Skip to content

Wondrous Words Wednesday

September 9, 2009

vocabulary

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  Feel free to join in the fun.  (Don’t forget to leave a link in your comment if you’re participating.)

____________________________________________________

My first word this week came from Lucky Girl by Mei-Ling Hopgood.

1. Kitenge – “Maureen used and African Kitenge as a tablecloth and displayed a hand-carved ebony African head purchased from and artist in Tanzania.”

This word isn’t in my dictionary, but wikipedia defines a Kitenge as an African garment similar to a sarong.

_____________________________________________________

My next word is from The Natural Laws of Good Luck by Ellen Graf.

2. numinous – “Ever since that day, watermelons held a numinous power for Zhong-hua.”

Numinous means supernatural or mysterious.

_____________________________________________________

My last word of the week is from The Book of Unholy Mischief by Elle Newmark.

3. crepuscular – “I stared out the high window and watched the light on the sill change from afternoon glare to crepuscular glow to moon-shade.”

Crepuscular means of, relating to, or resembling twilight; dim.

_____________________________________________________

What new words have you encountered lately?

25 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2009 7:13 am

    Crepuscular is beautiful but would probably just say a dim glow. Why I’m a reader and not a writer. My Words Are Here.

  2. September 9, 2009 7:59 am

    I would have been compelled to look up Kiteng myself because of how it was used. Interesting words!

    Mine are here:

    http://lisanotes.blogspot.com/2009/09/wondrous-words-wednesday_09.html

  3. September 9, 2009 8:09 am

    I like the way crepuscular sounds. Now I can’t stop repeating it in my head. LOL

    • September 9, 2009 8:21 am

      Great words this week, Kathy. I’ve never heard of the first two at all. I like numinous.

  4. September 9, 2009 8:29 am

    I need to start doing this. The BBAW meme asks a question about learning new words and I thought how wonderful your meme is! 😉

  5. September 9, 2009 8:59 am

    Crepuscular sounds like it’s definition should be creepy or creaky. Here’s my post for today: http://wordlily.wordpress.com/2009/09/09/words-from-my-reading-17/

  6. September 9, 2009 9:17 am

    Great words this week Kathy…numinous is interesting to me, I would have never meant that it was something mystical. My words are here:
    http://jo-jolovestoread.blogspot.com/2009/09/wondrous-words-wednesday-sept-9.html

  7. September 9, 2009 9:45 am

    I like the sound of numinous.

    Here are my Wondrous Words

  8. September 9, 2009 10:36 am

    I like the sound of all these words!

    Wondrous Words Wednesdays

  9. September 9, 2009 11:41 am

    Kitenge and numinous are lovely sounding words. Crepuscular is not, it has the word pus in it, 😛 and sounds like a skin disease. 🙂

  10. September 9, 2009 11:45 am

    ‘Crepuscular’ is a funny word and I would have never associated it with twilight. Somehow, the two don’t go together.

  11. September 9, 2009 1:25 pm

    All new words to me!

    Here are my words for this week: http://bookatopia.blogspot.com/2009/09/wondrous-words-wednesday-september-9.html

  12. September 9, 2009 1:39 pm

    It seems like I’ve heard crepuscular in a movie once. Hmmm. Great words!

  13. September 9, 2009 1:46 pm

    I agree with Margot. Crepuscular is pretty, but I’d probably use the simpler term. 🙂

    http://snipssnailsandpuppydogstails.blogspot.com/2009/09/wondrous-words-wednesday.html

  14. September 9, 2009 2:23 pm

    I like numinous. And I’ve heard crepuscular, but I always forget what it means! My words are here.

  15. September 9, 2009 4:23 pm

    Great words, learn something new everyday!
    Would love to read the book
    Natalie :0)

  16. September 9, 2009 6:49 pm

    I heard that rabbits are crepuscular so that is where I have seen the word I think. The other words are definitely new to me.

    Here is mine : http://shannanlovesbooks.blogspot.com/2009/09/wonderous-words-wednesday.html

  17. September 9, 2009 7:11 pm

    Count me in, this is a great idea

  18. September 9, 2009 8:54 pm

    Saporous: pleasing to the taste.

    I’m reading Lolita, and it’s filled with unknown words!

  19. September 9, 2009 9:14 pm

    Huh, I had heard of crepuscular before, but had no idea what it meant. I definitely haven’t heard of kitenge before.

  20. September 9, 2009 9:16 pm

    I’m always amazed at how many different words are out there to describe things!!

  21. September 9, 2009 10:38 pm

    I’ve always loved the word crepuscular.

  22. September 10, 2009 7:04 am

    I like that numinous is sort of like luminous and they’re both magical…(deep thoughts, today, I know.)

  23. September 10, 2009 11:41 pm

    Lovely words, Kathy. I especially liked “numinous”.

  24. September 23, 2009 6:35 pm

    http://gofita.blogspot.com/2009/09/wondrous-words-wednesday-1.html

    I’m so glad I found this meme!

Leave a comment