Skip to content

Wondrous Words Wednesday

December 2, 2009

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, and join the fun!  (Don’t forget to leave a link in your comment if you’re participating.

My first word for this week came from Sunflowers by Sheramy Bundrick.

1. hoyden – “Traipsing around the olive groves with boys like a hoyden – Madame Vallès saw her!”

A hoyden is a girl or woman of saucy, boisterous, or carefree behavior.

_____________________________________________________

The next word came from Everything Sucks by Hannah Friedman.

2. pescetarian – “”Fine, organic pescetarian food,’ the B corrects, flipping her hair.”

This wasn’t in my dictionary, but according to wiktionary.org, a pescetarian is a person who consumes no animal flesh with the exception of fish.

_____________________________________________________

My last word came from The Wife’s Tale by Lori Lansens.

3. prurient – “Had Christopher been a well boy, she might have run to call Irma at work, but he was a sick boy, and Mary didn’t consider his request prurient, just odd.”

Prurient means marked by or arousing an immoderate or unwholesome interest or desire.

_____________________________________________________

What new words have you encountered lately?

22 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2009 7:42 am

    It’s nice to have alternate sources for dictionaries now. I liked hoyden, too.

    I have three words here:

    http://lisanotes.blogspot.com/2009/12/wondrous-words-wednesday.html

  2. December 2, 2009 9:00 am

    I had heard of a hoyden before, but not the other two words you shared.

    Here are my words…http://westietherapy.blogspot.com/2009/12/wondrous-words-confessions.html

  3. December 2, 2009 9:27 am

    Hoyden I knew from all those old fashioned romance books I used to read.

    I have a couple of words this week and you will find them HERE.

  4. December 2, 2009 9:38 am

    Hoyden I didn’t know. Here are my words this week: http://wordlily.com/2009/12/02/words-from-my-reading-27/

  5. December 2, 2009 9:40 am

    I love hoyden since I do consider myself saucy once and a while! My word is here:
    http://jo-jolovestoread.blogspot.com/2009/12/wondrous-words-wednesday-dec-2.html

  6. December 2, 2009 9:44 am

    I’m intrigued by the increasing frequency with which you are writing “This wasn’t in my dictionary, but according to wiktionary.org…” I wonder why that is? Are authors using more neologisms? (relatively speaking: I checked and pescetarian traces to 1993 – it probably takes a while for a word to make it into one of the “conventional” dictionaries)

  7. December 2, 2009 10:27 am

    I love to see your words! Hoyden is a good one. I found one the other night, but forgot to mark it…will have to go back and find it.

  8. December 2, 2009 11:06 am

    i knew prurient …which may say something about me.

  9. December 2, 2009 11:10 am

    Now I know what to call my mom. She used to be a vegetarian but she is a pescetarian now. Do I get points for making a sentence out of one of the words?

  10. December 2, 2009 12:29 pm

    Love the words. I knew them but it’s always nice to have reminders of words we don’t use every day. I always enjoy this feature, love the newer button. I’ll participate now that I’m back in action again.
    Thanks for your note. I wasn’t even reading emails for a while but things are looking up a bit now.

  11. December 2, 2009 12:59 pm

    One of my boyfriends in high school used to call me a hoyden (the nerve!). Never heard “pescetarian” before, but I’m getting closer and closer to being one of those, too!

  12. December 2, 2009 1:39 pm

    Knew all of these today!

  13. December 2, 2009 1:54 pm

    For some reason I’ve always liked the word prurient! Thanks for the new words.

  14. December 2, 2009 2:00 pm

    Great new words to learn! Will there be a vocabulary test next week? 🙂

  15. December 2, 2009 3:33 pm

    2 and 3 make me scratch my head in bewilderment..thanks for the definitions!!!

  16. December 2, 2009 6:28 pm

    Some great words…I’ve heard of them, but not all!

    here are mine: http://gofita.blogspot.com/2009/12/wondrous-words-wednesday.html

  17. December 2, 2009 8:21 pm

    i’m also a ‘hoyden’ fan! great word. i figured pescetarian had something to do with fish because the root means fish in italian and spanish. 🙂

  18. December 2, 2009 9:52 pm

    I like that word: “hoyden” :]
    Thanks on the new words Kath!

  19. December 3, 2009 8:33 am

    I don’t think I could ever be a “pescetarian.” I love my meat too much! 🙂

  20. December 3, 2009 9:56 pm

    I learned something new again today. Thanks, Kathy!

  21. December 5, 2009 5:56 am

    I’ve heard hoyden used before but the other two are new to me.

Leave a comment