Skip to content

Review: Permission Slips

October 25, 2009

Permission Slips

On The View, Sherri Shepherd said she didn’t know if the Earth is round or flat, and boy, did she hear about it afterward!  It seemed like people either thought she was totally ignorant or they sympathized with her, since they have more pressing problems, like where to get the money to pay their bills, to worry about.  From that, Sherri came up with the idea that women need to take it easy on themselves and give themselves permission to make mistakes.

The concept of Permission Slips by Sherri Shepherd is a great one.  Sherri freely admits to making lots of mistakes on her way to a successful career in television.  She wants women to accept that they don’t have to be perfect and that it’s okay to put themselves first at times.  This book started out with a bang for me – I found myself laughing and even called my mother to read her a line from one of the first few chapters.  Part way through the book, though, it seemed like she was saying the same things over again and I was ready for things to wrap up.  Because of that, this book ended up being just okay for me.  I do think the message Sherri’s trying to get across is a good one – it’s time women stop trying to do it all and accept that everything is not our responsibility.

I don’t watch much television, so I have to admit that before I read Permission Slips,  I really didn’t know who Sherri Shepherd was.   I went on YouTube and watched some videos of her to try to get a feel for her personality.  I do think fans of Sherri’s work will enjoy this book more than I did.  Here she is talking about Permission Slips:

Sherri Shepherd will be interviewed on Blog Talk Radio on Thursday, October 29 at 1:00 Eastern Time.  Listen online or call (646) 378-0039 to ask a question.

Review copy provided by Hachette Books at SIBA Trade Show.   I am an Amazon Associate.
26 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2009 8:35 am

    I love the cover of this one. It sounds fun – at least for a while! Too bad she didn’t quit while she was ahead! :–)

  2. October 25, 2009 8:55 am

    Well, at least you and your mom had a good laugh!

  3. October 25, 2009 9:21 am

    HI Kathy!!! I didn’t really read your review yet, just wanted to say hi as I slowly wake up. 🙂

  4. October 25, 2009 11:10 am

    I’m waiting for this book to show up. I’m anxious to read it, I hear from most it’s funny and well written.

    Good review!

  5. October 25, 2009 11:52 am

    This sounds fun in theory but maybe not in practice. :O) Glad you laughed a little bit!

  6. October 25, 2009 12:15 pm

    Thanks for your review! I read this one as well, and agree with much of what you said. There were definitely some funny parts, but what I liked the best about it was that it contained such a positive message: don’t be too hard on yourself, nobody’s perfect! It’s great to read another opinion!

  7. October 25, 2009 1:32 pm

    Good review. I skimmed it because I still have to write mine. I enjoyed the book okay but I didn’t relate to a lot of it.

  8. October 25, 2009 2:22 pm

    It sounds like you enjoyed the humor in this book. Thanks for your review.

  9. October 25, 2009 2:25 pm

    This looks like a fun read!

  10. October 25, 2009 5:14 pm

    This is where a good editor would helped her pare this book down!! I’m glad that it made you laugh and you shared that with your mom.

  11. October 25, 2009 5:18 pm

    I have just won this book, and I look forward to reading it. Having a good laugh is therapeutic for me because I tend to be hard on myself. Liked your review.

  12. October 25, 2009 8:07 pm

    I remember that whole flat earth thing. I love that she got a book out of it … but it sounds liked maybe she only got a novella out of it. Sounds like there wasn’t quite enough material to flesh it out without being repetitive.

  13. October 25, 2009 9:11 pm

    I am not too familiar with Sherri Shepherd. I do think she has the right idea, that people do make mistakes; no one is perfect. Nor can we take it all on, as you said. I’m sorry this one didn’t end with the bang it started with. I don’t often read celebrity written books and so am not likely to pick this one up, but I’m sure it has its audience. 🙂

  14. October 25, 2009 10:08 pm

    This sounds like a fun read (at least in the beginning), especially if you called your mom to read her a line from it! I think giving ourselves permission to do things is a wonderful idea.

  15. October 25, 2009 10:40 pm

    The premise of this book is interesting. I might give it a try.

  16. October 26, 2009 1:03 am

    Wow-I am impressed with all your comments on the web-it seems every page I click=you were cheering someone on-it was a fun event. Hope you enjoyed yourself.

  17. October 26, 2009 1:33 am

    I’m mixed about this one. I didn’t tour it. I know who she is, but I don’t watch much television, and if I do, I don’t watch talk shows. The premise does sound interesting. I think you’re right, fans of hers will most likely enjoy it.

  18. October 26, 2009 5:02 am

    I haven’t heard of this before but it looks interesting.

  19. October 26, 2009 11:41 am

    How fun! I love Sherri. She was on a local radio show last week and I found myself snorting with laughter at much of what she said! Sounds like a good gift for girlfriends 🙂

  20. October 26, 2009 12:24 pm

    I like the premise, but too bad it got repetitive. I know she’s from The View, but that’s one show I’ve never watched.

  21. stacybuckeye permalink
    October 26, 2009 1:07 pm

    I love to watch The View. I DVR it and at least watch the first 2 or 3 segments when they talk about Hot Topics. Sherri was an interesting addition to the show for me. She’s not the ‘smartest’, but she is the easiest to like. I’ll probably get to this one eventually. Thanks for reviewing it.

  22. Carol permalink
    October 26, 2009 1:15 pm

    I loved Permission Slips. Sorry it kinda fizzled out on you.

  23. October 26, 2009 3:07 pm

    I was curious to see what people thought of this book. I usually make time to watch the first 15 minutes of The View every morning while they discuss Hot Topics. It’s my guilty pleasure. 🙂

    I tend to stay away from nonfiction written by comics though – I have had a hard time finding any that I’ve really loved.

  24. October 26, 2009 4:07 pm

    I think one of the problems I have with non-fiction is that it is sometimes too repetitive, so I can sympathize with some of your reactions to this book, but I am glad that you mostly enjoyed it. I don’t know much about Sheri Shepard, but I do remember hearing about that infamous comment she made!

  25. October 26, 2009 11:31 pm

    I like the sound of this book a lot, the message anyway. Too bad it wasn’t quite a great as you hoped, but it still sounded interesting.

  26. October 27, 2009 4:55 pm

    You’re right, the concept behind this book is terrific;we women do need to be able to not punish ourselves if (when, in this case) we make mistakes. But if the book can be distilled into that one video clip, I don’t think it’s for me. Thank you for the review.

Leave a comment