craziness of taking it might be too much for me to get over.

  3. April 9, 2009 9:14 am

    This sounds great, and also, the cover is just so fun!

  4. April 9, 2009 11:22 am

    I love the cover and the book sounds great.

    ~ Popin

  5. April 9, 2009 1:09 pm

    Awesome! Sounds right up my alley. 🙂 Love the cover art, too. Anything bright catches my eye! And, of course, since it’s set in England… I’ll be gobbling that up soon, I’m sure! 🙂

  6. April 9, 2009 2:07 pm

    It sounds like a fun read.

  7. April 9, 2009 2:17 pm

    Sounds like it would make a good summer read.

  8. April 9, 2009 2:18 pm

    Uff I miss London so bad, I love books set in that city. This sounds like a really fun and profound read. I’ll throw the title on my ever growing list!

  9. April 9, 2009 2:53 pm

    I’ve heard a lot about this one in the last week. It sounds like a fun read. Glad you liked it.

  10. April 9, 2009 4:05 pm

    I agree with the other commenter. It would be a good summer read. I like books this this when I am on the beach but have to also keep an eye on my kids.

  11. April 9, 2009 8:42 pm

    I loved it! 🙂

  12. April 9, 2009 9:08 pm

    This sounds like one of those fun books I like to read when my brain has flat-lined on serious literature. Thanks for reading it for us.

  13. April 9, 2009 9:44 pm

    This sounds like a good book to read but for some reason the plot reminds me of an early Danielle Steel novel?

  14. April 9, 2009 10:11 pm

    I enjoyed this book as well. Nice review!

  15. April 10, 2009 12:38 am

    Great review! I wanted to thank you for Into the Beautiful North. I received it, and blogged about it today:
    http://heatherseden.blogspot.com/2009/04/how-lucky-am-i.html

    Thanks so much!

  16. April 10, 2009 5:25 am

    I have read so many good reviews of this book. I love the cover too, it’s all flowery and bright and pretty…

  17. April 10, 2009 11:38 am

    I really liked this book. my giveaway is ending tomorrow

  18. April 10, 2009 8:01 pm

    Sounds like a great book! Looking forward to reading it one day, hopefully soon!

  19. April 10, 2009 9:24 pm

    Great review Kathy. I am hoping to post my review this week of the book. I really enjoyed it as well. A nice light read. Can’t wait to read the other book by her as well.

  20. April 11, 2009 10:03 pm

    Delightful is the perfect word to describe this book. I will link your review to mine sometime in the next few days.

  21. April 23, 2009 2:48 pm

    I thought it was very predictable, but I really liked it. Gabe and Sally stole the show for me, though.

Leave a comment