Skip to content

I’m In!

June 20, 2009

WWII challenge

When I first saw the War Through the Generations: World War II challenge, I thought it might be fun since that’s a time period I do like to read about.   I quickly forgot about it, though.  When I met the adorable duo that is Serena and Anna, I started to give it more serious thought.  I sent Serena an email yesterday and she said it’s not too late to sign up; she also said I can count the books I’ve already read since the challenge started!  The rules for the challenge are:

To participate in the WWII Reading Challenge, you must commit to reading at least five books throughout the year.  We plan to read more than that, and feel free to do the same!  The books can be fiction or non-fiction, and they can be about any aspect of WWII.  WWII should be the primary or secondary theme, and it doesn’t matter whether the book takes place during the war or after the war.   Children’s literature is acceptable!  (Please visit the WWII Reading List page for some recommendations.)  You can count books you are reading for other challenges, so long as they meet the aforementioned criteria.

You can decide which books you’d like to read right away, or you can choose them during the course of the challenge.  However, when you sign up, we ask that you set a reading goal for the challenge.  At the end of the challenge, those who met or exceeded their reading goals will be entered in a drawing (prizes to be announced later).

Since I’ve already read 4 books that count for this challenge, and the year’s almost half over, I’m going to set a goal of 8.  The books that I’ve read are:

And, just for fun, here’s a picture of Serena and Anna.

BEA - Serena and Anna

19 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2009 9:06 am

    Congrats for taking the plunge! I rarely do challenges and thought this one in particular looked terrific since I enjoy books from that time period!

  2. June 20, 2009 9:13 am

    Challenges are motivators. You sound like you’re well on your way to meeting the challenge. This is a great idea. Congratulations on taking up the challenge.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

  3. June 20, 2009 11:04 am

    I thought this challenge sounded great when it was first announced. But I was overloaded for 2009, so I passed it by. I think you’ve set a very doable and reasonable goal for finishing up the challenge. Good luck.

  4. June 20, 2009 11:15 am

    Yay! I’m glad you signed up! I technically finished the challenge not too long ago, but I keep finding great books that would fit it.

    Lezlie

  5. June 20, 2009 11:45 am

    Oh Kathy, I’m so happy for you. You’ve found a challenge that works for you-you even upped your goal! Now you know the trick-join the ones that fall into your areas of interest already.
    And you got to meet Serena and Anna, how nice.
    They’ve made the Generations challenge page look great by the way, have fun.

  6. June 20, 2009 11:48 am

    I have been working on this challenge also Kathy. I also love books from this time period. That is so cool that all of you ladies got a chance to get together–I’m assuming at the BEA? How awesome…maybe I will have to try to join up next year.

  7. stacybuckeye permalink
    June 20, 2009 11:54 am

    Sounds like you’re off to a great start!

  8. June 20, 2009 12:01 pm

    What a good reminder this has been! I signed up for this challenge, have read three books, but haven’t sent over the reviews. It’s a great challenge. It’s so cool that you met Serena and Anna.

  9. June 20, 2009 12:29 pm

    I thought long and hard about joining this one, too. But by the time I discovered it, I was already up to my eyelids in other challenges, so I passed it by. It’s certainly a great idea, though, and you’ve already made so much progress!

  10. thekoolaidmom permalink
    June 20, 2009 1:23 pm

    Oh, I’m so not a joiner. I did the Dewey readathon, and that’s been the only thing I’ve “joined”. I’m doing the 75 book challenge at LT, but that’s more of a personal goal, and not an official joining. I get in such a panic at following the rules, what counts and all that. I’m impressed when anyone takes that plunge.

    I have The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and The Reader on Mt. TBR, and probably a few more WWII books. And I read The Book Thief already, which had it as a secondary theme. Hmm… *dips toe in the water*

  11. June 20, 2009 6:07 pm

    I remember those two adorable bloggers!

  12. June 20, 2009 7:39 pm

    Thanks for the photo…they’re wonderful bloggers!!
    Good luck and enjoy this challenge!

  13. June 21, 2009 2:09 am

    I’m so glad you are joining in, Kathy! This is such a fun challenge.

  14. June 21, 2009 10:48 am

    Oh, good choice! And good luck, too.

  15. June 21, 2009 12:57 pm

    Glad you joined Kathy. You’re already doing better than I am. lol. Great pic of the girls!

  16. June 22, 2009 12:03 am

    Good luck in your challenge!!

  17. June 22, 2009 9:51 am

    Kathy, I’m thrilled you’re joining us! I’ve added you to the participants page. I’ll get your book reviews on there soon. I’m a bit behind because things have been crazy! Thanks for all the kind words about the challenge.

    –Anna

  18. June 26, 2009 9:22 am

    Welcome Aboard. I knew I could convince you through some mild hounding! 🙂 The books you’ve read thus far are fantastic and I can’t wait to see what others you choose.

    I’ll be concentrating on this challenge more over the summer…I know I pick odd topics for summer reading.

  19. January 7, 2010 12:31 pm

    FYI, all 2009 WWII Reading Challenge Participants; giveaway information can be found here:

    International 2009 WWII Reading Challenge Giveaways Revealed!

Leave a comment