Skip to content

Wondrous Words Wednesday

November 4, 2009

wondrous2

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the new button (or the old graphic), and join the fun!  (Don’t forget to leave a link in your comment if you’re participating.)

My first word this week comes from Family Sentence by Jeanine Cornillot.

1. sensimilla – “The third time, with my brother Danny, I smoked sensimilla.”

This wasn’t in my dictionary, but I did find it on Urban Dictionary and it is a special breed of marijuana plant that produces no seeds. HIGH quality.  It’s no wonder I didn’t know this word.

_____________________________________________________

My second word came from One Hundred Butterflies by Harold Feinsten.

2. cerements – “Then it bursts its cerements, and emerges in a new and beautiful garb, into a brighter existence.”

I had an idea of what this meant from the context, but I wanted to be sure, so I grabbed my dictionary and it wasn’t in there.  According to wiktionary, it means a burial shroud or garment.

_____________________________________________________

What new words have you encountered lately?

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Snowbell permalink
    November 4, 2009 5:08 am

    If it makes you feel better I didn’t know about sensimilla either…
    Here are my words

  2. November 4, 2009 6:44 am

    I don’t suppose I’ll have much use for either of those words; one I’ll never encounter, while the other when encountered will be when I cannot speak!

    Here’s mine:
    http://bookcritiques.blogspot.com/2009/11/wondrous-words-wednesday.html

  3. November 4, 2009 6:49 am

    I had no idea bout the marijuana reference either.

    Here are mine:

    http://bookingmama.blogspot.com/2009/11/wondrous-words-wednesday-november-4.html

  4. November 4, 2009 7:11 am

    If it doesn’t produce seeds… how do they make more?

    http://dustandspores.blogspot.com/2009/11/wondrous-word-wednesday-i-am-so-tired.html

  5. November 4, 2009 7:34 am

    I didn’t know either of those words, and between the two, I’m not sure which I’d rather be familiar with. {smile}

    My words are here:

    http://lisanotes.blogspot.com/2009/11/wondrous-words-wednesday.html

  6. November 4, 2009 7:40 am

    Saying you didn’t know what sensimilla was – was that an FTC disclaimer?!!!

  7. November 4, 2009 8:08 am

    Here are my words for this week: http://wordlily.com/2009/11/04/words-from-my-reading-23/

  8. November 4, 2009 8:16 am

    Wow! I did not know “cerements.” Very neat!

    My words are here:
    http://jennascribbles.blogspot.com/2009/11/wondrous-words-wednesdays.html

  9. November 4, 2009 8:31 am

    Thanks for those very two new words.

    Here is my Wondrous Words Wednesdays post!

  10. November 4, 2009 8:40 am

    I bet detectives and policemen know the word “sensimilla.” It’s the first time I’ve heard of it. I thought of a disease or bacteria. I do think the word should appear in normal dictionaries.

    http://readwithtea.blogspot.com/2009/11/wondrous-words.html

  11. November 4, 2009 10:06 am

    Great words this week, but I don’t think I would use either of them either. That’s probably a good thing though! lol
    My word is here:
    http://jo-jolovestoread.blogspot.com/2009/11/wondrous-words-wednesday-nov-4.html

  12. November 4, 2009 10:14 am

    I like that you used two new-to-me on-line dictionaries to find your definitions. It’s like celebrating the amazing usefulness of the internet.

    I have two new words also. You can find them HERE.

  13. November 4, 2009 11:03 am

    I knew of sensimillia.

    Here’s mine: http://fredasvoice.blogspot.com/2009/11/wondrous-words-wednesday.html

  14. November 4, 2009 11:51 am

    Good words. I haven’t heard of those ones. Here’s mine:

    http://gofita.blogspot.com/2009/11/wondrous-words-wednesday.html

  15. November 4, 2009 11:55 am

    I feel smarter every time I stop by on Wednesdays. Adding these to my vocabulary list!

  16. November 4, 2009 12:05 pm

    I didn’t know either of those words or definitions. I love this meme, and would totally participate if I were more organized. I can barely keep track of my shopping list each week, I’m afraid lists of words would magically disappear. I’ll have to work on my organization and see if I can come up with some words in the next few weeks.

  17. November 4, 2009 12:15 pm

    Both of these words are new to me!

    Here are my words…http://westietherapy.blogspot.com/2009/11/wondrous-words-ends-of-earth.html

  18. November 4, 2009 12:39 pm

    Hi!
    Mine words are posted at my place, Just Books. Have a great day!

    Sherrie
    Just Books

  19. November 4, 2009 12:41 pm

    You have 2 very interesting words today, Kathy! I think it’s great that you found them using 2 sources quite different than the basic dictionary. I’m not sure I’ll use them ever although sensimilla could make for some interesting cocktail party chatter! lol Wondrous Words

    Thank you!
    ~Amy

    Here are my contributions:
    <a href="

  20. November 4, 2009 12:43 pm

    You have 2 very interesting words today, Kathy! I think it’s great that you found them using 2 sources quite different than the basic dictionary. I’m not sure I’ll use them ever although sensimilla could make for some interesting cocktail party chatter! lol
    Here are my contributions:

    Wondrous Words

    Thank you!
    ~Amy

  21. November 4, 2009 12:43 pm

    oops! Sorry Kathy! I sent the first comment By mistaken!

  22. November 4, 2009 4:18 pm

    “sensimilla” I definitely learned something new today!

  23. November 4, 2009 4:47 pm

    I must confess I knew about sensimilla from my misspent youth. 😉 The second word was new to me, though.

  24. November 4, 2009 7:20 pm

    I only knew sensimilla from a song…I swear I’ve never inhaled!

  25. November 6, 2009 4:41 am

    Ooooooh… sensimilla…

Leave a comment