Skip to content

Review: Mix Shake Stir

September 8, 2009

Mix Shake Stir

I’m not much of a drinker, but when we had neighbors in the other day, I thought it would be fun to make some kind of drink that everyone could enjoy.   We pulled out Mix Shake Stir, a beautiful book full of cocktail recipes with a few appetizer recipes thrown in for fun.  This book contains recipes from Danny Meyer’s Union Square Hospitality Group which includes some of New York’s most well known restaurants.  With 130 recipes and beautiful illustrations, this book is sure to have something for everyone.

The recipes are grouped by type – favorite classics, new classics, inspired flavors, elegant sips, casual libations, and bar fare (appetizers).  There’s a section in the front that includes tips on ice, garnishes, bar tools and glassware  and a reference section in the back that covers simple syrups, salt and sugar rims, etc.

SangriaSince it was the last weekend of the summer, we decided we’d have Summer Sangria and Carl found the recipe easy to follow.  This drink was a big hit with everyone who came!  This recipe is from the restaurant Hudson Yards and they make it with red or white wine.  It makes about 12 to 14 drinks –

6 cups full-bodied dry wine such as Merlot or Chardonnay (we used Merlot)

2 cups Simple Syrup (1 part  sugar dissolved in 1 part boiling water)

1 cup fresh orange juice

1 cup fresh or unsweetened canned pineapple juice

3 ounces white rum, preferably Bacardi

3 ounces gin

1 ounce triple sec or other orange liqueur

1 ounce brandy

ice

3-3½ cups chopped fresh seasonal fruit

Combine the wine, simple syrup, juices, rum, gin, triple sec, and brandy in a large glass pitcher.  Cover and refrigerate for at least 12 hours or up to 24 hours.  Fill wine glasses with ice and arrange ¼ cup of the chopped fruit in each.  Pour the sangria into the glasses and serve.

Mix Shake Stir is a great reference book for anyone who likes to entertain.

35 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2009 6:58 am

    love it. I would love to make my fav drink too someday. I’ll look out for this book. Thanks Kathy 🙂

  2. September 8, 2009 8:20 am

    I love Sangria. I have never made it but I was surprised to see rum in the recipe.

  3. September 8, 2009 8:34 am

    You had my attention the second I saw the pictures! Yum! It sounds bad, but my husband and I love a good mixed drink (as well as a good bottle of wine!). Robert is the most excellent drink maker. This might be a great book for me to get him for Xmas! Thanks!

  4. September 8, 2009 8:46 am

    That’s sounds very good. Also sounds like you better not have anything planned for the next day. About how many glasses does this make?

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

    • September 8, 2009 8:52 am

      Oh, great question! I should have included that information, but neglected to. It made a full pitcher or about 3 quarts (12 to 14 drinks).

  5. September 8, 2009 8:55 am

    I love Sangria. I’ve already copied the recipe down. It sounds easy and yummy as well.

  6. September 8, 2009 8:55 am

    Is it bad that it’s only 9am and I could already go for a drink? 😉

  7. September 8, 2009 9:10 am

    Your Sangria sounds delicious – a perfect summer beverage.

  8. September 8, 2009 9:14 am

    That sounds like some drink! Ymmm. Thanks for the recipe and a new book for me to track down.

  9. September 8, 2009 9:34 am

    That would have been a hit with me too! Yum!!

  10. September 8, 2009 9:38 am

    I love sangria too. It was the first grown up drink I ever had, so I have fond “coming of age” memories of it! And besides, with sugar and fruit killing the taste of the other stuff, what could be bad?!!!

  11. September 8, 2009 10:45 am

    I absolutely love Sangria. I am off to the Canary Islands soon and they serve the best Sangria.

    Your post reminded me of one of my all time favourite movie – Cocktail.

  12. September 8, 2009 12:07 pm

    Yummy!

    Am I invited?

  13. September 8, 2009 12:38 pm

    MMM, sounds good to me! I think I’ll check out this book sometime.

  14. September 8, 2009 12:57 pm

    Not much of a drinker myself either, but when I drink, I also like a cocktail or two. I prefer classic cocktails like screwdrivers or gin and tonics, but more exotic drinks are usually also a lot of fun (at least after a couple 😉 )

  15. September 8, 2009 1:00 pm

    My hubby’s always looking to offer some new drinks when we have parties. I bet he’d enjoy this one. I don’t drink, so it wouldn’t do me any good. LOL

  16. etirv permalink
    September 8, 2009 3:28 pm

    I have this book, beautiful!

  17. September 8, 2009 3:45 pm

    Oh my goodness that sounds soooooo good!! I’m going to have to try this asap, is noon to early?
    🙂

  18. September 8, 2009 4:17 pm

    Cheers!
    Congrats on your nominations!

  19. September 8, 2009 4:23 pm

    I think this would be a cool book to take a look at. I often attend pool parties with a couple of friends who would probably love some new cocktail ideas. The pictures are great looking too!

  20. September 8, 2009 5:16 pm

    It sounds yummy! Of course I’m speculating because the only alcohol I’ve ever had consisted of a few sips of wine when I was a teenager. My husband doesn’t drink and so I don’t either. But it does look like a neat book for mixed drinks! 🙂

  21. September 8, 2009 6:57 pm

    I’m the worst drink-maker ever, and I’ve been wanting a good recipe for Sangria..thanks for sharing!!

  22. September 8, 2009 8:11 pm

    Sounds wonderful! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  23. September 9, 2009 8:14 am

    I love Sangria and this one sounds different yet easy to make. The only question I have is with all the spirits did it have a strong alcohol taste or did the wine & fruit shine through? I prefer a more fruity sangria.

  24. September 9, 2009 10:17 am

    Can I come to your house?

  25. Carol permalink
    September 9, 2009 12:01 pm

    Sounds like a great book, if only my friends would drink something more than beer.

  26. September 9, 2009 5:07 pm

    I have this one from the library, but haven’t had a chance to look at it yet. I’ll have to make sure I do before I return it!

  27. September 9, 2009 7:04 pm

    i’ve been on the hunt for a great cocktail recipe book, i might have to check this one out. thanks for the review.

  28. September 9, 2009 9:24 pm

    Oh yes, I could have used that book this week. 😉

  29. September 10, 2009 6:32 am

    wow! I am not sure if I drink all those things that you mention here… but would love to make it for Dad 🙂
    Thank u !! I am sure to look out for this book 🙂

  30. September 10, 2009 11:42 pm

    My husband and I are toying with the idea of holding regular Sunday get-togethers – Mix Shake Stir sounds like it might come in handy!

  31. September 11, 2009 8:43 am

    This book went on my wishlist so fast, it’s not even funny… For some reason, I’m a huge sucker for cocktail cookbooks.

    That sangria looks excellent, but I think I’ll try it with white wine… red wine sangria always gives me headaches.

  32. September 12, 2009 6:18 pm

    Yum! I could go for a drink right about now!

  33. September 13, 2009 12:55 pm

    Yum! I don’t have a good cocktail book. Mine are old, real old, with recipes for things like a Harvey Wallbanger; they were my grandmother’s and I’m holding onto them for sentiment’s sake.

    I’ll look for MIX, SHAKE, STIR … maybe pick up a pack of those cocktail umbrellas, too!

  34. stacybuckeye permalink
    September 13, 2009 7:57 pm

    Sounds like a wonderful way to end the summer!

Leave a comment