Skip to content

Review and Days of Prey tour: Storm Prey

May 18, 2010

Lucas Davenport is the Chief Investigator for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension in Minnesota.  His wife, Weather is on the surgical team that is going to attempt to separate conjoined twins.  On the day the initial surgery is scheduled, the hospital pharmacy is robbed, and a pharmacist is murdered, so the surgery has to be canceled for the day.  Weather sees the thieves on her way into the hospital and helps the police draw a sketch of one of them.  Trying to cover their tracks, the robbers target Weather and some others, and things soon spiral out of control.

Along with the local police, Lucas and his team investigate the robbery and murder, and slowly unravel the mystery, but not before more crimes are committed.

Storm Prey, by John Sandford, is the 20th in his Prey series, featuring Lucas Davenport.  I’ve been a fan of this series for years, so my expectations were high and I was not disappointed!  I love Lucas – even though his methods are sometimes questionable, he gets the job done and he’s fiercely loyal.  The mystery in this series isn’t who committed the crime, but rather, how they’ll get caught.  This book was so much fun – it’s action packed and got my blood pumping at times!  I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough.  Lucas and some of the other characters in this book feel like old friends to me, so I was thrilled to find this book a sold addition to this series.

Even though this is part of a series, it stands alone great.  If you’re a fan of the series, you won’t want to miss it.  If you’ve never read this series and enjoy mystery/suspense novels, you’ve got to give it a try!

_______________________________________________________

Title and series number of the book you read:

Storm Prey is the 2oth book in the series.

Year published:

2010 – today, as a matter of fact!

Tell us about Lucas Davenport:

  • What is Lucas doing when he first appears in the book? Set up the scene.   Weather has gone to bed early in anticipation of surgery the next morning.  Lucas comes to bed later, but wakes up enough to wish her luck as she’s leaving for the day.
  • Give us a sense of time and place.  Storm Prey takes place in and around the Twin Cities of Minnesota in the present day.
  • Lucas’s occupation or professional role? Lucas works for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (state police).
  • Lucas’s personal status (single, dating, married): Lucas is married to Weather Karkinnen.
  • Lucas Davenport is a known clothes-horse; did you notice any special fashion references?  There are several, but my favorite reference was this one:

He (another doctor on the separation team) and her husband, Lucas, who got along improbably well, once spent an hour talking about men’s fashion, nearly driving Weather crazy with the inanity of it.  She’d said, “Fifteen minutes on loafers?  Loafers?”

“We were just getting started,” Lucas said.  She wasn’t sure he was joking.

Let’s talk about the mystery:

  • Avoiding spoilers, what was the crime/case being solved? Several men break into the hospital’s pharmacy and unintentionally murder someone.  As they try to cover their tracks, things spiral out of control.
  • Does the title of your book relate to the crime?  I would say it does.  A snowstorm affects the crime and the investigation.

Who was your favorite supporting character, good or evil?

I’d have to say Weather – she was determined to do her job no matter the danger, plus she doesn’t put up with anything from Lucas.

What was your favorite scene or quote?

I really liked the final scene of the book, when Lucas, Virgil and Joe Mack are having a beer together – it really shows the human side of the police.

Finally, how do you envision Lucas Davenport? If he were to be portrayed in a movie, what celebrity would play him?

This is a tough question!  I have a picture of Lucas in my head and can’t think of an actor who resembles it.  I think I’m going to have to agree with Lesa and Jenn and go with Hugh Jackman.

Review copy provided by Penguin Books for this TLC Book Tour.


Bookmark and Share

30 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2010 5:38 am

    oh, I’ll have to check out this series. I’m actually new to mystery/suspense novels. They never appealed to me before, but i’ve read a few recently and really enjoyed them.

    Happy Reading!

  2. May 18, 2010 5:46 am

    I enjoyed this one too, even though I don’t think it is the best in the series. I absolutely LOVE Weather. I’m always pleased when she is prominently featured. She doesn’t take any of Lucas’ crap. My review is coming this Thursday.

  3. May 18, 2010 7:41 am

    I haven’t read a John Sanford..”Lucas Davenport” in ages but after your review, I need to pick up one of them again.
    CMash

  4. DanaB permalink
    May 18, 2010 8:00 am

    I have so enjoyed this series in the past–it’s been awhile! I’m eagerly anticipating the latest…already on reserve at my library, whenever they get a copy in!
    ~

  5. May 18, 2010 8:46 am

    20th book in the series — incredible! I might have read one many, many years ago, but I’m not sure. I bet Booking Pap Pap would like this novel.

  6. May 18, 2010 9:15 am

    20 books in the series…I don’t know, but I think it is very hard to sustain a series that long. Now I admit I have not read a “Prey” book in awhile, in fact since pre-Weather, but maybe it it is time to revisit it.

  7. May 18, 2010 9:32 am

    I haven’t read the Prey series yet. 20 books to catch up with.. Wow! I’m impressed that this series continues to be good!

  8. May 18, 2010 9:36 am

    I have only read one John Sanford and really liked it, although I can’t remember AT ALL what it was about! But I do remember it was quite a page turner!

  9. May 18, 2010 10:07 am

    Great review, sounds like an interesting book and series. I’ve added this to my wish list.

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress

  10. May 18, 2010 10:43 am

    I just added this one to my TBR list, thanks Kathy.

    I haven’t read this series but I will read this one and go back if I enjoy it as much as you did.

  11. May 18, 2010 11:02 am

    so cool to know that even 20 books in, this series continues to impress! I loved your review, and will be thinking about trying one of these books. So glad you had a good time with it and that you shared this tour with us!

  12. May 18, 2010 11:22 am

    Sound like a series I’ll want to check out. My husband and I both read Vince Flynn’s series and CJ Box’s series, and we end up needing more books while we wait for the next ones.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

  13. May 18, 2010 11:44 am

    How I missed a series set in Minnesota is beyond me but I’m going to rectify that soon. Great review!

  14. May 18, 2010 11:44 am

    20th book in the series and it is still great? That’s an excellent recommendation. That doesn’t happen often. I guess I’ll have to try John Sanford.

  15. May 18, 2010 11:48 am

    This sounds like a great mystery series. I’m glad you enjoyed it. Your review is wonderful. 🙂

  16. May 18, 2010 12:41 pm

    I saw this book in the bookstore the other day and I was debating getting it or not, but since it was part of a series I decided not to get it. Would I miss much if I read the series out of order? It’s so hard to find all the books in a series especially when there’s already 20 books out!

  17. May 18, 2010 1:46 pm

    I’ve never read any in this series, but I’ve thought before that it is one I would enjoy. Glad to see this can be read as a stand alone. It’s kind of a long series to have to start at the beginning.

  18. May 18, 2010 8:21 pm

    I’ve seen this tour around and each time I think “I guess I should read this series … it has been around a long time and people seem nuts for it.” I’m thinking that once again!

  19. Kathleen permalink
    May 18, 2010 8:39 pm

    Storm Prey sounds great. I really enjoyed my first Sanford novel, Shadow Prey. I love Hugh Jackman and sure wouldn’t mind seeing him play Lucas!

  20. May 19, 2010 8:40 am

    This sounds like a great read. I love knowing if a series book can be read by itself. I know that I won’t be able to read 19 books to get to this one so it is nice to know that I don’t have to.

  21. May 19, 2010 8:55 am

    The Prey series scares me half to death. I know, I sound like a real wimp, but it bothers me when the bad guy is a psychopath and unpredictable. I’ve read several in the series and actually I think there’s another on my TBR shelves, but I shrink from another stab at it. That’s probably why most people like Sandford; the books really get to you.

  22. May 19, 2010 9:50 am

    I LOVE IT!! Having only read one in the series so far (Night Prey), hearing about this one is like going forward in a time machine. In Night Prey, Weather and Lucas aren’t even engaged yet.

    Great review! Thank you so much for being on this tour, Kathy. I’m so happy to hear the latest in the series lives up to the hype!

  23. May 19, 2010 12:28 pm

    Yeah for the John Sandford Tour. Introduced a lot of people to him, including myself and I’m looking forward to reading the series. Will probably take me a while to work through all 20, but looking forward to it. I love reading series and seeing how the character grows through out.

  24. May 19, 2010 7:43 pm

    I knew it would be good!!

  25. May 19, 2010 10:06 pm

    I’m thrilled to read that you enjoyed this one. I found his last one lacking and I was so sad to think that his writing may become stale…glad to hear that I have something to look forward to!! Yay!! 😀

  26. May 20, 2010 1:59 am

    Hugh Jackman sounds perfect choice for the character! I’m glad you enjoyed this one and I think I would too.

  27. May 20, 2010 7:34 pm

    I love this series! I’m like you and can’t quite picture who I think the best actor would be to play Lucas. I’m not totally sure about Hugh Jackman since the Lucas i picture is a bit more…something! 😉 Great review!

  28. May 20, 2010 11:59 pm

    Glad you enjoyed it. I never heard of this series until the tour. I’ll keep it in mind.

    –Anna

  29. May 23, 2010 2:49 pm

    I really enjoyed being a part of this tour and look forward to going back to the first book in the series and getting to know Lucas from the beginning. I can’t believe I waited so long to give this series a try!

  30. May 31, 2010 1:01 pm

    I’ve got a ways to go before I catch up, but I’m giving it a go. 🙂 I think I’m on #4.

Leave a comment