Skip to content

UP

June 18, 2009
tags: ,

Up MoviePoster

Carl, Vance and I are all fans of Pixar Studios so we decided to go see UP.  UP is the story of Carl Fredricksen, a young boy who admires the explorer Charles Muntz.  He meets Ellie, a kindred spirit with a sense of adventure too.  Ellie’s dream is to live in a house at the top of Paradise Falls.  Carl and Ellie grow up together and eventually get married.  They immediately start a Paradise Falls fund, but it always seems like one emergency and then another makes them dip into it.  Since they’re getting older and time seems to be running out, Carl decides to surprise Ellie with tickets.  She becomes ill and passes away before they’re able to take the trip.

Carl misses Ellie so much, he decides to live her dream in his own way after an encounter with a construction worker.  That’s when the adventure begins.  And, what a fun adventure it is! Carl and a young Scout, Russell, end up near Paradise Falls and meet Charles Muntz.

We all enjoyed the movie, even though our first reaction on leaving was that it was sad.  (I started tearing up and had to remind myself that it’s a cartoon to keep from crying.)  There are plenty of funny moments in the movie, though.  The dogs reminded us so much of our precious Milou.  There’s also an action packed chase scene to add to the excitement.  There were young children in the audience and I’m not sure they understood much of the movie (the youngster behind us was full of questions).  Maybe they took away a different meaning than I did – for me the movie was a reminder that life’s short, so don’t wait until tomorrow to live your dreams.

41 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2009 7:14 am

    I have heard so much about this movie! It’s not out in the UK until October, so I will definitely be going then.

  2. June 18, 2009 7:20 am

    I really think I’d enjoy this. I wonder how Booking Son would do in it. I haven’t taken him to a movie in a theater yet because he doesn’t sit still well. He might enjoy this but I’m pretty sure he won’t get the full meaning. Fine with me just as long as he doesn’t start asking lots of questions.

  3. June 18, 2009 7:22 am

    I loved this movie, I’m a big fan of Pixar as well, and I thought it was their best yet! My two youngest kids qualified my statement. They said it was “one of the best”. (Killjoys…)

  4. June 18, 2009 7:33 am

    I’m always glad to read your movie reviews Kathy because never have any idea of what anything is about. Every time I see that up is playing, I think, what’s that?

  5. June 18, 2009 7:37 am

    I can’t WAIT to see this! and go ahead and cry – why can’t you cry at cartoons? 🙂

  6. June 18, 2009 8:36 am

    I can’t wait to take the boys to see this! We, too, love Pixar films.

  7. June 18, 2009 8:36 am

    I shall definitely look out for it when it hits the UK. It sounds like a really nice film.

  8. stacybuckeye permalink
    June 18, 2009 8:37 am

    Well, we all need to be reminded that life is short once in awhile. It does sound like young gets would probably get soething completely different from the film. I think that’s what makes these types of films so appealing!

  9. Bellezza permalink
    June 18, 2009 8:56 am

    I’m taking my niece and nephew to see Up this afternoon. Can’t wait, especially after your review.
    By the way, your dog’s name of Milou reminds me of our cat’s name: Minou. (It’s kitty in French, which my son’s girlfriend says is a dumb name to name a kitty. But, I think it suits her. 😉

  10. June 18, 2009 8:58 am

    I keep hearing that this is the best animated movie ever made! I think we may have to go see it. (I’m usually far too cheap to go to the theater!)

  11. June 18, 2009 9:00 am

    I’m starting to think that Pixar can do no wrong. I can’t wait to see this movie, thanks for the review!

  12. June 18, 2009 9:28 am

    The Girl and I have been wanting to see this one since we saw the preview on one of our mommy-daughter movie outings. Glad to hear it’s good, but I’ll probably tear up, too.

    –Anna

  13. June 18, 2009 9:45 am

    My son went with a group of friends to watch this in 3D and they all loved it!!!

  14. June 18, 2009 9:46 am

    I’m glad you liked it Kathy…I’m often cry when I watch those cartoon movies too–Land Before Time, All Dogs Go to Heaven, and the list goes on and on…lol

  15. June 18, 2009 10:02 am

    I need to take my kids to see this one!

  16. June 18, 2009 10:19 am

    I definitely want to see this. There aren’t many choices these days that aren’t noir murder or vampire movies, and I like to come out of a movie feeling good! It sounds like this one would do it!

  17. June 18, 2009 10:25 am

    Well said! I took my daughter (6) and my mother. Mom and I walked away with about the same thoughts as you did, and my little one just liked all the motion via the 3-d glasses! She almost fell asleep during a slow part in the middle, but I think overall she liked it okay too.

  18. June 18, 2009 11:01 am

    I cried too! A lot! But I also laughed. Very original and entertaining.

  19. June 18, 2009 11:10 am

    I’ve never heard of this. I’ll have to keep an eye out for it in Canada if it’ll come here.

  20. thekoolaidmom permalink
    June 18, 2009 12:02 pm

    My daughter saw it in 3D when she was at her dad’s a couple weeks ago. I had no idea that it had the emotional side to it as well. Knowing that, I wish I’d seen it while it was in our theater. Now I’ll have to wait until it comes out on DVD.

    So is it a movie you’d want to buy and keep? or is it a one shot and your done movie?

  21. June 18, 2009 12:05 pm

    This sounds great, I definitely want to see it. Pixar is so good at combining simple fun for kids with great content for adults, something for everyone.

  22. June 18, 2009 12:31 pm

    I cried a lot in this movie! 🙂 I think that kids will come away with a completely different view of the movie than adults. My kids thought it was hilarious, and loved the dogs.

    I thought it was all about getting your priorities straight, and seeing that sometimes it’s the “normal” things in life, being with your family and experiencing life with them, that are the grandest adventure.

  23. June 18, 2009 12:51 pm

    My daughter (who’s in college) said she was bawling in the first 10 minutes. Isn’t it amazing that a cartoon can trigger deep emotions — sometimes even more than a good book.

  24. June 18, 2009 1:14 pm

    No worries.. I cry on cartoons too. Sounds like a good one. Thank you for the review.

  25. June 18, 2009 2:06 pm

    This sounds really good, and don’t worry about crying. I’ve shed a tear or two in cartoons. 🙂

    ~ Popin

  26. June 18, 2009 2:07 pm

    Everyone I know has raved about UP. I’m glad you enjoyed it- it sounds wonderful!

  27. June 18, 2009 2:44 pm

    I can’t wait to watch this! I bet I’ll cry too…I always cry at Pixar movies, I confess 😛

  28. June 18, 2009 3:04 pm

    I thought it was just wonderful, although I actually got more choked up during WALL-E :-). I’m so glad you liked it too!

  29. June 18, 2009 4:04 pm

    Thanks for the review. I’m hoping to take my daughter to see this one over the weekend. Pixar makes great movies.

  30. June 18, 2009 6:49 pm

    Michael keeps asking to see this one perhaps over the summer vacation one rainy day I will take him. I have seen the clips and Up looks so good. Thanks for posting your review Kathy.

  31. June 18, 2009 9:06 pm

    I really wanted to like this movie. And usually I do like animated films with more adult themes. But I wasn’t impressed with this one, I’m afraid. It just didn’t gel for me. I am glad you enjoyed it though, Kathy!

  32. June 18, 2009 9:40 pm

    My daughter saw it with her friends and said the same thing, that she cried during parts of it. But it was a wonderful movie, she said. Uplifting. Sounds like you really enjoyed it, too.

  33. June 18, 2009 10:42 pm

    My very macho, bachelor, 35-year-old friend James said he doesn’t think anyone can watch this movie without tearing up a little.=) It sounds great – I can’t wait to see it myself!

  34. Vance R permalink
    June 18, 2009 11:32 pm

    http://www.ocregister.com/articles/pixar-up-movie-2468059-home-show

    I had to share, sorry.
    😥

  35. June 19, 2009 4:51 am

    This movie looks so great in the ads but not as wonderful as your review. I shall have to go now for sure!
    I have an award for you if you will come by my blog, PLEASE!

  36. June 19, 2009 9:32 am

    I’m glad you enjoyed this movie…its one of the ones I’ve been looking forward to seeing…though I dunno when I will get to a theater to see it.

  37. June 19, 2009 7:17 pm

    I’ll probably wait until this is out on DVD — Mr. MFR doesn’t really like any kind or form of animation (grrrrr). Maybe I can find a girlfriend to go with me.

  38. June 19, 2009 7:18 pm

    Shoot. That’s Mr. BFR (I’m not cheating!)

  39. June 19, 2009 11:54 pm

    Wasn’t this a great movie?! My son asked me about it and I had a hard time explaining how it was sad and sweet but a fun movie all at the same time.

  40. June 20, 2009 12:08 am

    Did you see it in 2D or 3D? We went to see it opening weekend, but only had the 3D and there was a $2 surcharge/ticket for the 3D glasses. That made the movie $11/person x 5 and I decided NO WAY. So, just wondering if the 2D is just as good. I too have heard it is very sad.

  41. Carol permalink
    June 23, 2009 1:40 pm

    Thanks for the warning. I think I’ll pass on this one. I hate movies that make me cry.

Leave a comment