Skip to content

Review: The Unquiet

October 24, 2009

The Unquiet

Rebecca Clay hires private investigator Charlie Parker because a man is stalking her.  When Charlie approaches the man, Frank Merrick, he is told that he means Rebecca no harm –  he just wants information about her father, child psychiatrist Daniel Clay, who is missing.  It turns out that Dr. Clay treated Merrick’s daughter before she disappeared and Merrick thinks Dr. Clay can help him locate her.   Charlie begins investigating Dr. Clay and discovers something horrible.

The Unquiet is John Connelly’s fifth Charlie Parker book.  These books don’t have to be read in order, because this was my first one and I had no trouble keeping up.  I listened to the audio version on a recent trip to my parents and found the book to be gripping.  I was close to the end as I neared home and slowed down so that I wouldn’t get home before the book ended.

There is some language and violence in this book.  I’ve always said I can read violence that I could never watch on the screen and I discovered that listening to it is almost as bad as seeing it.   Jay O. Sanders does such a good job narrating this that parts of the book made me feel sick to my stomach as I listened, yet I couldn’t stop – I had to know what happened and who did it.  I want to read more of the Charlie Parker series, but I think I’ll stick to print for them.

I won this audio book in a blog contest .  I am an Amazon Associate.
25 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 7:27 am

    Wooo. Sounds intense!

  2. October 24, 2009 7:45 am

    intense is the word that first came to mind here as well.

  3. October 24, 2009 7:50 am

    I never read this one but know he writes some intense, edge of your seat stuff. I had this on my IPOD, but noticed its one disc short…UGH

    I have Every Dead Thing and The Lovers by him. Loved the review Kathy.Thanks

  4. October 24, 2009 8:15 am

    This sounds good! I too have listened to audiobooks before that made me drive around extra!

  5. October 24, 2009 8:19 am

    Not sure I could listen to it!

  6. October 24, 2009 8:36 am

    I found it really helpful to know that these books don’t have to be read in order. I tend to start at the beginning and if it’s too late in a series, I just don’t ever seem to get around to reading all of them!

  7. October 24, 2009 9:33 am

    violence doesn’t bother me at all….now audio books are another matter.

  8. October 24, 2009 11:21 am

    I’ve been really wanting to try this author and am glad you enjoyed this one, Kathy! Isn’t it great when you just can’t stop reading/listening to a book until you reach the end? Of course, that sometimes does make a person late to an event . . . LOL

  9. October 24, 2009 12:37 pm

    Great review!

    I wonder if him and Michael Connolly are related?!

  10. October 24, 2009 1:19 pm

    Great review. Sounds like it’s a page-turner.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

  11. October 24, 2009 2:04 pm

    This does sound like a riveting thriller. How wonderful to be so engaged in a story!

  12. October 24, 2009 7:05 pm

    I can just imagine you cringing as you were listening. As least with the written word you can skim if you have to.

  13. stacybuckeye permalink
    October 24, 2009 10:48 pm

    I’ve just reorganized my wish list and I’ve got Connelly on there (with the books in order, of course :))

  14. October 24, 2009 11:27 pm

    Thanks for stopping by to cheer me on during the readathon, Kathy!

  15. October 24, 2009 11:51 pm

    If you slow down just to finish, it’s got to be good!

  16. October 25, 2009 12:38 am

    You know you’ve got a winner with an audiobook if you have to keep driving just so you can listen! Thanks for the review.

  17. October 25, 2009 2:06 am

    Sounds like a really good book if it kept you from home! Thanks for stopping by and putting in a few words of sheer. Hope you had a great time today!

  18. October 25, 2009 2:50 pm

    This sounds really good! I have always been curious about John Connolly’s books.

  19. October 25, 2009 3:03 pm

    Some books seem more suited to print than audio, don’t they … I haven’t read (or listened to) anything by John Connelly (yet!)

  20. October 25, 2009 6:57 pm

    This sounds good. I’ve never read any John Connelly but it sounds like it’s time to start.

  21. October 25, 2009 8:06 pm

    I started this series from the beginning and am up to about Book 3. I think I have this somewhere to read. He is a good writer and Mr. Parker is a pretty good character — flawed but good. You should read the first one as it has a lot of his backstory — like what happened to his family and all.

  22. October 26, 2009 5:13 am

    I need to read more of Connelly’s books. This one is good. Thanks for the review!

  23. October 26, 2009 11:31 am

    I haven’t read this series either but your review is a definite teaser. I’d like to know how it all turns out.

  24. October 26, 2009 12:26 pm

    I can deal with violence to a certain extent. I’ll close the book and put it down for a while. I don’t really listen to audio book so I have no experience with listening to violent scenes being read, but I bet it was intense.

  25. October 26, 2009 4:10 pm

    It’s been a long time since I have read a book by Connelly, but I liked your synopsis of this one. I also think that I would chose the audio version over the printed version because then I could listen to it while I went walking. Great review!

Leave a comment