Skip to content

Wondrous Words Wednesday

January 20, 2010

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, and join the fun!  (Don’t forget to leave a link in the comments if you’re participating.)

My first word this week comes from The Little Giant of Aberdeen County by Tiffany Baker.

1. physiognomy – “Wheras Serena Jane possessed the limbs and features of a vain little pixie, my physiognomy brought to mind the heaviest and roundest of objects – a cannonball, perhaps.”

Physiognomy means the art of discovering temperament and character from outward appearance.  In other words, it means judging a book by its cover.

_____________________________________________________

The rest of my words this week came from my nifty Word-a-Day calendar that Santa Claus brought me.  This calendar gives the definition, uses the word in the sentence and gives some interesting facts.

2. yashmak – “Even though the rest of her face was covered by a yashmak, I could tell by her eyes that she was displeased.”

A yashmak is a veil worn by Muslim women that is wrapped around the upper and lower parts of the face so that only the eyes remain exposed to public view.

_____________________________________________________

3. quaggy– “The alluring creeks and guts that cut through the quaggy archipelago are littered with too much manmade detritus.” (The quote is from the August 20, 2006 edition of the Balitmore Sun.)

Quaggy is related to quagmire and means marshy or flabby.

_____________________________________________________

What new words have you encountered lately?

30 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2010 6:25 am

    Great words !!! All new to me too.
    http://cmashlovestoread.blogspot.com

  2. January 20, 2010 6:35 am

    My words posted here:
    http://cmashlovestoread.blogspot.com

  3. January 20, 2010 6:36 am

    Great words. I had heard of ‘physiognomy’ before but never actually knew (or bothered, shame) to check what it really means.

  4. January 20, 2010 7:19 am

    yashmak… hmm. I suppose I knew it had a name, but I just never knew it. I like that one, but I don’t know if I can insert it into a conversation today 😉

    “Oh, Blanche! Your eyes would really pop if you would just wear a yashmak.” Somehow that seems insulting, lol.

  5. January 20, 2010 7:32 am

    “Quaggy.” 🙂

  6. January 20, 2010 7:57 am

    Quaggy. Quaggier. Quaggiest.

    n. Quagginess.

    That should be the Word of Every Day.

    http://dustandspores.blogspot.com/2010/01/wondrous-word-wednesday-worst-book-ever.html

  7. January 20, 2010 8:03 am

    Quaggy sounds like a fun word to use. I’ve had to look up ‘physiognomy’ before when reading older books. Nice list.

    My words are here:

    http://lisanotes.blogspot.com/2010/01/wondrous-words-wednesday_20.html

  8. January 20, 2010 8:41 am

    So can I say my tummy and bottom are quaggy???

    Here’s my list:

    http://bookingmama.blogspot.com/2010/01/wondrous-words-wednesday-january-20.html

  9. tea permalink
    January 20, 2010 8:55 am

    All the words are interesting especially yashmak. From reading books like The Bookseller in Kabul, A Thousand Splendid Suns, I thought this was a chador. Not sure of my spelling. You know what I’m talking about. Thanks for the words.

  10. January 20, 2010 9:13 am

    Fun-sounding words! Here are mine: http://wordlily.com/2010/01/20/words-from-my-reading-32/

  11. January 20, 2010 9:23 am

    Great words this week…I will have to try to remember that word from Little Giant if I end up getting a chance to read that one. It sure sounds good! My words are here:
    http://jo-jolovestoread.blogspot.com/2010/01/wondrous-words-wednesday-jan-20.html

  12. January 20, 2010 10:08 am

    All new words to me but I like the word-a-day calendar idea. Lots of new words by the end of the year.

    My new words are at Joyfully Retired

  13. January 20, 2010 10:08 am

    All new to me.. But thanks to u I learnt what they mean ..Physiognomy is the most interesting one 🙂

  14. January 20, 2010 11:21 am

    yashmak is a nice word – a new one for me!

  15. January 20, 2010 11:35 am

    Hi!
    Yushmak I knew, but the others are new to me. Mine is posted at my place, Just Books. Have a great day!

    Sherrie
    Just Books

  16. January 20, 2010 12:29 pm

    Gonna have to try to use yashmak everyday for the next week. 😉

    http://fredasvoice.blogspot.com/2010/01/wondrous-words-wednesday_20.html

  17. January 20, 2010 1:32 pm

    I live “quaggy!” When all of this snow we have starts melting, things will definitely get quaggy.

  18. January 20, 2010 2:00 pm

    It’s interesting how knowing Italian (Latin-based) language) helps me to understand certain English words such as physiognomy because I am familiar with the same word in Italian which sounds the same as the English and conveys the same meaning.

    By the way, I have awarded your blog with the One Lovely Award Blog! More info here:

    http://libraryofcleanreads.blogspot.com/2010/01/one-lovely-blog-award.html

  19. January 20, 2010 3:42 pm

    My tush is quaggy!! 😀

  20. January 20, 2010 3:59 pm

    More great words, Kathy! I’m going to try and use the word quaggy soon. 🙂 I hope you’re enjoying The Little Giant.

    Here’s my first Wondrous Words Wednesday : http://suko95.blogspot.com/2010/01/wondrous-words-wednesday.html

    Thanks for hosting this fun meme, Kathy!

  21. January 20, 2010 9:48 pm

    Quaggy is an interesting word…I’ve never seen it before.

  22. January 20, 2010 10:08 pm

    physiognomy I knew, but the others were new! Fun words and sounds like a great book too.

    Here are mine: http://gofita.blogspot.com/2010/01/wondrous-words-wednesday_20.html

  23. January 20, 2010 10:51 pm

    Those are great words! I didn’t know any of them. Don’t know if I can see myself using them in a conversation any time soon. Maybe quaggy…?

  24. January 21, 2010 1:36 am

    Yashmak is AWESOME! hehe Totally a word you want to say out loud over and over. 😉

  25. January 21, 2010 11:46 am

    “Quaggy”–love it! Will have to work it into things somehow. Thanks, as always, for introducing new stuff into this old brain.

  26. January 21, 2010 1:38 pm

    That’s a slightly different definition of physiognomy than I’ve heard before. Interesting.

    Thanks for letting me join in on the fun!

  27. January 22, 2010 2:58 am

    These are all new words to me as well. My favorite word: yashmak. I bet I will be walking around the house saying it over and over tomorrow.

    Yashmak. Yashmak. Yashmak. Although, quaggy is pretty fun too.

  28. January 22, 2010 5:10 pm

    These three words are all new to me!

    I know it is no longer Wednesday, but we don’t currently have internet service at home. Here are my words for this week…http://westietherapy.blogspot.com/2010/01/wondrous-words-other-mr-darcy.html

  29. January 29, 2010 9:33 am

    These are all new-to-me words!

Leave a comment