Skip to content

Sunshine Cleaning

April 23, 2009

sunshinecleaningposter

When I heard that the creators of Little Miss Sunshine had made a new movie, I was really excited.  Sunshine Cleaning took forever to make it to our market, but it finally did.  Rose and Nora Lorkowski are sisters who’ve had a tough life.  Their mother committed suicide when they were young and their father did the best he could to raise them.  Rose is a single mother and she’s having an affair with a married policeman.  When Rose’s son, Oscar, has trouble fitting in at school, she decides he should go to private school, but can’t figure out how to come up with the money.  Her boyfriend tells her she should start a crime-scene clean-up business and she recruits her sister to help her.

I was expecting this to be a hilarious movie, and while it did have funny moments, I don’t think I’d bill it as a comedy.  I thought the acting was solid, but I just didn’t find the story compelling.  After it was over, I told my friend that I really didn’t know if I liked it or not and she said she felt the same way.  Later that evening, I got an email from her that said, “I’ve been thinking about that movie all afternoon.  That family certainly had its problems.  I’m not sure what the message of the movie was, but it has stuck with me.  I guess they were helping clients deal with what they had dealt with when their mother committed suicide.  I’m not sure what the sister driving off into the sunset had to do with the movie.” I would recommend waiting until you can rent this one to watch it.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2009 6:11 am

    Since I never make it to the movie theater, I think I’ll add this one to my Netflix list!

  2. April 23, 2009 8:35 am

    Thanks. The trailer looks really good and I think I have to watch it to form my own opinion. I’ll let you know — but, like Julie, I’ll have to wait until Netflix has it.

  3. stacybuckeye permalink
    April 23, 2009 9:16 am

    I just read about this somewhere else for the first time. I do want to see it, but I’m not in a rush!

  4. April 23, 2009 10:08 am

    I’ve never even heard of this one. I rarely go to the theatre though-usually just rent.

  5. April 23, 2009 11:12 am

    I wanted to see this but it never made it to the theaters here. Maybe I’ll rent it sometime later.

  6. April 23, 2009 3:02 pm

    Thanks for the tip about the movie. I haven’t heard of it either. I like the sound of the plot but some good plots just don’t deliver.

  7. April 23, 2009 3:10 pm

    Thanks for the movie review Kathy…I will definitely be adding this one to my list. Little Miss Sunshine just cracked me up. I actually caught the end of it this morning since I am home today…and it just kills me! lol

  8. J.S. Peyton permalink
    April 23, 2009 4:17 pm

    You know, I kinda felt this way about “Little Miss Sunshine.” After I watched it, I wasn’t sure how I felt about it. There were certainly some funny moments in it, but there was something about it that made must just kinda shrug my shoulders.

    This movie sounds promising, although I think I’ll take your advice and wait for the DVD. They do like to put the word “sunshine” in their movies, don’t they? 🙂

  9. April 23, 2009 5:20 pm

    I haven’t seen the Little Miss Sunshine. I was worried about content. Maybe I am paranoid though. I hadn’t even heard they did another one! thanks so much for the review, and informing us oblivious 🙂 peeps.

    Happy reading!

  10. April 23, 2009 5:23 pm

    I love the actresses in this – I’ll watch it eventually, I’m sure.

  11. April 23, 2009 6:11 pm

    I have never even heard of this. Slipped through the radar, I guess!

  12. April 23, 2009 7:26 pm

    Hmm I loved Little Miss Sunshine so I would have expected a comedy too, but I’ll wait to rent. thanks!

  13. April 23, 2009 8:30 pm

    This was at Sundance the year I was there for the festival but we were unable to get tickets for this one. I look forward to watching soon. 🙂

  14. April 23, 2009 8:48 pm

    I really want to see this movie after viewing the trailor for it.

  15. April 23, 2009 9:29 pm

    Thanks for your thoughts on this movie. We usually don’t go to the theaters very often and more often than not rent them when they come out on DVD.

  16. April 23, 2009 10:01 pm

    I hadn’t realized this was the Little Miss Sunshine people, what are they odds that they have two movies with sunshine in the title!

  17. April 23, 2009 11:11 pm

    oh…i was looking forward to this one…now maybe not so much? maybe i’ll catch it before 6pm so i don’t have to pay full price. 🙂

  18. April 23, 2009 11:45 pm

    Sounds like something I’d like to see. I had no idea this was coming out. Thanks for the review.

  19. April 24, 2009 12:11 am

    I thought this one looked interesting and I would like to see it. I rarely go to the theater so that’s not a problem. I was glad to hear your opinion on it so I won’t rush to rent it either.

  20. April 24, 2009 1:41 am

    I have given you an award!

    http://lumorgan.blogspot.com/2009/04/my-first-award.html

  21. April 24, 2009 10:18 am

    I do want to catch this at some point!

  22. April 24, 2009 11:09 pm

    I’m intrigued but I almost never go the theater so I’ll wait. And I just loved “Little Miss Sunshine” — and that was kind of hard to bill as a 100% comedy too.

  23. April 28, 2009 5:07 pm

    I still haven’t seen Little Miss Sunshine! I am so behind on movie watching.

  24. May 5, 2009 1:39 pm

    Thank you for a very good review. It is playing in our little town cinema tonight, and I’ve decided to stay home. Not for me. I have a really hard time with movies that are comedies and dramas at the same time. I didn’t want to see LMS either. Thanks again.

Leave a comment