Skip to content

The Twelve Days of Christmas Cookies – Day 6

November 20, 2009

cookieswap

In case you missed it, Julie, of Booking Mama, and I are hosting a virtual cookie swap.  (Julie featured Walnut-Pepper Biscotti yesterday and it sounds delicious.)  We’ll post twelve cookie recipes (six each since we’re alternating days) and we hope you’ll  share a recipe on November 27.

I’ve tried several different rugalah recipes and this one’s my favorite.  The only problem with it is you can’t make it at the last minute since the dough has to sit overnight.  The results are well worth it, though.

Rugalah

Work a stick of butter and a stick of margarine into 2 cups of flour, until it’s about the texture of corn meal.  Add 1 cup of small curd cottage cheese.  Combine well; form 5 or 6 patties that are about the size of a hamburger.  (I wrap each patty in plastic wrap.)  Refrigerate overnight.

The next day, remove one patty at a time – leaving the remaining dough in the refrigerator – and roll into circles on a flour covered surface.  Cover with brown sugar, cinnamon and finely chopped walnuts that you’ve mixed together.  (You can cover with something like raspberry or apricot jam, if you prefer.)  Cut into 8 or more pie shaped pieces.  Roll, starting at the large end.  Bake at 350° for 20 minutes or until lightly browned.

Julie will be featuring Day 7 tomorrow – be sure to check it out!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2009 7:30 am

    I love raspberry rugulach! Terrific recipe!

  2. November 20, 2009 7:32 am

    It sounds delish!

  3. November 20, 2009 7:35 am

    I too love rugalah! I must make these!

    • November 20, 2009 8:20 am

      I love rugalah too. I combine the raspberry jam with the other stuff, for a combo rugalah!

  4. November 20, 2009 8:20 am

    I don’t think I have ever had rugalah before. These sound very rich, and of course delicious!

  5. stacybuckeye permalink
    November 20, 2009 1:03 pm

    I have never made rugalah, but reading your recipe makes me think I could handle it. Well, I could handle making it. I don’t know how well my diet can handle it 🙂

  6. November 20, 2009 1:15 pm

    This is a new one for me but I’m going to give it a try. Sounds like it’s fairly easy. I’m enjoying the 12 Days and I’ve got one ready to go on the 27th.

  7. November 20, 2009 1:54 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever had rugalah.

  8. November 20, 2009 2:46 pm

    I’ve never had this nor heard of it before. interesting

  9. November 20, 2009 3:47 pm

    I haven’t heard of Rugalah before. I may have to look around online for a picture of what it looks like, because I’m having a hard time imagining what it would look or taste like. Can you taste the cottage cheese in it?

  10. November 20, 2009 5:26 pm

    I have never heard of anything like this….but if you say they are good I may have to just try them.

  11. November 20, 2009 7:07 pm

    I’ve often enjoyed store-bought rugalah, never even thinking to find a recipe for it and make it at home! 🙂

  12. November 20, 2009 8:21 pm

    This sounds so difficult! the last cookie recipe was easier, so i might try that 😀

  13. November 21, 2009 12:02 am

    What a great idea! I’m also someone who has never had rugalah before. Sounds yummy though.

  14. November 21, 2009 8:56 am

    I adore rugalah and this recipe is very similar to my grandmothers. Yummmmmm.

  15. November 21, 2009 12:38 pm

    Sounds yummy. What a great Idea!

  16. November 25, 2009 6:46 pm

    I’ve never made rugalah though I love the raspberry ones. I had no idea the recipe called for cottage cheese!

Leave a comment