Skip to content

Wondrous Words Wednesday

March 31, 2010

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, and join the fun!  (Don’t forget to leave a link in the comments if you’re participating.)

My first two words this week come from The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien.

1. piasters– “He found a pouch of rice, a comb, a fingernail clipper, a few soiled piasters, a snapshot of a young woman standing in front of a parked motorcycle.”

A piaster is a thin metal plate, coin.

_____________________________________________________

2. mermite – “Twice a week, when the resupply choppers came in, they carried hot chow in green mermite cans and large canvas bags filled with ice beer and soda pop.”

Mermite isn’t in my dictionary, but according to Yahoo, a mermite can is an  insulated aluminum canister with a rubber gasket at the top which contain three sub-containers with lids.

_____________________________________________________

My third word this week comes from Get Lucky by Katherine Center.

3. recidivism– “And, also, the recidivism rate was atrocious.”

I felt like I should have known this one, but I didn’t.  Recidivism is a tendency to relapse into a previous condition or mode of behavior, especially relapse into criminal behavior.

_____________________________________________________

What new words have you encountered lately?

21 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2010 6:26 am

    I only knew #3 . Is mermite an Australian term??? reminds me of vegamite (sp?)

  2. March 31, 2010 7:29 am

    I have always been intrigued by that book. I must add it to my ‘to read’ list (if it’s not already on there). Recidivism is the only word I knew. Mermite is so interesting; I wonder what its origins are.

    My words this week came from The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (which I loved!):

    http://lisanotes.blogspot.com/2010/03/wondrous-words-wednesday_31.html

  3. March 31, 2010 7:52 am

    I had never heard of “recidivism” before, but it’ll be nice to know that word now! 🙂

    Here are my words:
    http://jennascribbles.blogspot.com/2010/03/wondrous-words-wednesday_31.html

  4. March 31, 2010 8:03 am

    Those are wonderful words and I didn’t know any of them. Hopefully I can get back in the groove of this fun meme next week!

  5. March 31, 2010 8:46 am

    Yay I actually know a word — recidivism. I knew my criminal justice class would come in handy for something!

  6. March 31, 2010 9:47 am

    I have a couple to share this week….

    Happy Reading, all!

  7. March 31, 2010 9:49 am

    Not only vegemite, but marmite! yuck!

  8. March 31, 2010 9:59 am

    Thank you…3 more words added to my vocabulary. Hopefully I will never have to use the word recidivism.

  9. March 31, 2010 10:58 am

    I’ve heard mermite before….

    I have only lonely word this week;
    http://fredasvoice.blogspot.com/2010/03/wondrous-words_31.html

  10. March 31, 2010 11:44 am

    Recidivism rang a bell with me too but I couldn’t define it. That happens to me often but I put it down to brain overload.

    My words for the week are HERE.

  11. March 31, 2010 12:37 pm

    I enjoyed reading your words for the week, Kathy. I only have a couple this week: http://suko95.blogspot.com/2010/03/wondrous-words-wednesday.html

  12. March 31, 2010 1:00 pm

    I am excited to say that for the first time in months, I knew one of your words – recidivism. It is sad when clients I work with relapse, but know it is part of growing and healing.

    Here are my words this week…
    http://westietherapy.blogspot.com/2010/03/wondrous-words-malicious-intent.html

  13. March 31, 2010 1:16 pm

    For some reason I’m in love with mermite. It just sounds good.

  14. March 31, 2010 3:01 pm

    recidivism I knew, so I am at my normal 25-33% rate.

  15. March 31, 2010 3:20 pm

    Once again, they’re all new to me!

  16. March 31, 2010 4:05 pm

    Interesting words. I like the way mermite looks and sounds.

  17. March 31, 2010 4:10 pm

    Good words, I haven’t heard of them before.

  18. March 31, 2010 11:09 pm

    Thank you, and thank Tim O’Brien; those are wonderful words (I did know the third one)! Always learn so much coming here.

  19. March 31, 2010 11:37 pm

    The only one I’ve heard of is recidivism.

Leave a comment