Skip to content

Wondrous Words Wednesday

July 8, 2009

vocabulary

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  Feel free to join in the fun.  (Don’t forget to leave a link in your comment if you’re participating.)

All of my words this week come from books with beach themes.  The first two are from The Castaways by Elin Hilderbrand.

1.  pareo – “She was wearing her bathing suit and a pareo.”

A pareo or pareu (either spelling is correct) is a wraparound skirt usually made from a rectangular piece of printed cloth and worn by men and women throughout Polynesia.

2.  spliff – “But I have just been lost in the wilderness and experienced what I can most accurately describe as fear for my life, and a little spliff feels like exactly what I need right now.”

This word isn’t a beach word, but it does show you how out of it I am.  A spliff is a joint (marijuana cigarette) sometimes rolled with half weed, half tobacco.

My last word is from Beach Trip by Cathy Holton.

3.  loa – “Like their own personal loa .”

I had to look on wikipedia to find this one.  According that site, loa are spirits of the Voodoo religion practiced in Haiti and other parts of the world.  They are similar to saints or angels in Christianity.

What new words have you discovered lately?

26 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2009 5:51 am

    I just guess what pareo was when I read this. Nice to get some confirmation that I was on the right track.

  2. July 8, 2009 6:47 am

    Light words this week. No multi=syllables. I only found one new word this week. See it at Joyfully Retired.

  3. July 8, 2009 7:33 am

    All things you can find on the Brady Bunch Hawaiian vacation episode!

    … well, 2 out of 3.

    Longest WWW to date: http://dustandspores.blogspot.com/2009/07/wondrous-word-wednesday-infinite-jest.html

    Put on your skimming glasses.

  4. July 8, 2009 7:55 am

    This is a great list. I haven’t started my reading for the day so I have nothing to offer but I do like the beach theme for your collection.

  5. July 8, 2009 8:23 am

    I thought about “Gilligan’s Island” when I read your list today. ” 🙂 Good memories.

    My list is here.

  6. July 8, 2009 8:49 am

    Oh no – I’m pretty sure you could find all of those on a Brady Bunch vacation! Great words.

    My words are from the same book as yesterday’s tease The Loved One and they are all about the mortuary profession. You can find them here.

  7. July 8, 2009 9:29 am

    Interesting. I’m not well versed in marijuana lingo. LOL

    –Anna

  8. July 8, 2009 9:35 am

    I like “pareo”. I’ve often wondered what those wrap-around skirts were called. My words are here.

  9. July 8, 2009 9:35 am

    Pereo sounds so much better than the “wrap around thingy”…that’s what I’ve always called them. lol I’m going to try to remember that one. My words are here today:
    http://jo-jolovestoread.blogspot.com/2009/07/wondrous-words-wednesday-july-8.html

  10. July 8, 2009 9:37 am

    Taking part of the first time today! It was fun!

    http://www.vombatiformes.com/booklog/?p=512

  11. July 8, 2009 9:44 am

    Good words! Didn’t know that marijuana slang either.

  12. July 8, 2009 10:40 am

    To paraphrase a certain somebody: I know what a spliff is, but I didn’t use it.

    I haven’t joined in on the WWW yet, but I will next week.

  13. July 8, 2009 10:43 am

    I’ve heard of pareo before. All my words this week are all about clothing…very strange.

    http://southernsassythings.blogspot.com/2009/07/wondrous-words-wednesday.html

  14. Sheila DeChantal permalink
    July 8, 2009 10:58 am

    disapprobation: The act of disapproving….

    (so why not just say that?)

    🙂

    Good Morning!

    One Persons Journey Through a World of Books

  15. July 8, 2009 11:10 am

    Fun words – only pareo is familiar.

  16. Carol permalink
    July 8, 2009 11:37 am

    That is a beach theme, perfect for July.

    I have a couple others from The Castaways on my list.

    Wondrous Words Wednesday

  17. July 8, 2009 12:51 pm

    I don’t even know why I haven’t yet joined in the fun of this meme. I think it’s a great idea and you can actually learn a lot of words. Yours are a perfect example. Don’t worry, I am out of it too since I had no idea what a spliff is either.

  18. July 8, 2009 1:58 pm

    Now you’re making your meme have themes — too cute!

  19. July 8, 2009 2:00 pm

    Thanks for the vocab lesson.

  20. July 8, 2009 3:06 pm

    I’ve probably left this identical comment here before, because I’m thinking it week after week, LOL:

    I love this feature on your blog. These are all new-to-me words!

  21. July 8, 2009 3:22 pm

    I meant to mention that I was familiar with all your words this week!

  22. July 8, 2009 3:28 pm

    I’m a little later than normal, but here are my words for this week: http://wordlily.wordpress.com/2009/07/08/words-from-my-reading-13/

  23. July 8, 2009 3:54 pm

    I’m not sure it’s good that I knew what a spliff is, but it came from reading rather than indulging in anything illegal. You can get a pareo wrap in Hawaii. I guess this means you can get one in Nantucket, too? Not very Polynesian, as beaches go. LOL

  24. July 9, 2009 8:31 pm

    Spliff—never heard of this one…laughed when I saw the description!! Great words this week and 3 more to add to my word list of knowledge!!

  25. July 10, 2009 3:56 pm

    Those are great words. I love the word pareo. It just makes you feel good enough to put on a bathing suit. 🙂

Leave a comment