Skip to content

Books Bought

August 3, 2009

booksboughtmemeMichaelmade2009 This is my first time participating in the Books Bought Meme hosted by Cindy of Cindy’s Love of Books, but it’s certainly not my first time buying books.  When our local independent bookstore ran an ad in Friday’s paper saying that they were having a big sale with “thousands of titles reduced”, Vance and I decided to check it out.  When we got there, we felt like they had exaggerated a little bit, but we still managed to find some books we couldn’t live without.

I came home with:

Vance found a few books too – he  came home with:

Have you bought any new books lately?

43 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2009 8:40 am

    You got some great deals!

    I’m looking forward to hearing what you think about The Seamstress – I bought that book a while ago.

    Happy reading!

  2. August 3, 2009 8:46 am

    Even though they exaggerated it sounds like it was a worthy sale! I’ve yet to read Austenland, but I love Shannon Hale.

  3. August 3, 2009 9:26 am

    I adored Austenland. It was a cute story.

    I’ve been wanting to read City of Thieves since it came out; I look forward to hearing your thoughts!

  4. August 3, 2009 9:31 am

    I recently bought the first 8 Sookie books for the challenge! There are a few more on my wishlist, but I’m trying to hold off until I read more of what I already have!

  5. August 3, 2009 9:48 am

    Thanks for taking part Kathy. You got some really good books. Can’t wait to hear all about them.

  6. August 3, 2009 9:51 am

    Yay!!! I bought two ebooks this week and it’s only Monday!

  7. August 3, 2009 10:10 am

    I’ve been unwisely using my spending money lately so I couldn’t buy any but my hubby bought me Pretty in Plaid by Jen Lancaster last week!! I put the review up on my blog a few days ago.

  8. August 3, 2009 10:12 am

    I’ve seen “City of Thieves” a few times now on blogs, and good comments tend to follow it around. I’ll be interested to read what you thought of it as well.
    And for some reason I thought “Austenland” was the choose-your-own-adventure Jane Austen book – now I can’t figure out what that book’s title is.

    • August 3, 2009 1:14 pm

      That is Lost in Austen I believe, same title as the DVD, though different story

  9. Rachel permalink
    August 3, 2009 10:57 am

    I bought “Julie and Julia” last night.

  10. August 3, 2009 11:35 am

    It’s very hard to resist a book sale. Looks like you got a good haul!

  11. August 3, 2009 12:13 pm

    the last book I bought, last week, was The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. but I had to, since I won The Girl Who Played With Fire and I had to read the first one first.
    otherwise, I am not going to buy any more books until I read everything in my TBR pile.

    Oh, that is a funny one…lol

  12. August 3, 2009 12:27 pm

    I really enjoyed Austenland, can’t wait to see what you think of it.

  13. August 3, 2009 12:29 pm

    Kathy, that’s a great haul. My most recent purchases were for my 12-year-old nephew: the graphic novel version of Coraline and the new Artemis Fowl book. He’s an enthusiastic reader and I’d like to encourage him.

  14. August 3, 2009 12:35 pm

    Love a great deal on books, how can you resist them?

  15. August 3, 2009 12:39 pm

    I just bought two books from Amazon.co.uk and I expect them to arrive sometime this week:

    Black Boy by Richard Wright and Wise Blood by Flannery O’Connor.

    I haven’t read any of the books you and Vance got, but have heard about Atlas Shrugged – supposedly something of a grinding read. Would be interesting to hear more about it when he has read it 🙂

  16. August 3, 2009 1:22 pm

    I enjoyed Atlas Shrugged and Brave New World. Hope Vance enjoys them 🙂

  17. August 3, 2009 1:34 pm

    I’ve heard so much about City of Thieves. I’m really getting curious about that one. I would love to read Austenland. I saw the movie and it was okay but I’m sure the book would be a much better read.

  18. August 3, 2009 2:46 pm

    Don’t you just hate it when the sale is not what you think it will be. Well done on the finds you found though.

  19. August 3, 2009 4:02 pm

    The Brass Verdict for 50% off? That’s a great deal! I’d like to read that book too. I hope you’re enjoying your batch of books. =)

  20. stacybuckeye permalink
    August 3, 2009 5:06 pm

    I loves me a book sale! 🙂

  21. August 3, 2009 5:31 pm

    I have Chez Moi on my shelves! Looks like it’ll be good – I can’t resist a book set in Paris.

  22. August 3, 2009 5:53 pm

    Yes, of course I have! 🙂

  23. August 3, 2009 7:01 pm

    I’ve been eyeing City of Thieves. Oh, and I am about to make a huge amazon order…will blog about what I end up getting.

  24. August 3, 2009 7:55 pm

    I am reading my latest purchase — The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters. Slowly drawing me in. Slowly. I loved The Night Watch and I’m sure that soon I will be loving this.

  25. Carol permalink
    August 3, 2009 7:58 pm

    I read Brave New World recently. I didn’t love it, but it’s definitely a classic.

  26. August 3, 2009 8:06 pm

    fun! (I’m so out of the commenting practice with only a few days off and I have no idea what else to say…… … )

  27. August 3, 2009 9:08 pm

    It’s always fun to buy books, isn’t it? I’ve been having way too much fun lately and need to slow it down somewhat.

  28. August 3, 2009 9:08 pm

    Ooh…I’ve had my eye on City of Thieves for a while. Can’t wait to hear what you think of it.

  29. August 3, 2009 9:53 pm

    This is definitely a meme I should play! It looks like you had fun shopping. I just started Austenland in audio, and it’s been fun so far.

  30. August 4, 2009 6:37 am

    I really want to try something by Shanon Hale. Hope you enjoy all the books.

  31. August 4, 2009 8:31 am

    Austenland is such a fun read — I hope you enjoy it!

  32. August 4, 2009 10:21 am

    I hope you enjoy City of Thieves. I’m interested to see what you think about the ending.

  33. August 4, 2009 11:16 am

    I bought some just about a month ago but I’m heading out to Chapters this morning so you can be sure I’ll be coming home with more than a few new ones. lol.

  34. August 4, 2009 11:33 am

    I loved City of Thieves! Can’t wait to hear what you think of it.

  35. August 4, 2009 12:53 pm

    I’ve been wanting to read Brave New World. I have only read one Shannon Hale book, and it was very good, so I hope to hear that you like Austenland.

  36. August 4, 2009 6:16 pm

    Nice! I just got GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO. I’m only a year behind!

  37. August 5, 2009 1:14 am

    Enjoy those great titles. If you get a chance sneak Atlas Shrugged from Vance. It is very much a masterpiece. ..Long but some parts are so riveting.

  38. August 5, 2009 10:28 am

    Who can resist a book sale?!?

    THE BRASS VERDICT was the first Michael Connelly book I read – I think you’ll enjoy it!

  39. August 5, 2009 12:58 pm

    Atlas Shrugged has been on my shelf for eons, but I never seem to have the strength to pick it up (it’s a little intimidating). Looking forward to hearing what Vance thinks of it!

  40. August 13, 2009 4:25 pm

    Atlas Shrugged!! That’s a HUGE book! A friend of mine has been trying to get me to read that. She said it is an amazing book. In fact, she bought copies for all of her employees (50+ – she owns a security company) for Christmas last year. I hope to read it…one day! Great find, Vance!

  41. sarahpekkanen permalink
    August 21, 2009 9:23 pm

    I can’t stop buying books… now that I have the kindle app for my iphone I’m even more obsessed. Let’s see, I bought The Scarecrow by Michael Connelly (I hope you like Brass Verdict) and Shanghai Girls this week. I’m also sampling some books, like The Host and Twenties Girl. I love the sample feature — I get the first couple chapters and then can decide if I want to buy. But nothing’s better than a book sale! I still much prefer reading a hard copy. But the Kindle app is great for trips.

Leave a comment