Skip to content

Wondrous Words Wednesday

February 3, 2010

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, and join the fun!  (Don’t forget to leave a link in the comments if you’re participating.)  All of my words this week came from my nifty Word-a-Day calendar.

1. videlicet – “The Mexican restaurant is famous for several dishes: videlicet, arroz con pollo, olla podrida, and carne asada.”

Videlicet is an adverb that means that is to say: namely.  The abbreviation of videlicet is viz.

_____________________________________________________

2. noetic – “The monthly magazine was packed with deep, well-wrought critical essays and challenging questins to satisfy the noetic appetites of its readers.”

Noetic is an adjective that means of, relating to, or based on the intellect.  There is a research institute in California by the name of the Institute of Noetic Sciences that studies the consciousness and the mind.

_____________________________________________________

3. advertent– “Marcia listened to everything we said with an advertent expression on her face, then proceeded to tell us, point by point, exactly why she disagreed with us.”

Advertent is an adjective that means giving attention: heedful.

_____________________________________________________

What new words have you encountered lately?

36 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 3:40 am

    Kathy,

    Do you realize that today’s meme is now exactly one year old? I’ve been counting and this is edition #52. Congratulations. I have cake at my place. Come on over.

    Joyfully Retired

  2. February 3, 2010 5:37 am

    I like the word – videlicet !!

  3. February 3, 2010 6:39 am

    Today’s Wondrous Wednesday is so fleshy! Everything essential to me! Especially videlicet. Thanks a lot Kathy! Happy Anniversary to the meme too!

  4. February 3, 2010 6:44 am

    Wow! All three of the words you’ve picked this week are ones I didn’t know, which is rare for me. That’s not to say I know all the words in the dictionary, just usually the ones in the average book. So this is probably one of my favorite Wondrous Words posts 🙂

    Videlicet is an unusual word and fun to say. Noetic makes sense, but I wouldn’t have guessed its meaning. Advertent I would’ve probably been able to work out, but it’s still a great word.

  5. February 3, 2010 7:45 am

    I’ve always wondered what ‘viz.’ stood for. It’s funny how you can use a word without really knowing what it means.

    http://dustandspores.blogspot.com/2010/02/wondrous-word-wednesday.html

  6. February 3, 2010 8:04 am

    I didn’t know any of these, though I’ve heard/read of ‘advertent’. Its meaning goes with how it sounds somehow.

  7. February 3, 2010 8:12 am

    I’ve heard of advertent too, but didn’t remember the meaning. That happens to me so often. I like “noetic”–maybe I can remember that one?

    I have two words here:

    http://lisanotes.blogspot.com/2010/02/wondrous-words-wednesday.html

  8. kaye permalink
    February 3, 2010 8:28 am

    That’s interesting about viz. I didn’t realize that was short for anything. Good ones this week. Where has the last year gone?

  9. February 3, 2010 8:38 am

    I knew what inadvertent meant, but I didn’t realize advertent was a word you could use! Great words today!

  10. February 3, 2010 8:40 am

    Oh my goodness. A year already!!! That’s fantastic!

    Here are my words: http://bookingmama.blogspot.com/2010/02/wondrous-words-wednesday-february-3.html

  11. February 3, 2010 8:45 am

    Ha, videlicet is a great word! Here are mine for this week: http://wordlily.com/2010/02/03/words-from-my-reading-34/

  12. February 3, 2010 9:15 am

    Wow…a year sure goes by fast! Great words this week.

  13. February 3, 2010 9:24 am

    great words today; both videlicet & noetic are new-to-me (have I mentioned that I LUV this exercise?!) A year already? My, time flies! lol…

    my WWW can be found here.

    Happy Reading everybody!

  14. February 3, 2010 9:43 am

    Noetic is my new favorite word!

  15. February 3, 2010 9:47 am

    you totally got me this week. no one I had a clue about.

  16. February 3, 2010 11:01 am

    Interesting – I don’t think I’ve ever seen viz spelled out!

  17. February 3, 2010 11:08 am

    Learned another 3 words..I love this meme..my vocabulary is growing…I only have 1 word this week and it is posted
    here

  18. February 3, 2010 11:42 am

    I’ve made my first contribution today –

    http://www.booksplease.org/2010/02/03/wondrous-words/

  19. February 3, 2010 11:49 am

    I haven’t heard these words before. I really like the sound of noetic though.

    Hope you don’t mind if I join in. 🙂 Here are my wondrous words from this week:

    http://www.winterwrite.com/archives/1068

  20. February 3, 2010 12:25 pm

    Nice – I have heard of any of these! I feel smarter already. 🙂

  21. February 3, 2010 12:40 pm

    Great words! What a fun meme!

  22. February 3, 2010 1:06 pm

    I really like “noetic” – there’s something so mysterious about it. And I just saw on Margot’s blog that it’s a year of Wondrous Words – happy birthday to this lovely meme of yours, Kathy!

  23. February 3, 2010 1:11 pm

    These are all new to me! I never knew there was more to “viz”; good to know.

  24. February 3, 2010 2:02 pm

    Kathy, these are terrific words to add to my list (yes, I really keep one).

    Here’s mine (warning, may make you hungry): http://suko95.blogspot.com/2010/02/wondrous-words-wednesday-whats-for.html

  25. February 3, 2010 2:22 pm

    Wow – I didn’t know any of this weeks words – the only one I was close on was advertent since I seem to use “inadvertent” often!

  26. February 3, 2010 3:03 pm

    I like the sound of the word “noetic” and had no idea what it meant. Thanks, Kathy!

  27. February 3, 2010 3:20 pm

    Adverent is definitely a word and an action I’d like to use! Here are my words…http://westietherapy.blogspot.com/2010/02/wondrous-words-home-another-way.html

  28. February 3, 2010 3:54 pm

    Those are good ones…maybe I could find a way to use #3??? 😀

  29. February 3, 2010 4:06 pm

    I’ve never even heard of that word before – I learned something new today! 🙂

  30. February 3, 2010 4:14 pm

    I hope I’m an “advertent” listener!

  31. February 3, 2010 11:48 pm

    I’m late, but it’s still Wednesday! My words are here.

  32. February 4, 2010 4:15 pm

    The first two are new to me.

  33. February 4, 2010 5:34 pm

    First time I’ve ever seen what viz stood for. Interesting!

Leave a comment