Skip to content

Review: Ghoulish Goodies

October 4, 2009

Ghoulish Goodies

If you’re looking for some fun treats for Halloween, then Ghoulish Goodies is for you!  This adorable cookbook has recipes for candies and goodies, cookies, cakes, party food, drinks and even a Halloween supper.  There are darling photographs for most (but not all) of the recipes.  There are some deliciously scary looking treats in here that would be great to make for the classroom!

Since olives and cheese are two of the major food groups, I decided to try making the Cheddar Eyeballs.  The recipe was easy and delicious, but I came out with about half as many eyeballs as it said I would.  Here’s the recipe:

8 ounces extra-sharp cheddar cheese (about 2 cups)

½ cup (1 stick) butter, cut into 6 pieces

1 teaspoon ground cumin

½ teaspoon salt

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 (6-ounce) bottle pimento-stuffed green olives, drained

  1. Preheat the oven to 400ºF.
  2. Combine the cheese, butter, cumin and salt in a food processor and process until well blended.  With the machine running, slowly add the flour and stop as soon as a ball of dough forms.
  3. Scoop up a tablespoon of the cheese dough and mold it into a ball.  Push an olive down into the middle of the eyeball, leaving only the stuffed end showing.  Place on an ungreased baking sheet.   Repeat with the remaining dough and olives.
  4. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, until golden brown.  Serve hot or warm.

Cheddar Eyeballs

These are delicious hot or cold.  I used white cheddar cheese, so mine aren’t as brown as they would be if I’d used orange cheese.

A great idea in this book is to make a frozen hand for your punch bowl.  All you have to do is take a rubber surgical glove and rinse it out several times.  Fill it with water, tie the wrist tightly closed, and freeze.  Once it’s frozen solid, cut the glove off the palm and each finger with sharp scissors.

This is a great book for those with kids or for the kid inside of you!

I received this book at the SIBA Trade Show.

40 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2009 7:47 am

    I love the idea of that cookbook! And such nice looking eyeballs! I suppose one could take the pimento out and make veins if one were feeling particularly ghoulish. The frozen hand sounds good too! I was thinking I would probably mangle it, but maybe that would still work for a scary-looking hand! Thanks for sharing the recipes!

  2. October 4, 2009 8:40 am

    How fun! Will you making more ghoulish treats?

  3. October 4, 2009 8:40 am

    What a great idea. (Love the eyeballs), and I bet there are a lot of cute recipes that would be big hits at a childrens Halloween party too.

  4. October 4, 2009 8:54 am

    Too cute! I love Halloween cook books!

  5. October 4, 2009 9:08 am

    Fun book! I love green olives so those treats are right up my alley! Those would be good to eat while doing the 24 hour read-a-thon.

  6. October 4, 2009 9:13 am

    I absolutely love olive cheesepuffs. That is amazing how rearranging the olives can truly give the appearance of eyeballs!

  7. October 4, 2009 9:56 am

    Don’t you just love Halloween.

  8. October 4, 2009 11:08 am

    From looking at the recipe alone it doesn’t look like it would make anything as it’s so sparse but those treats look pretty fun. I don’t know too many kids that would eat green olives though.

  9. October 4, 2009 11:48 am

    eewuyum ;0

  10. October 4, 2009 1:12 pm

    I’m sure my kids and their classmates would love these recipes. I, however, have a hard time eating anything that looks creepy no matter how tasty it is!

  11. October 4, 2009 2:23 pm

    I’m always on the look-out for adorable or terrifyingly unappetizing Halloween snacks/treats. Halloween is my second favorite holiday (Christmas holds the first slot), and I’m the only force in my house that takes any trouble to decorate and bake. Those eyeballs are cute, in their own ghoulish way–and that hand would be fun to run into in a bowl of red punch!

  12. October 4, 2009 4:46 pm

    Cute! Very cute. Sounds like a book filled with wonderful ideas – those eyeballs are fun and the idea of a frozen hand makes me chuckle.

  13. October 4, 2009 5:03 pm

    Ha! I want this book.

  14. October 4, 2009 5:49 pm

    What a cute idea and recipe! I always like to read about new recipes but then never get around to cooking one…just thought I’d say hi as it is the first time I have had time to visit my pals…have a good week!

  15. October 4, 2009 5:52 pm

    Sounds like fun!

  16. October 4, 2009 7:00 pm

    All my favorites. Dough, olives and cheese.

  17. October 4, 2009 7:18 pm

    Oh how fun! I want this cookbook! We’re planning a Halloween themed sleepover for my oldest son’s birthday. This would be perfect to help me plan the food to serve! I’ll definitely check it out! Thanks for the review!

  18. October 4, 2009 7:24 pm

    Those are SO CUTE! This book sounds delightful, and especially good as the kids get ready for Halloween parties and whatnot.

  19. October 4, 2009 7:26 pm

    I love stuff like this! Too fun.

  20. October 4, 2009 8:02 pm

    This would be a hit at my middle school. The kids love cookbooks. Those eyeballs are very cool!!

  21. October 4, 2009 8:09 pm

    This book looks great! Love the eyeballs!

  22. October 4, 2009 8:36 pm

    I stopped by to tell you I gave you an award 🙂

  23. October 4, 2009 10:44 pm

    These eyeballs are spooky-ooky enough for a Halloween party! The ice hand is a great idea! Thanks for a fun post!

  24. October 5, 2009 12:21 am

    Can’t help but smile about this book! My mom made all kinds of goodies like this for Halloween parties up until my junior year of high school- and then I had to do it lol!

  25. stacybuckeye permalink
    October 5, 2009 12:45 am

    What fun! We’re having a party here on Friday and I need some fun ideas 🙂

  26. October 5, 2009 1:23 am

    How fun is that cover!!! Something that is very important as to whether I pick up a book or not. Cute little goodies, too. I should get this book for my s.i.l. He goes ALL OUT for Halloween. Thanks for sharing.

  27. October 5, 2009 1:34 am

    Although they look cute, I’d like to try them just because I like Spanish olives and cheese. Thanks for the recipe.

  28. October 5, 2009 10:59 am

    My husband would love this book! He’s all into planning for Halloween parties and make stuff like this.

    –Anna

  29. October 5, 2009 11:02 am

    What a fun book Kathy!! My son is almost 3, so he and Daddy are already getting ready for Halloween this year. LOL – I should see about picking this one up to surprise them with a fun and spooky dinner.

    🙂 Wendi

  30. October 5, 2009 11:08 am

    That is too cute! And they are made of cheese…yummy!

  31. October 5, 2009 12:54 pm

    Oh. my. gosh! My kids would go nuts for this cookbook! I’ll have to look for a copy around here; very fun show-and-tell post, Kathy.

  32. Carol permalink
    October 5, 2009 1:24 pm

    How fun! I may have to see if I can get ahold of this one.

  33. October 5, 2009 3:32 pm

    I had to come back a second time and write down the recipe – those look good even without the Halloween vibe!

  34. October 5, 2009 4:15 pm

    What a neat looking book! Some of these treats look really fun, and I think even my older kids would appreciate them. I think I am going to scout out a copy before Halloween. Thanks for posting this!

  35. October 6, 2009 2:12 am

    We’re going to a Halloween potluck on the 30th, so I might just have to make us some eyeballs to bring along!

  36. October 6, 2009 5:18 am

    yum…they look so delicious and cute 🙂

  37. October 7, 2009 3:23 am

    Your eyeballs look so cool. 🙂 My 12 year old loves these kinds of cook books. I’ll have to tell her about this one.

  38. October 7, 2009 2:53 pm

    Haha, how fun — love the eyeballs! 🙂

  39. October 8, 2009 12:30 am

    Looks delicious! I used to have a Halloween party every year and we made snacks that look like gross stuff. I can’t remember any now… but it was fun 🙂

  40. October 9, 2009 2:00 pm

    Oh wow! This looks like a great cookbook for making some Halloween treats 🙂

Leave a comment