Skip to content

Wondrous Words Wednesday

April 14, 2010

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, and join the fun!  (Don’t forget to leave a link in the comments if you’re participating.)

My first  word this week come from The Postmistress by Sarah Blake.

1. chary– “There had been so many sensational and fake atrocity stories written about Germany during the First War, much of the press was chary of a story about deliberate, ominous action against the Jews now.”

Chary is an adjective that has several meanings.  The one that seems to fit this sentence the best is slow to grant, accept or expend.

_____________________________________________________

My second word comes from U is for Undertow by Sue Grafton.

2. choners – “I put on clean choners and then shimmied into the black tights and added a skirt.”

I could pretty much figure this one out from the context, but I wanted to be sure.  I had to go to the Urban Dictionary to find out that it means male or female underwear.

_____________________________________________________

My third word this week comes from Dogs are Better than Cats by Bradley Trevor Greive.

3. ailurophiles– “Smug ailurophiles never get tired of telling us that cats were once worshipped as gods.”

As you probably guessed, an ailurophile is a cat fancier; a lover of cats.

_____________________________________________________

What new words have you encountered lately?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2010 7:13 am

    All three of your words are new to me. And I didn’t guess ailurophiles, although I should have.

    I have three words here:

    http://lisanotes.blogspot.com/2010/04/wondrous-words-wednesday_14.html

  2. April 14, 2010 7:43 am

    I did know “ailurophile” and I’ve always been one. Had never heard “choner” before, though. What a strange word!

  3. April 14, 2010 10:01 am

    LoL…I had a “-phile” in my words this week, as well; ailurophile is a good one to know!

    You can see my list here

    Happy Wednesday, everybody!

  4. April 14, 2010 10:19 am

    I love all of your words. Each one is interesting especially the first one. I’ve never heard of any of these words. Thanks.

  5. April 14, 2010 10:22 am

    All three of these words were new to me as well.

    Here are my words this week…
    http://westietherapy.blogspot.com/2010/04/wondrous-words-skin-and-bone.html

  6. April 14, 2010 10:44 am

    I must admit, I don’t think I have ever come across these words before, so thanks for sharing this!

  7. April 14, 2010 11:14 am

    I knew chary, but not the other words. Mine are medieval words this week.

    http://www.booksplease.org/2010/04/14/wondrous-words-wednesday-king-arthurs-bones/

  8. April 14, 2010 11:17 am

    Kathy — I’ve never heard that word “chroners” — and I also learned from this post that I’m behind on Sue Grafton’s series. Gotta get my name on the library list for this one. she’s about to run out of letters! Margot over at Joyfully Retired pointed me to your Wednesday meme and I’ve really enjoyed it!

  9. April 14, 2010 11:23 am

    Three books = three new words. Very good. I like chary. That’s one I can use in conversations.

    I have two new words HERE.

  10. April 14, 2010 12:24 pm

    No clue what choners meant. Like you I could figure it from the sentence, but choners???

  11. April 14, 2010 12:38 pm

    I should have known ailurophiles, as I am one (but I also adore dogs).

    Chary (very cautious) was one of my WWW.

    Now as for choners, I ‘ve never heard of that one! 🙂

  12. April 14, 2010 1:07 pm

    Great words…oh how I want to read The Postmistress!

  13. April 14, 2010 2:50 pm

    Very interesting words this week!

    Again I have none.

  14. April 14, 2010 3:59 pm

    “Ailurophile”? I have a new adjective to describe myself 😛

  15. April 14, 2010 7:23 pm

    Kathy, I almost did this meme today–it’s one of my favorites as you know–but did a book review instead, partially because I only had one word:

    1.Balaclava (pronounced /ˌbæləˈklɑːvə/): form of headgear covering the whole head, exposing only the face or upper part of it, and sometimes only the eyes.

    I found this word in the book I Am the Messenger. I think I’ve seen it before on WWW, but I didn’t remember it and had to look it up. 🙂

  16. April 14, 2010 11:10 pm

    I’d never heard of choners before! SO weird.

  17. Steve permalink
    November 18, 2010 2:56 pm

    Why not write and ask Sue Grafton where she found that word or is it a mis-spelling?

  18. April 13, 2011 1:15 am

    I am a proud ailurophile, also a hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophile.

  19. Rudi Floyd permalink
    December 5, 2011 9:43 am

    So, I’m reading Grafton’s U is for Undertow and come across this word I’ve never seen before — choners. I decided to check Websters to no avail. All right, maybe Google will help. Imagine my surprise when one of the top references is your site and the passage I’m reading is highlighted. Too cool. Thanks for the explanation. 😊

  20. Glynn Lister permalink
    May 27, 2013 9:39 am

    I was reading U for Undertow today and had to come here (via search) to confirm what this new word meant.

Leave a comment