Skip to content

Review: Searching for Tina Turner

February 2, 2010

As the highest ranking black employee of TIDA, it seemed that Randall had it all.  Even though he enjoyed the power and the money the position brought, for him it wasn’t enough, and he didn’t intend to stop until he became the CEO.  The fact that his wife, Lena, had made sacrifices and given up her dreams for years, didn’t seem to matter to him.

While Randall is on a long business trip, Lena falls into a funk.  No one can understand why she’s not happy since she has everything money can buy.  But Lena wants more – she wants to do something for herself for a change.  When she buys a copy of Tina Turner’s autobiography, she finds strength in the singer’s life, and decides that she has to meet her.

Searching for Tina Turner by Jacqueline E. Luckett was a more serious book than I presumed from the title.  As someone who has put her husband’s career and her child’s well being first, I could really relate to Lena.  I’m lucky though, because my husband is supportive and considerate of me and my wishes, unlike Randall.

I’m here to tell you, I had quite a conversation with Randall while I read this book.  I told him a thing or two and called him a thing or two.  At one point, Carl looked at me, and said, “it’s only a book.”  I’ve met several men like Randall through the years, and I didn’t like a single one of them.

I really enjoyed Searching for Tina Turner and I loved that Lena found her inner strength and stayed true to herself.  She learned to let go and not try to do everything for everyone and actually let someone do something for her from time to time.  I do think this book will probably appeal more to middle aged women.

This mini-teaser give you an idea of what the book’s about:

Jacqueline E. Luckett will be interviewed on Blog Talk Radio today, February 2, 2010 at 6:00 PM Eastern Time.

Review copy provided by Hachette Books.   I am an Amazon Associate.
27 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 6:02 am

    I’ve known men like that too — I’m so glad I knew better than to hook up with someone who thought material goods = love. This does seem to have more substance that I would have thought.

  2. February 2, 2010 6:43 am

    The cover of the book and the title would imply something light-hearted, wouldn’t it? Well, I could also relate to any woman that has put her career aside to support her husband and kids. I wouldn’t have it any other way, but can completely understand how stressful it would be if my husband were an ass. It’s not always easy when they are nice!

  3. February 2, 2010 7:28 am

    That’s an interesting book. I’ve come across men like that too, and I didn’t like any of them either!

    I am fascinated by the cover — it indicates a chick-lit kind of book, but interesting to see that it is actually serious!

  4. February 2, 2010 7:49 am

    I totally thought this was a chick lit book! It’s good to know that there’s more substance there.

  5. February 2, 2010 8:06 am

    Your review speaks volume about the character development. I can’t remember the last time I talked back to a character. I think this would be a great book to read with I Tina (Tina T’s bio).

  6. February 2, 2010 10:47 am

    That cover gives me the heebie jeebies. Evidently the artist has never heard of Isadora Duncan!

  7. February 2, 2010 10:48 am

    I think this sounds interesting and I hadn’t heard of it before. Thanks for the review.

  8. February 2, 2010 12:01 pm

    I’m reading this now.

  9. February 2, 2010 12:31 pm

    I hadn’t heard of this title before your review. It sounds like a good one (although I’d be angry at Randall as well).

  10. February 2, 2010 12:39 pm

    I would have assumed it was less serious from the title too. I like when a book gets me riled up enough to be talking to the characters. Nice review.

  11. February 2, 2010 12:49 pm

    What a fantastic review! I love when you said you spoke to Randall!

  12. February 2, 2010 1:21 pm

    Good review!

  13. February 2, 2010 2:10 pm

    Sounds like an interesting read. You sound like me, I talk to the characters too! LOL!

  14. February 2, 2010 3:55 pm

    I’m very intrigued by what you wrote about this one…I may have to read it!!

  15. February 2, 2010 5:12 pm

    I love that you were telling Randall a thing or two out loud. He was an ***. I’m glad she made the decisions she did. Enjoyed your review!

  16. February 2, 2010 9:31 pm

    This sounds good! As others said, who knew it was a serious book?!! Thanks for the review!

  17. stacybuckeye permalink
    February 2, 2010 11:40 pm

    Any book that can make you talk back to it is worth a try 🙂

  18. February 3, 2010 8:28 am

    That is just such a mad title for a book and probably a very good selling point.

  19. February 3, 2010 12:41 pm

    Great review! This is a new to me book, so I will have to keep my eyes out!

  20. February 3, 2010 1:53 pm

    Yeah I talk to my books too when it has characters like that.

  21. February 3, 2010 4:06 pm

    I probably would not have picked up this book based on the title, but your review definitely makes me want to read it. Thanks!

  22. February 4, 2010 8:07 am

    I love Tina Turner. Would love to read this book. She is an inspiration. If I go throw one leg that high, I tell you what!

  23. February 4, 2010 2:56 pm

    I love that you had a conversation with this book!
    And I totally expected it to be a bio of Tina Turner.

  24. February 4, 2010 4:48 pm

    Great review! I have known a few men like that, and they are just pills to get along with. I find it so amusing that you were talking back to the book, I do that too sometimes! I am glad you enjoyed the book so much and am thinking about looking into it for a summer read. I am going to send a sample to my Kindle right now!

  25. February 4, 2010 7:57 pm

    I have the feeling I’d be telling him a thing or two as well. I get into books like that too; where I find myself talking out loud about whatever is going on. lol.

  26. February 10, 2010 1:25 pm

    Glad to know I’m not the only one who talks to their books!

  27. February 21, 2011 12:35 am

    Somewhere I had heard this title.I was attracted not only by the name, Tina
    Turner but since I have a student by the name of the main character,I decided to risk the read.I am enjoying as I write my own novel. Love knowing that others speak to characters.

Leave a comment