Skip to content

Review: The Heart Is Not a Size

April 22, 2010

By all outward appearances, Georgia has everything going for her – she’s a good student, she’s responsible and she has her share of friends.  Inwardly though, she struggles with anxiety, so when she notices a flyer looking for young people to travel to Juárez, Mexico to help the people there build community, she’s eager to go.

Georgia convinces her parents that it’s okay and talks her best friend, Riley, into going with her.  Upon arrival in Juárez, Georgia wonders what she’s gotten herself into.  After she settles in, the trip turns out to be one of self-discovery for her and she grows immensely while she’s there.

The Heart Is Not a Size is a fantastic book about growing up and discovering the world.  Georgia is a wonderful character and I hope there are many young people like her out there these days.  I think most teen-agers can relate to her insecurities and self-doubt and even her struggles with her best friend, Riley.  I know I could, and it’s been a long time since I was a teen-ager.  Georgia thought,

The heart is not a size, Sophie had said; and I knew she was right –  that there was no measure for the people we were becoming, no limit to what we might become.

The trip to Juárez turned out to be a life changing event for both Georgia and Riley and their experience really made me think – about how fortunate I am and about what I can do to help those who aren’t as fortunate.  It also served as a reminder to me that most people are the same no matter where they live.

I’m a big fan of Beth Kephart‘s work, so it was no surprise to me that I loved The Heart Is Not a Size.  Beth’s writing is so lyrical, I imagine she carefully considers each and every word in her books.   This is the third one of her books that I’ve read and I’ve found myself lost in each one of them.  This is a book that can be enjoyed by teen-agers and adults and I recommend it to both.

Check out the Facebook fan page and this great contest for The Heart Is Not a Size.

Challenges: Beth Kephart Reading Challenge, Books Won Reading Challenge
Shop Indie Bookstores

I won this book from Beth Kephart Books.   I am an Indiebound Affliate.

Bookmark and Share

41 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 5:26 am

    I really love your review. Want to read the book.

  2. April 22, 2010 6:21 am

    You made me cry.

    Thank you.

    b

  3. April 22, 2010 6:47 am

    I am so excited to read this book as part of her tour. I’ve heard so many wonderful things about her, and she is so present on the blogs, that I love her already.

  4. April 22, 2010 7:16 am

    Perfect review! Absolutely perfect!

  5. April 22, 2010 7:51 am

    I’ve heard so much about Beth Kephart, I really need to read one of her books! Thanks for a great review.

  6. April 22, 2010 8:00 am

    This book sounds awesome. I love books that show teenagers growing up. I would love to have travelled like Georgia when I was that age, so this type of book helps me relive my youth. I haven’t read any by Beth Kephart but I shall definitely look her up.

  7. April 22, 2010 8:02 am

    Kathy, lovely review. I enjoy reading about teens making good choices and also know that it is a time of transition. I have not read this author before but I fully intend to. This seems like a good place to start!

  8. April 22, 2010 8:35 am

    Must read this book! Great review, Kathy. I can’t wait until I can buy more books – this will definitely be on the list.

  9. April 22, 2010 8:42 am

    I love your review Kathy. I really enjoyed this book too. So many wonderful insights and observations on life and friendship!

  10. April 22, 2010 8:42 am

    I’ve only read one book by this author and am now even more eager to read everything by her.

  11. April 22, 2010 8:46 am

    Since I’ve started blogging to my delight I’ve rediscovered YA fiction. There are some real gems in the genre. This sounds like another one!

  12. April 22, 2010 8:58 am

    sounds wonderful! I’m glad you liked it so much!

  13. April 22, 2010 9:02 am

    Sounds great. I must admit that I haven’t heard of this author before and although I don’t read too many YA books, I will keep this one in mind, as it sounds wonderful!

  14. kaye permalink
    April 22, 2010 9:08 am

    Thanks for the wonderful review, this one sounds like something I would pick up for my granddaughter.

  15. April 22, 2010 9:26 am

    I really enjoyed this book as well. Great review!

  16. stacybuckeye permalink
    April 22, 2010 9:29 am

    I don’t think Ive read about this one before. It sounds great. I hope there are lots of young people like this too!

  17. April 22, 2010 9:54 am

    This sounds like another fantastic book from Kephart. I cannot wait to meet her at BEA!

  18. April 22, 2010 11:19 am

    Great review! This might make a nice book for my daughter and I to tackle as a joint read. It sounds like it would be satisfying to both of us, for different reasons. Thanks!

  19. April 22, 2010 11:41 am

    Kephart sounds like a wonderful writer. Terrific review, Kathy!

  20. April 22, 2010 11:47 am

    I like books where the characters have life-changing events. It sounds like the characters are quite lovable.

  21. April 22, 2010 12:39 pm

    Good review, sounds like something I would enjoy reading too.

  22. April 22, 2010 2:55 pm

    I need to get my hands on this! I love her writing too (in Nothing But Ghosts at least).

  23. April 22, 2010 3:07 pm

    What a terrific review. Thanks, Kathy!

  24. April 22, 2010 4:01 pm

    I’m a fan of hers also Kathy and this sounds like a great read!!

  25. April 22, 2010 4:02 pm

    Can’t wait to read this one — sounds fantastic! I’m a sucker for coming-of-age novels centering around teen girls. I guess because I was one?

  26. April 22, 2010 4:06 pm

    It definitely sounds like something my daughter would like. Thanks for letting me know that it would be appropriate.

  27. Kathleen permalink
    April 22, 2010 4:09 pm

    Sounds like a wonderful book. I think it would make a good movie too!

  28. April 22, 2010 4:10 pm

    I’ve seen this book around, and i’ve already added it to my wishlist. It seems like a book I would really enjoy.

  29. Patty permalink
    April 22, 2010 4:35 pm

    This author is new to me but I think I really want to read this book.

  30. Martha Lawson permalink
    April 22, 2010 4:48 pm

    I have never heard of this author. I really love finding new to me authors. After reading your review, I will be putting this one on my to buy list. It sounds like a wonderful book. Thanks for the great review.

  31. April 22, 2010 6:19 pm

    Great review!! This book sounds different from most YA books I read, so I will be checking it out!!

  32. April 22, 2010 8:32 pm

    I love the cover. Thanks for the review!

  33. April 22, 2010 8:41 pm

    I really enjoyed this one too! It was the first Kephart I read, but I look forward to reading more.

  34. April 22, 2010 11:21 pm

    I see Beth and her books all over the blogosphere…I really do need to read one of her books!

  35. April 23, 2010 2:56 am

    Lovely review! This sounds like a nice, heartwarming story.

  36. April 23, 2010 7:57 am

    I definitely am going to have to read some Kephart soon!

  37. April 23, 2010 1:11 pm

    I’ve got to read Beth’s books. I have her Ghosts book on my shelf and look forward to reading it. This sounds wonderful.

  38. April 23, 2010 5:59 pm

    I enjoyed Nothing But Ghosts so I feel confident that I’ll likely enjoy this one as well. Beth is a very eloquent writer!

  39. April 25, 2010 6:18 am

    This is definitely something I’d read, Kathy! Thanks for the review.

  40. April 25, 2010 6:21 am

    I have this book up for next month — I can’t wait to read it.

  41. April 26, 2010 2:57 pm

    Ah, Beth writes so beautifully, doesn’t she?

Leave a comment