Skip to content

Review: Two Years, No Rain

July 17, 2009

Two Years, No Rain

Things aren’t going that great in Andy’s life.  The one time TV weatherman is recording weather updates for satellite radio, but there’s not much to report since it hasn’t rained in over 500 days.  Andy’s wife has had a couple affairs and is divorcing him and cleaning out their house.   Andy’s brother in law is in the Navy and out to sea, so Andy’s helping his sister cope with her kids, particularly her fifteen year old daughter.  Nothing seems to phase Andy, though.

When Hillary, a friend he’s having an emotional affair with, urges him to apply for a job, he goes in not really knowing what it’s for.  Andy ends up being fired from the satellite radio job and landing the new job at the same time.  Andy becomes the host for a children’s TV show for an emerging TV network and his show turns out to be popular with kids and their parents.  It seems like things are looking up for Andy!

Of course, things aren’t that easy.  Andy finds that there are problems with fame and Hillary has grown distant.   Andy is struggling to figure out his place in life and what’s important to him.  He has to confront some demons in his past and learn to get angry and speak up for himself in order to move forward in his life.

Since Andy is such a likable character, Two Years, No Rain by Shawn Klomparens drew me in right from the start.  I just had to know what was going to happen to Andy next and how he was going to handle it.  I thought the characters in this book were great.  I really liked that a male character was struggling to find his place in life, since it seems like that’s the female’s role in most of the books I read.  (I’m not sure if it’s the books I select or if that’s the nature of books these days.)  Andy is sweet and naive, but he had to learn to let go of some guilt that was eating him alive.  Even though this book deals with some serious topics, the book isn’t too heavy – there are some light moments sprinkled throughout.  Overall, this was an entertaining read.

The rest of the stops on this TLC Book Tour are:

Tuesday, July 21st:  Suko’s Notebook

Wednesday, July 22nd: Stephanie’s Confessions of a Book-a-holic

Monday, July 27th:  Life In The Thumb

Wednesday, July 29th: Cindy’s Love of Books

Thursday, July 30th: Raging Bibliomania

Monday, August 3rd: Chic Book Chick

Tuesday, August 4th:  Planet Books

Monday, August 10th: Bookworm with a View

Wednesday, August 12th:  Starting Fresh

Thursday, August 13th:  Pop Culture Junkie

Tuesday, August 18th: Books on the Brain – Summer Reading Series

Thursday, August 20th: Book-a-Rama

27 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2009 7:36 am

    Great review! and I like the simple colorful cover.

  2. July 17, 2009 7:40 am

    Books that make you love the main character are the best! Your review has placed this one on my wish list!

  3. July 17, 2009 8:17 am

    It’s nice to have a little comic relief thrown in with the heavy stuff. I like your observation on having a male struggling to find himself. You are right, all too often we read about females doing it.

  4. July 17, 2009 8:33 am

    Sounds like a book that I’d enjoy!

  5. July 17, 2009 8:34 am

    I’ve heard good things about this one, and your review has made me interested in checking out this Andy character. I like the idea of reading about a man trying to figure it all out for once!

    –Anna

  6. July 17, 2009 8:46 am

    I’m caught by your comment about the male character struggling. I’m sitting here trying to think of a similar character in a book I’ve read just this past year and can’t think of one. I don’t think it’s just the books you and I choose to read. I suspect publishers are reluctant to feature what they probably consider weak characters. Mmm. I going to have to think about this.

  7. July 17, 2009 8:48 am

    It does sound like a good read. I’d like to just repeat but Nicole already said.

  8. July 17, 2009 9:28 am

    Hi Kathy, I have given you an award. Please stop by to pick up logo when you get a chance.

    I just finished Summer House and one of the sons in the story had a difficult time finding his place in the family. One of the more enjoyable plot lines.

  9. July 17, 2009 10:17 am

    Glad you liked it too Kathy! You know I think it’s books now – most just seem to be about women right now. I think that’s one of the things that will make this book more of a success- having a likeable male character.

  10. July 17, 2009 10:31 am

    This does sound like a good one Kathy. And I agree with you that it is nice to read about a male character struggling with life.

  11. July 17, 2009 11:24 am

    I’m going to have to pick this up for a change of characters for me! It’s about time the tables are turned and it’s a man going through the ups and downs. 🙂

  12. July 17, 2009 12:29 pm

    This book does sound entertaining! Thanks for the review!

  13. July 17, 2009 1:39 pm

    Thanks for a terrific review. It is nice to hear things from a male perspective.

  14. July 17, 2009 1:45 pm

    I’ve got this one on my shelf to read next month, I’m now looking forward to it even more!

  15. stacybuckeye permalink
    July 17, 2009 2:09 pm

    A man trying to find his place in the world is a story I haven’t read in awhile. Sounds good.

  16. July 17, 2009 4:14 pm

    Sounds like a light read my wife would enjoy this summer. Thanks for the review.

  17. July 17, 2009 4:49 pm

    Kathy..glad you liked it. Good review that makes me want to pick it up too. Thanks.

  18. July 17, 2009 5:57 pm

    I’ve been curious about this book since I first heard about it. Thank you for your great review, Kathy.

  19. July 17, 2009 7:01 pm

    You are right about the searching character usually being female. This one does sound interesting.

  20. Carol permalink
    July 17, 2009 8:23 pm

    Great review. He sounds like a wonderful character. I may have to pick this one up.

  21. July 17, 2009 8:52 pm

    Hi Kathy! Great review! After what you and Dar have to say about it, I’m really looking forward to starting it myself. I’m so happy you enjoyed this book, and wanted to say thank you for taking the time to read and review it for TLC!

  22. July 18, 2009 12:50 pm

    Nice review. I am sure if it drew you in… it would draw me in too. I want to know about Andy from reading your review.

  23. July 18, 2009 3:29 pm

    I have to agree with Margot, I don’t think it’s the books you choose – usually it’s not the male characters who are trying to find their way in a lot of books. Glad you enjoyed this book.

  24. July 18, 2009 8:42 pm

    I’ve seen this book around the blogs and it sounds like a good read. Thanks for the review

  25. July 18, 2009 9:43 pm

    Thanks for the review. This looks like it would be one I’d like. I’ll have to add it to the groaning wish list!

  26. July 18, 2009 10:36 pm

    I’m reading this one during the upcoming week!! Can’t wait!

  27. July 19, 2009 2:06 pm

    I hadn’t thought of it until you mentioned it, but I’ve not read much contemporary fiction about male life struggles either – they all focus on women. This looks so interesting and I’m definitely going to check it out.

Leave a comment