Skip to content

Review: Got the Look

November 17, 2009

Got the Look

Andie Henning is the FBI agent in charge of investigating a string of strange kidnappings.  The kidnapper’s ransom notes always instruct the husbands not to contact the police and to “pay what she’s worth.”  If the kidnapper deems that the amount paid isn’t what she’s worth, the victim is killed.

In the meantime, things seem to be going Jack Swyteck ‘s way – he’s an up-and-coming lawyer and he’s got  a gorgeous new girlfriend, Mia.  Mia goes missing and Jack finds out that not only is she married but that her husband has gotten a ransom note from the kidnapper.

When Andie and Mia’s husband get Jack involved in getting Mia back, he discovers that Mia’s life is full of secrets he could never have imagined.

I listened to the audio version of Got the Look by James Grippando.  It’s read by Jonathan Davis and he does a great job, using different voices and accents for different characters in the book.   As I started the audio book, the story seemed very familiar to me, but I could never figure out why.  I thought maybe it had been made into a movie.  I decided to do a little research before I wrote this and I discovered that this is the fifth book in the Jack Swyteck series.  (As far as I can tell it’s never been a movie, though.)  I haven’t read any of the previous books but that didn’t hamper my enjoyment of this one at all.  Got the Look is full of twists, turns and tension that kept me engrossed from the beginning to the end.  There is some language and a little bit of sexual situations, but I think readers who enjoy thrillers will like this one.

I won this in a blog contest on My Round File.   I am an Amazon Associate.
21 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2009 7:54 am

    This sounds like a good one to listen to on an upcoming road trip. We always enjoy a good FBI thriller.

  2. November 17, 2009 9:24 am

    I love audiobooks that use different voices and accents; this sounds good!

  3. November 17, 2009 9:25 am

    OMG! Jonathan Davis was the narrator for Shadow of the Wind, and I was swooning over him by the end of the book. What a voice! I’d listen to this just to hear him. I wonder if he has narrated the other books in the series? I’m off to find out.

  4. November 17, 2009 9:29 am

    OK so here is the weird thing. The audio version my library carries is narrated by Nick Sullivan. He’s narrated some other books by the author. And Jonathan Davis has narrated some as well, just not this one. I don’t get it. Grrrr.

  5. November 17, 2009 10:44 am

    This sounds like a great one to listen to.

  6. November 17, 2009 10:44 am

    Thanks! You know how I love both series and well-read audio.

    Sandy: did you check if the Sullivan version is abridged? Different narrators are often used for abridged and unabridged versions of the same book.

  7. November 17, 2009 11:25 am

    Sounds like a good one. “Pay what she’s worth” is an interesting idea. I wonder how that all plays out.

  8. November 17, 2009 11:26 am

    I always enjoy audiobooks if the reader does not go over board with voice variations. It’s a great way of enjoying literature.

    I enjoy this genre, so I might give it a try.

  9. November 17, 2009 11:54 am

    This is really not my kind of book at all and yet there’s something incredibly intriguing about it.

  10. November 17, 2009 5:16 pm

    This sounds like a fun one for my morning commute! My mind tends to wander with audio books but something fairly fast paced like this could work!

  11. November 17, 2009 6:11 pm

    I really enjoy this author as well!

  12. stacybuckeye permalink
    November 17, 2009 9:06 pm

    I picked up this book at a sale at some point and when I got it home realized it was part of a series. One of these days I’ll get to it and it does sound like my kinda book.

  13. November 17, 2009 9:07 pm

    I find it fascinating how one actor can change his/her voice to play multiple roles.

  14. November 17, 2009 10:14 pm

    I am glad you enjoyed this one, Kathy. I read one of the earlier books in the series and keep meaning to go back to the beginning and catch up. One of these days. 🙂

  15. November 17, 2009 10:51 pm

    This sounds like another good audio pick. I love reading suspense and thrillers, but find it harder to pick good audio ones because I don’t like to listen to anything too graphic. From the sounds of it, this series will be nice in audio.

  16. November 17, 2009 11:32 pm

    I’m glad you liked it – I did too!

  17. November 18, 2009 7:46 pm

    I’m still stuck on why it was so familiar to you. Interesting.

  18. November 18, 2009 8:53 pm

    The premise of the story got me very interested. I think I’ll have to get this.

  19. November 19, 2009 4:09 pm

    It’s always so weird to me when I am reading or listening to a book and finding out I have idea that I have heard the story before, but can’t remember where. I’m glad you liked the book!

  20. November 20, 2009 2:09 pm

    sounds like a very action-packed book. Thanks for the review.

  21. November 24, 2009 8:20 pm

    Sounds like a neat premise … though I shudder to think what my husband might submit for my ransom!!!!

Leave a comment