Skip to content

Review: Tell Me Something True

October 10, 2009

Tell Me Something True

When Gabriella was four years old her mother, Helena, died in a plane crash.  Her American father wanted her to know her Colombian heritage and family, so he took her to Cali to visit her maternal grandmother every year.  As Gabriella got older, she would go for the visits by herself, staying with her grandmother for a month at a time.

When Gabriella is twenty-one, she goes for her month long visit.  On her first night there, her cousin drags her to a party and she meets, and is attracted to, a dangerous young man.  At first she tries to keep her relationship with him secret, but eventually decides she doesn’t care who knows.

When her grandmother tells Gabriella that her old family home will be torn down to build luxury condos, Gabriella returns for one last visit.  While she’s there, she discovers her mother’s old diary, which her mother wrote to her.  What she reads in that diary changes Gabriella’s life forever and causes her to make some decisions she might not have made otherwise.

Tell Me Something True by Leila Cobo grabbed me from the start and never let go.  This book is about relationships and the damage lies can do to them.  The story alternates between Gabriella’s viewpoint in the present day and her mother’s viewpoint from the past via her diary, with one short chapter from Gabriella’s grandmother’s viewpoint.  I thought Gabriella was a great character and I could really relate to her, even though our lives are nothing alike.  I couldn’t put the book down because I had to know what was in the diary and how it was going to affect Gabriella.   Gabriella did some things that I didn’t agree with, but I could understand why she made the choices she did.  I think anyone who enjoys stories about relationships will enjoy this book.

Leila Cobo will be on Blog Talk Radio on October 15, at 1:00 PM, Eastern Time.

Review copy provided by Hachette Books.

43 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2009 6:43 am

    This book sounds really good, Kathy! Thanks for the lovely review!

  2. October 10, 2009 7:02 am

    Thanks for a great review. I think I will check this one out.

  3. October 10, 2009 8:13 am

    Sounds so good! I wish I had time to read it before the show — we’ll see!

  4. October 10, 2009 8:22 am

    Great review – sounds like a wonderful book!

  5. October 10, 2009 8:26 am

    This sounds terrific — your review has me hooked. 🙂

  6. October 10, 2009 8:52 am

    This one sounds very intriguing, one I think I would like a lot. Glad you enjoyed it. Have a great weekend!

  7. October 10, 2009 9:44 am

    I like the sound of this one and I always enjoy books that have a diary discovery. Thanks for the heads-up. Happily, I see this one is available for my Kindle. Think I’ll get it.

  8. October 10, 2009 9:47 am

    Interesting. Can’t help but be curious as to what those lies were that could have changed her life if she had known.

  9. October 10, 2009 10:05 am

    Kathy this sounds like one I would love. Thanks for the great review.

  10. October 10, 2009 11:52 am

    What a fabulous book. I haven’t seen this one before. Definitely one to add to the list.

  11. October 10, 2009 12:46 pm

    I’m glad to see you liked this one. I’m going to be picking it up very soon.

  12. October 10, 2009 12:53 pm

    I am glad you liked this one so much, Kathy. I’m curious to know what the secret was that once revealed changed Gabriella so much. 🙂

  13. October 10, 2009 2:22 pm

    I always love to read stories where secrets are explored via letters or diaries. Something about peeking into the past I guess. Not only does this story have that spin, but I sense there is a cultural heritage piece of it that would make it a rich, entertaining read.

  14. October 10, 2009 2:23 pm

    I’m not familiar with this book or author; thanks for introducing me to a new book and author, and for your concise review.

  15. October 10, 2009 3:19 pm

    I was looking forward to reading this book. After reading your review, I am definitely reading it. Great review.

  16. October 10, 2009 3:25 pm

    This sounds really good. I love when someone is nothing like me and yet the writing is so good I can totally relate to that character anyway!

  17. October 10, 2009 4:11 pm

    I’ve got this in the stack by my bed — I’m really looking forward to it now that I’ve read your review!

  18. October 10, 2009 5:11 pm

    Ooh this book sounds pretty great! And now you’ve got me curious as to what the secret is!

  19. October 10, 2009 5:49 pm

    I love books that explore relationships. Sounds like something I might like.

  20. October 10, 2009 6:12 pm

    Sounds like a book I should read. I have an idea about what is in that diary, but I won’t say….

  21. October 10, 2009 7:38 pm

    What a lovely cover. It catches my attention immediately. Thanks for bringing this book to my attention.

  22. October 10, 2009 9:00 pm

    I love the cover to this. I have this book but not sure I can read it in time for the show. I have a few one that I need to read first.

    Great review Kathy.

  23. October 10, 2009 11:31 pm

    Great review, Cathy. Now I’m wondering what was in the diary too!

  24. October 11, 2009 1:19 am

    This sounds like a great read! I went through a phase where I read a ton of books with alternating viewpoints with diaries.

  25. October 11, 2009 12:12 pm

    Another one that sounds terrific!

  26. October 11, 2009 12:57 pm

    I couldn’t put this one down either. I loved it. Can’t wait for the call.

  27. October 11, 2009 8:57 pm

    I bought this at the bookstore today…I’m looking forward to reading it!

  28. October 11, 2009 10:32 pm

    Your review has made me need to read this book…so now I’m heading over to my library site to see if they have it! 🙂

  29. October 12, 2009 1:00 am

    Hi Kathy, I definitely like good stories about relationships. I’ll keep this in view. 😀

  30. stacybuckeye permalink
    October 12, 2009 1:43 am

    I read another review of this book that I really liked and I’m glad to know you really liked it too! Looks good.

  31. October 12, 2009 12:08 pm

    Thanks-I can hardly wait to read Cleopatra’s Daughter-I just did not want to take it on a flight and risk getting the cover dirtied up. Strange I know. I like to keep my books pristine. In the summer-there are only certain books that get to go to the beach-one day this huge wave swamped me, my blanket and my poor book became a swamped sandbox.

  32. October 12, 2009 12:22 pm

    Great review! This book sounds a bit like a character study of both the mother and daughter, and sounds like something I would love. I am just beginning to realize how much I enjoy character driven books, and have been keeping my eye out for good recommendations. I am going to be taking a closer look at this book. Thanks!

  33. October 12, 2009 1:42 pm

    I was already looking forward to this, now even more so!

  34. October 12, 2009 7:46 pm

    Great review. This sounds like something that I am going to want to pick-up.

  35. October 12, 2009 9:43 pm

    Wonderful review … now I’m intrigued about what was in the diary!

  36. October 13, 2009 4:53 am

    I LOVE the sound of this. Books like these are what I really really want to read NOW! I will find out if I can get this one.. and i LOVE the cover too!

  37. October 13, 2009 7:41 pm

    You have most certainly gained my interest in this book with your review. This book is outside of my “normal” reading but it sounds like a read that I will like. Onto my to-read list it has gone.

  38. October 13, 2009 8:50 pm

    Another book to add to my TBR list. Thanks for the great review.

  39. October 14, 2009 10:56 am

    This is in my TBR pile. I can’t wait to read it. Thanks for the review!!

  40. October 14, 2009 11:54 am

    Thanks for a great reveiw. Really liked what you said. I’ll be tweeting your post on @BronzeWord and @LatinoBookNews. Thanks
    Jo Ann Hernandez
    BronzeWord Latino Authors
    //authorslatino.com/wordpress

  41. October 14, 2009 6:54 pm

    Excellent review. My wife wants to read this book, I will show her your review 🙂

    Thanks for joining the Blog Book Review Party. Your review makes a nice addition to the group!

    Next week I will be giving away an Amazon GC. I hope you join us again.

    -CYM

  42. October 15, 2009 1:38 pm

    I don’t think I’ve heard of this book, but it sounds like something I’d enjoy. Thanks for the recommendation.

  43. October 20, 2009 11:49 am

    I love this cover. Something about it just caught my eye and your review convinced me to add it to my WL.

Leave a comment