Skip to content

Review: Miranda’s Big Mistake

June 11, 2009

mirandasbigmistake-1

Miranda is an apprentice in a trendy hair salon owned by Fenn.  When it comes to love, Miranda makes bad decisions and only seems to fall for pigs.  Bev is the receptionist in Fenn’s salon and all she dreams of is getting married and having four boys.  Their luck seems to change when they attend a charity function – the only problem is they both fall for the same guy, Greg.

In the meantime, Chloe is a shop-girl married to a guy named Greg.  She thinks things are fine and that’s she’s happily married until she accidentally becomes pregnant.  Greg is less than thrilled with the pregnancy and leaves Chloe.

By a strange twist of fate, Miranda and Chloe both end up boarding with an older lady named Florence.  After living together for a little while, they discover that they share Greg in common.  That’s when the fun begins.  They cook up a scheme to get even with Greg.   Now, Miranda needs to get back on track and learn from her mistakes.  Sometimes that’s easier said than done.

Miranda’s Big Mistake by Jill Mansell is a delightful example of chick lit.  I was able to relate to the characters, even though I’m quite a bit older than most of them.  The story line is fun and easy to follow and I didn’t get lost with the sub-plots running throughout.  I loved that it’s not sexually explicit or loaded with foul language.  I also loved the fact that it’s loaded with British terms, since the author is British – that just seems to make chick lit more fun for me.  The story is somewhat predictable but there were a few unexpected turns in it for me.  This book would be a great summer read!

Review copy provided by Sourcebooks.

29 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2009 8:36 am

    Fantastic review! You captured my feelings as well! This book is what chick lit should be!

  2. June 11, 2009 8:53 am

    I picked up a copy of this at BEA. I love her writing, her characters are a hoot!

  3. June 11, 2009 9:12 am

    Sounds great! The perfect sort of vacation read!

  4. June 11, 2009 9:50 am

    I love books with British terms! It does make it more fun somehow! Ironically though, if we watch a movie from Britain, I have to turn on the closed captioning, because I can’t understand a lot of the inflections!

  5. June 11, 2009 10:03 am

    I’ve been reading alot of good things about this one. Glad you liked it!

  6. June 11, 2009 10:31 am

    As a former apprentice in a salon and having a daughter that teaches in a cosmetology school, this sounds like a book I’d really get into! Great review.

  7. June 11, 2009 11:51 am

    I love a good chick lit too and I’m in my sixties. I remember what it was like to be that age and that’s part of the fun. This one sounds like a good example of the genre. [I like your comment about Miranda always falling or pigs.]

  8. June 11, 2009 12:49 pm

    I’m definitely going to look for Jill Mansell’s books soon! This one sounds good, and I’m sure I’ll hate Greg. 🙂 Or probably, anyway. Sometimes I fall for the stupid, bad guys, too!

  9. June 11, 2009 1:15 pm

    This looks terrific. I’m glad to know that it’s not sexually explicit or has foul language. Now I can read it!

  10. June 11, 2009 1:31 pm

    This sounds like a fun book! Thanks for the great review!

  11. June 11, 2009 1:33 pm

    I’ll probably pass this one up; I don’t know why I don’t seem to click with a lot of chick-lit even though lots of people whose reading tastes and opinions I respect do. Probably something wrong with me!

  12. June 11, 2009 2:37 pm

    I don’t seem to read much chick lit lately – I should really read more. I used to read Jill Mansell a few years ago, but haven’t in recent years.

  13. June 11, 2009 6:48 pm

    I like the plot summary of this one – it’s delicious to think of the two of them getting their revenge on Greg!

  14. June 11, 2009 6:54 pm

    This sounds like fun! I’m a huge Anglophile, if a book is set in England it is instantly more attractive to me, regardless of the genre.

  15. June 11, 2009 7:17 pm

    Hi Bermudaonion,
    Many thanks for the fab review – I’ve been reading your blog since you said such nice things about An Offer You Can’t Refuse! I’m currently riding pillion whilst wearing my cagoule and eating a punnet of strawberries! I also just finished reading Very Valentine by Adriana Trigiani – great, but I barely understood the storyline, there were so many Americanisms.)
    Anyway, I’m so glad you enjoyed both books!
    Love
    Jill Mansell x

  16. June 11, 2009 7:41 pm

    This sounds pretty cute. And, I see the author left you a sweet comment – that’s awesome!

  17. June 11, 2009 8:21 pm

    I’m so glad you enjoyed it too – I’m loving all her books!

  18. June 11, 2009 8:40 pm

    This one sounds like a lot of fun! It makes me wonder what kind of scheme they come up with to get back at him.

  19. June 11, 2009 9:27 pm

    sounds like another great one for the beach or the hammock. gotta have a few of those lying around for the dog days! 🙂

  20. June 11, 2009 9:40 pm

    Sounds like a great book. Thanks for the review. I’ll have to be on the lookout for more by Jill.

  21. June 11, 2009 11:14 pm

    Sounds like the perfect summer read!

  22. June 12, 2009 4:13 am

    Sounds like a great summer read! I already have this on my wish list and your review made me want this book even more!

  23. June 12, 2009 6:10 am

    I’m not much of a chick lit reader. But I like Jill Mansell’s stories. Glad you enjoyed this one.

  24. June 12, 2009 9:13 am

    This is on my summer wish list. Good to know you found it “delightful.”

  25. June 12, 2009 11:37 am

    I enjoyed this book as well!

  26. June 12, 2009 1:26 pm

    Great review. I’d like to read this one someday. Glad you enjoyed it.

  27. June 14, 2009 2:02 pm

    Awesome review! I’m very picky about chick-lit – I like it to be funny, yet still believable and I cannot stand the shopping/clothes/shoes type. This one sounds just like the ones I prefer, seems very similar to Marian Keyes’ books which are great!

  28. June 17, 2009 9:46 am

    I loved this book! I was really impressed by how Mansell connected the characters, and it was just great fun all around. Glad you enjoyed it, too. Can’t wait for Millie’s Fling.

    –Anna

  29. June 17, 2009 10:32 am

    I thought this was a really cute story. Nice review!

Leave a comment