Skip to content

BEA/NY Day 1

June 5, 2010

I hope you’re not tired of BEA posts, since I’m just getting started with mine!  I arrived in New York bright and early on the morning of Monday, May 24 – as a matter of fact, my plane took off early and landed early – ready to have some fun.  Of course, it was too early to check in to my hotel, so I left my luggage there, and headed to Times Square to people-watch while I waited for Julie to arrive.   Once Julie got there, our first order of business was to grab a bite to eat, so we headed to John’s Pizza for a great lunch.  It was nice to sit down and catch up a little bit before our whirlwind adventures began!

After lunch, we headed to Scholastic to tour their offices.    We got there early and decided to check out the store and ran into this cute bunch of bloggers:

(l to r: Julie, Serena, The Girl, Anna and Swapna)

Tyler, Becky and Mandy did a great job with the tour.  I was impressed with all of the original artwork on the walls throughout their offices, especially when I found out that it was all created by artists who are eighteen and under.  We passed Rick Riordan who was busy signing books and he was kind enough to pop up and say hi to us.  The adorable Aimee Friedman was nice enough to speak to us, answer questions and sign books for us – she’s at the bottom left in the group photo.

From Scholastic, Julie and I headed over to Hachette to tour their offices.   We were greeted by the lovely Miriam Parker, and it was so good to see her again – I’m so excited for her in her new role!  Hachette’s offices felt a little more formal than Scholastic’s, but the people there were warm and friendly – Reagan Arthur even popped out of a meeting for a few minutes to greet us!

After the tour of Hachette, we grabbed a bite to eat and decided to take advantage of New York Book Week and attend an author panel.  We attended the “Sunny Days and Starry Nights” Summer Reading Celebration and heard several authors read from their books and discuss great summer reading.

From left to right are Jenny Han, Katherine Howe, Michael Koryta, Samantha Bruce-Benjamin, Ilie Ruby and Brando Skyhorse.  After listening to these authors, I’m excited about all of their books!

We knew we could walk back to our hotel from the Time Warner Center – when we came out and tried to get our bearings, we were able to amuse a New Yorker with our lack of direction, but did find someone to help us.  We got back to our hotel ready to collapse since we knew Tuesday was going to be even busier!

40 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2010 7:07 am

    Sounds like you guys hit NYC running — tours, meetings, author events — and all in a half day!

  2. June 5, 2010 7:48 am

    Great recap. I downloaded the pictures! You got some good ones! Thanks for being my roomie!

  3. June 5, 2010 8:08 am

    Sounds like it was a great trip.

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress

  4. June 5, 2010 8:11 am

    I love to read about the the adventures at the BEA in New York. Each person tells about their adventure in a different way. I’m glad you’re willing to share your experiences. Thanks.

  5. June 5, 2010 8:11 am

    I’ll probably never be able to go to BEA so I will never get tired of reading these posts! I feel like I’m there even though I am not! I’m enjoying reading about the books, food and fun everyone had! Thanks for sharing your experience with all of us!

  6. June 5, 2010 8:19 am

    I’m just getting started with my NY posts, too. It took awhile to recover.

  7. June 5, 2010 8:40 am

    Sounds like a perfect day!!

  8. Kaye permalink
    June 5, 2010 9:34 am

    Looks like a good time was had by all judging by the smiling faces. Great post!

  9. June 5, 2010 9:35 am

    You just keep giving recaps, because I love them. I will never get tired of them, because everybody had slightly different schedules. I think it is very cool that you were able to meet Reagan Arthur!

  10. June 5, 2010 9:48 am

    Me too with Sandy. I am totally not tired of the recaps – I love them!

  11. June 5, 2010 9:54 am

    Ooh, thanks for posting those pictures! I’ve yanked them since I didn’t really take any. 🙂

  12. Julie H. permalink
    June 5, 2010 10:11 am

    Keep the posts about your adventures coming! I love hearing about everything in NY!

  13. June 5, 2010 12:17 pm

    Kathy, I’m glad you were able to attend this great-sounding event. Your pictures are wonderful and I enjoyed reading about your adventures.

  14. June 5, 2010 12:24 pm

    Keep on telling us about your NYC trip. I love hearing about it. It sounds like you had a fabulous time.

  15. June 5, 2010 1:55 pm

    great recap! i can’t get enough of all the bea stories so i’m looking forward to reading how the rest of your week in ny went.

  16. June 5, 2010 2:23 pm

    How much fun are you having?!

  17. June 5, 2010 3:13 pm

    That was a busy day! If you’d have had to leave right after this day, it would have been a great trip!

  18. June 5, 2010 4:10 pm

    I’m having so much fun looking through everyone’s BEA posts! Looks like you enjoyed a lot!

  19. June 5, 2010 6:54 pm

    I’m still working on my BEA posts as well, haha. Though at this point I don’t know that there is much more I can add to that conversation that hasn’t already been said.

    It was such a pleasure to meet you in person. Hopefully next year we’ll be able to spend a bit more time gabbing 🙂

  20. Kathleen permalink
    June 5, 2010 7:15 pm

    I am definitely NOT tired of the BEA posts. I love living vicariously through all of your posts, pictures, and hope to go next year myself!

  21. June 5, 2010 8:37 pm

    Looks like you had a great time!!! I’m not tired of BEA posts, I love seeing all the pictures and hearing about everyone’s trip.

    BTW:
    Sorry to hear about your dad. Will keep him in my prayers.

  22. June 5, 2010 11:46 pm

    I wish I would have toured some of the Publishing houses… hope that is offered next year. It is fun to read about your adventures and see the great pics.

  23. June 6, 2010 6:53 am

    Don’t worry, not tired yet! I love how happy you all look in the pictures.

  24. June 6, 2010 12:17 pm

    I enjoy your posts Kathy since I couldn’t be there myself. Looks and sounds like you had a good time.

  25. June 6, 2010 2:04 pm

    Sigh. Are you serious? Another BEA post? 😉

    Just kidding, of course. I love the posts and the pictures to make me jealous of y’all in that I couldn’t go…

    …er, yeah, thanks a lot, lady. 🙂

  26. June 6, 2010 2:07 pm

    Sounds like you had a wonderful time! Thanks for sharing it all! I’m taking notes for next year, when I hope to experience the whole week and not just a quick day trip!

    Have a great week!

  27. June 6, 2010 8:30 pm

    How wonderful … and we visited the Scholastic Book Store and it was so well decorated … haven’t gotten to tour it of course.

  28. June 6, 2010 10:18 pm

    I enjoyed reading all the BEA posts! Glad you guys had a wonderful time!

  29. June 7, 2010 7:48 am

    So there is a real Regan Arthur? Cool!

    Nice recap of the BEA & please post more!

  30. June 7, 2010 10:24 am

    It looks and sounds like you had an amazing time out there! I also would love to hear more!!

  31. June 7, 2010 1:21 pm

    We ate at John’s Pizza as well. It was delicious. Looks like you had a full first day!

  32. June 7, 2010 3:16 pm

    I love hearing about everyone’s BEA experiences. Wish I could have been there.

  33. June 8, 2010 8:19 pm

    Nope not tired of hearing about it – although I read day 2 first!

  34. June 9, 2010 1:54 am

    I love the group photos! It looks like you had an awesome first day.

  35. June 9, 2010 9:14 am

    Sounds like a wonderful experience!

  36. June 9, 2010 3:54 pm

    Definitely not tired yet! Keep these posts coming 🙂

  37. stacybuckeye permalink
    June 11, 2010 11:06 pm

    What a great first day!

  38. June 15, 2010 7:50 am

    Wow – you never rest, do you?!?

    I had looked at that Borders event – lots of great authors in the line-up! Have you read Ilie Ruby’s novel? I love how she integrated so much Native American lore and traditions into the contemporary story.

  39. June 15, 2010 12:47 pm

    It was so great seeing you again!

    –Anna

  40. Patty permalink
    June 5, 2014 9:55 am

    It sounds awesome!

Leave a comment