Skip to content

Our Life in France Guest Post – work

January 24, 2010

When we lived in France, we had to keep our carte de séjour (the equivalent of a green card) up to date.  Carl’s allowed him to work (obviously), but mine did not, so I asked him to write a post about what it was like to work in France.  This is what he had to say:

First rule of work …. don’t forget to walk around the office each morning upon arrival and shake hands with everyone …. everyone you see.  Also, remember who you see, because if you forget and try to shake their hand again, you will humiliate them and embarrass yourself.  At the last moment they will pull their hand away and ask if you’ve already met for the day.  Now you, and Kathy, know why I liked to be one of the first ones to work each morning.  That way everyone came by to shake my hand each and every morning, instead of me taking forever to go around shaking theirs.  (As hard as I tried I was never able to be the first to arrive  and was never the last to leave work.)   I can’t vouch for the validity of this but I think someone told me the custom developed from the wars in France.  They shake your hand to see if you have a weapon.  Believe me, this hand shaking thing was some serious stuff.  It still is.  Now, imagine, my French was not too good in the beginning and everyone who has learned another language knows there are familiar and formal pronouns.  I caught heck more than once from my French colleagues after using the familiar “tu” when the big boss came around shaking hands each morning instead of the formal “vous”.

Counter to what anyone might think about the French and their experiment with the 35 hour work week, the French I worked with and around had an amazing work ethic.  They were (are) a bunch of truly hard working individuals.

One thing you quickly learn about the French is they like to debate, discuss,  and over-analyze everything.  In fact it can really get out of control.  I remember one meeting where two Frenchmen were arguing … sorry, debating, a hot issue.  Towards the end, these two were really at each other.  I thought they were going to come to blows; I was shocked.  Well, at the end of the meeting one says to the other “lets go get a cup of coffee”.  It was like it never happened.  I would have held a grudge for weeks.

Being on “Expat” status while working in France meant I received a salary in French francs.  In France, income taxes are handled very differently than in the US.  They didn’t take income taxes out of each paycheck.  I had to be careful and set aside some money each month.  I also didn’t calculate what my taxes were.  At the end of the year, I filled out a bi-fold form and sent it to the tax office.  A short time later,  I received a bill in the mail for the taxes I owed.  Hopefully I had set aside enough to cover it.  I always thought that was why we received 2 paychecks for December for a total of 13 for the year.

Except for the few individuals I really got to know and became friends with, work was for the most part very formal.  I never called my boss by his first name –  it was always Monsieur Dailliez, and he always called me by my last name as well.  For some reason he always had something to say about American cheese …. Easy Cheese in the pressurized can, that is.  Finally I’d had enough and called my mom and asked her to buy a couple of cans and mail them to me.  Now I was ready for the next time my boss came around talking about “fromage en bombe”.  I told him I had something for him and when I opened my desk drawer and  pulled out one of the cans, he was a little surprised, to say the least.  I finally talked him into letting me squirt a little pile of pasteurized American cheese on the end of his finger.  I can still remember his face as he tasted one of America’s great culinary experiences.  There was no need to worry though, one of my French colleagues got me back one day by bringing in “paté de tete”.  I was expecting something like “foie gras”, nice and smooth, but what I got was chunky.

I was lucky enough to work at a location that had a restaurant in a separate building on the plant site.  It had a full time chef.  It was where I really came to love French cooking …. NOT.  Real French cooking didn’t always make my mouth water especially once I found out what it was.  Lamb brain and calf’s head did not become my perennial favorites.  The chef would always tease “les americans,” saying we only ate the best parts of the animal and threw the rest away.

With all that said, make no mistake about it, the job I had in France has been one of the best experiences of my career.

(Please note that this post reflects our experience in the early 1990’s – I can’t speak for what anyone would experience today.)

40 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2010 7:21 am

    How funny! I had never heard of that hand shaking thing. It would drive me bananas! Of the one brief time I spent in Nice, I had a horrible time with the food. I’m picky anyway, but some of this stuff would come out on the plate, and I would say “there is NO WAY I can eat that”. Just stick with cheese and wine was my motto.

  2. January 24, 2010 7:26 am

    Great post. So, re the daily hand shaking, can you imagine doing that in this “swine flu world” we live in (at least in the US)?! They must have built strong immunities to such bugs.

  3. January 24, 2010 7:34 am

    Very interesting post! I had no idea about the value of handshaking! And as far as the food goes, I don’t blame him one bit!

  4. January 24, 2010 8:31 am

    Amazing guest post. Thank goodness the people I worked with in Guernsey and London didn’t require all that hand shaking. I’m a really, really adventurous eater, but there are some things I don’t need to try!

  5. January 24, 2010 9:01 am

    A most interesting post! I’d never heard that about the handshaking – I think I’d make it a point to be early, too. Sure makes it easy to make a huge cultural blunder! LOL.

    I’ve always been a tad skeptical about French food, and now I feel like my fears are validated. I’m sure there’s good stuff, but there’s definitely some that I would not want to put in my mouth even in ignorance!

  6. January 24, 2010 10:03 am

    OMG! I could never do that shaking the hands thing. It would drive me crazy. Especially if I created the social blunder you speak about. I’m glad to hear you loved working there. What an awesome experience.

  7. January 24, 2010 10:10 am

    I can’t imagine how difficult it was in the beginning to work in France with only a basic knowledge of the language. Your husband is a brave man, Kathy! Loved the guest post- thanks for asking him to share with us!

    • Carl permalink
      January 24, 2010 10:37 am

      Thanks for the kind words, but actually my wife was the brave one. I had work to go to every day. She was the one who had to deal with the every day struggles of life in another country where most things are different.

  8. January 24, 2010 11:33 am

    Thanks for the guest post Carl! That hand-shaking sounds like a lot of work…it had to have mentally exhausting!

  9. January 24, 2010 12:29 pm

    The handshaking thing is interesting. I had never heard of that. Thanks for sharing!

  10. January 24, 2010 12:42 pm

    Great post. And you got someone else to do the work for you. He did a good job, and it was funny too.Proper greetings are a serious things in most parts of the world. North Americans are shockingly relaxed about it and too familiar too quickly for most people. But live and learn. Enjoy the rest of your Sunday.

  11. January 24, 2010 12:52 pm

    This was so interesting to read! I’d never heard of the handshaking thing before.

  12. January 24, 2010 12:55 pm

    Thanks so much for writing this, Carl! Great idea to have him guest post, Kathy. These tickle me every time I read them.

  13. January 24, 2010 12:55 pm

    This was fascinating! Thanks for sharing – I learned a lot. 🙂

  14. January 24, 2010 2:21 pm

    I wouldn’t care for all that hand shaking and formality in the workplace, eweee and especially now (if it’s still like that) with H1N1).

  15. MeMe permalink
    January 24, 2010 2:31 pm

    Good article babe…….Remember the cheese in the can, but never knew why you wanted it..Do you remember the chocolate syrup for vance? Don’t remember how many bottles, think it was 4 and when I went to ship it, it cost $75.00. Needless to say the 4 lasted him as far as i know.. ….. Mom

  16. January 24, 2010 3:39 pm

    What a great post! Being from Quebec, I can really relate to the tu versus vous situations. You have to be careful but most times people can tell when someone is not a native speaker and will be forgiving and/or amused.

  17. January 24, 2010 4:17 pm

    lol, yes… Escargot and Foie Gras sounds much more appetizing than snails and duck liver. Mags already knew the snail one, but was watching a cooking show that was using foie gras and asked me what it was. She changed the channel right after I told her. It seems she had lost her appetite.

  18. January 24, 2010 4:43 pm

    I loved reading about the cheese in a can! I would love to have heard what he thought of it.

  19. January 24, 2010 5:48 pm

    Carl and Kathy, I had no idea that hand shaking was such a ritual at work in France. A bit odd, until you know the reason why it became a custom.

    As far as having coffee together after a long, “heated” debate, I saw that also in an Italian movie last night, Respiro. Seems they do the same sort of thing in Italy.

    Great guest post!

  20. January 24, 2010 6:49 pm

    Love the peek into working in France! The image of your squirting the Easy Cheese onto your bosses finger is a great one! I guess he didn’t ever like it enough to let you squeeze it into his mouth, huh?

  21. January 24, 2010 6:58 pm

    It was great to hear of your experience in France from Carl’s perspective. The work culture was certainly different from American but so interesting. I like the practice of greeting everyone to start the day. Thank Carl for sharing this with us.

  22. January 24, 2010 7:14 pm

    This post was fascinating!! Shaking everyone’s hand…I like that idea actually. I find that I like to say Good Morning to everyone when I show up. Maybe I need to live in France? French food does not sound so appetizing!! Did you save enough to pay your tax bill????

  23. January 24, 2010 7:16 pm

    I’ve not heard of the hand shaking either. Thanks for sharing, Kathy! It’s always so interesting to learn more about other cultures.

  24. January 24, 2010 8:37 pm

    Fascinating post! The handshaking sounds unusual and time consuming, but I’m sure there are things we Americans do that would astound them. Thanks for the great post Carl!

  25. January 24, 2010 9:29 pm

    This was a great post by Carl to get the other perspective of what work was like in France. Wow, hand shaking every morning sounds tiring! Plus, the germs…I wonder if they still do that? It’s fascinating to read about other cultures when we are so immersed in our own american culture. I loved the story about cheese in the can, that must have been funny to see the guys face! Oh my, I couldn’t eat the stuff they served in the restaurant either. Thanks for sharing your experience with us Carl!

  26. January 25, 2010 12:32 am

    This was such an interesting post. The Hand Shake thing was definitely funny, you could spend an hour of your work time doing just that 🙂

  27. January 25, 2010 7:10 am

    What an interesting post, I never knew any of these things! I’m so glad that hand-shaking like that is not required in the UK; in fact, work is basically the same there as in the US. I’m sure I’d go in early like Carl to avoid hand-shaking.

  28. January 25, 2010 7:27 am

    I would be so stressed about the hand shaking thing!!! And I think I shall refer to Easy Cheese as “fromage en bombe” from now on … what a great way to say it! I admire you for working in another country … it is hard enough to work where you know the customs. Another great edition to this series.

  29. stacybuckeye permalink
    January 25, 2010 10:35 am

    Love this post, Carl. In college our term for this yummy delight in a can was Sleazy Cheese and we loved it 🙂
    The thing I’m most worried about for our upcoming France trip is the food. I can stand to lose a few pounds, but my husband my float away if he skips too many meals!

  30. January 25, 2010 12:30 pm

    I love the spray cheese experience with his boss…hilarious. Thanks for sharing these.

  31. January 25, 2010 3:58 pm

    I can imagine that saving a bit of your paycheck to pay for taxes at the end of the year was a pretty hard thing to do! I can’t imagine it because it probably wouldn’t work well in our house. I also think it’s funny that you have to shake hands with everyone every morning! These posts about French life are always very interesting!

  32. January 25, 2010 6:14 pm

    I’d like to thank Carl for sharing this with us. I enjoyed reading about his experience in France. I can understand the last name calling and the formal-ness of it all. I still don’t understand what that American cheese is like though. =)

  33. January 25, 2010 6:38 pm

    Thanks for the post, Carl. It’s so interesting to hear about the experiences your family had in France. I can’t imagine trying to go around and greet everyone every day.

  34. January 26, 2010 11:35 am

    Great and funny post! I wouldn’t like French cooking either Carl, so you are not alone.
    What an experience and thanks for sharing. Very cool!

  35. luanne permalink
    January 26, 2010 5:25 pm

    Thanks for sharing Carl – I’ve really enjoyed hearing about your family’s time in France.

  36. January 26, 2010 5:26 pm

    Wow – it really was a lot more formal than most jobs I’ve had. I call my boss and director by their first names every day. It would be a pain to actually have to greet and shake hands with everyone..everyday..what a pain.

  37. January 27, 2010 3:21 pm

    Another great post. I love reading about how different things were there.

  38. January 28, 2010 1:48 pm

    Very interesting! Do they even still make spray cheese?

    –Anna

  39. January 31, 2010 1:36 pm

    I’ve never been to France but I have to say I’m not surprised they are formal at work. I am surprise at HOW formal they are though. How exhausting it must be to shake everyone’s hand every morning. Especially if you aren’t a morning person!

    It’s wonderful that Carl had the opportunity to experience the workplace in a foreign country. It must give him excellent perspective while working here.

Leave a comment