Skip to content

Review: The Opposite of Me

June 12, 2010

Lindsey Rose has always felt inferior to her fraternal twin sister, so she’s always pushed herself to work harder and be better.  She’s on the fast track to becoming a vice president at the advertising agency she works for.  After being told the job is hers, she finds out that the underhanded tactics of a rival have cost her the position.

Lindsey is devastated and does something totally out of character and finds herself fired from the company she has given up her life for.  Not knowing what else to do, she returns to her parents’ home to try to put her life back together.  After a few set-backs, she discovers happiness in some unexpected places.

The Opposite of Me by Sarah Pekkanen is so much fun!  It is funny and full of heart, and even has a great message to follow your dreams where they take you.

I think a lot of women can relate to Lindsey – she’s smart and capable, but still full of self doubt.  She searches for confirmation of her abilities and negatively compares herself to her gorgeous sister.

I thought the relationship between Lindsey and her (fraternal) twin sister, Alex, was realistic, too.  They loved each other but were also competitive with each other and didn’t always communicate well.

I’m not sure how to classify this book – I think it falls somewhere between chick lit and women’s fiction.  In case you can’t tell, I thoroughly enjoyed this witty, well written book and do recommend it.  Oh, and I have to mention that Sarah includes book bloggers in her acknowledgments!

Challenges: The Debutante Ball Reading Challenge

I won this book in a BBAW giveaway.  I am an Indiebound Affiliate.

Shop Indie Bookstores


Bookmark and Share

34 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2010 6:23 am

    Sounds like a really great book! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  2. June 12, 2010 6:24 am

    I love to read about twins. This twin in “The Opposite of Me” really had a bunch of obstacles in her way. Would like to read it.

  3. June 12, 2010 7:05 am

    A lot of writers are managing to do a nice mix of both these day. Glad to find another good one to have on my list to explore.

  4. June 12, 2010 7:26 am

    It does sounds like a fun book to read! Love books about sisters/ family!

  5. June 12, 2010 7:27 am

    I enjoyed this one as well. I went to the author’s book signing and had the chance to speak with her for awhile. She was very down to earth and I liked her immediately. Definitely looking forward to reading her second book.

  6. kaye permalink
    June 12, 2010 7:30 am

    Sounds like a good read and I’m so glad you enjoyed it. It’s nice that the author has acknowledged bloggers.

  7. June 12, 2010 7:42 am

    I’ve got this one sitting on my shelf just waiting for the perfect time. Hope that is soon. Glad you enjoyed it, Kathy.

  8. June 12, 2010 8:20 am

    I really enjoyed this one too! I’m looking forward to more of Sarah’s books!

  9. June 12, 2010 8:27 am

    I read only your last paragraph because I plan to start this today or tomorrow. Glad it’s a good one.

  10. June 12, 2010 8:33 am

    This sure sounds like a good book. I liked your description about Lindsey. I have added it to my TBR list…

    Thanks
    Arch

    http://archanaskorner.blogspot.com

  11. June 12, 2010 9:20 am

    I bought this a couple of months ago. My oldest daughter grabbed it and took it home with her. She loved it and passed it on to my younger daughter who also liked it. I hope to read it soon. Nice review.

  12. June 12, 2010 9:55 am

    I really enjoyed this book too Kathy. Cant wait to see what she comes out with next! 🙂

  13. June 12, 2010 10:03 am

    I’ve heard so many good things about this. Personally, I feel if a book isn’t *obviously* “chick lit” then it isn’t! If you know what I mean… :–)

  14. June 12, 2010 12:04 pm

    I love chicklit! This sounds even better now!

  15. June 12, 2010 12:34 pm

    Great review, Kathy. This sounds like my kind of book. I am always fascinated by twins’ stories.
    🙂 🙂

  16. June 12, 2010 1:35 pm

    This sounds great. I find it so hard to classify a lot of women’s fiction these days.

  17. June 12, 2010 3:13 pm

    Terrific review, Kathy! I really enjoyed reading Sarah’s book too.

  18. June 12, 2010 5:33 pm

    I am really going to enjoy reading this…

  19. June 12, 2010 5:53 pm

    So glad to hear this one is so good. I need to get to reading it.

  20. June 12, 2010 5:55 pm

    great review! the book sounds like something i would really enjoy reading. i’m definitely adding it to my wishlist.

  21. June 12, 2010 7:03 pm

    This is a new to me author and it sounds terrific.

  22. June 12, 2010 8:21 pm

    This does sound like a good one, Kathy. Lindsey sounds like a character I could really relate to.

  23. Hannah permalink
    June 13, 2010 1:43 am

    To be honest, I wasn’t expecting much beginning this, but as I finished, my thoughts were pretty clear: I thought this was great!
    Thanks for the review!
    Love, Hannah

  24. June 13, 2010 3:02 am

    This book sounds so good – plus, I enjoy books with sisters. I’m glad you enjoyed it, I’ll have to read this one for sure!

  25. stacybuckeye permalink
    June 13, 2010 5:40 pm

    I’ve been seeing good things about this one and it’s a bonus that she acknowledges book bloggers 🙂

  26. June 13, 2010 6:26 pm

    What is the difference between women’s fiction and chick lit? I’m also so confused by these terms!!!

  27. June 13, 2010 6:50 pm

    Your review was top-notch and I so want to read this one!! 😀

  28. Nita Birnbaum permalink
    June 14, 2010 2:10 am

    Sounds like a great summer read:)

  29. June 14, 2010 9:20 am

    I have been hearing a lot about this book, and really think it sounds like something I would enjoy. I like the fact that the protagonist is such a human and humble person, and that she is really easy to relate to. I am going to add this book to my ever growing wish list. Thanks for the very insightful review, Kathy!

  30. June 14, 2010 10:59 am

    I picked this one up from my office’s “take a book, leave a book” box and can’t wait to read it! That cover is so eye-grabbing, too.

  31. June 14, 2010 6:37 pm

    This does sound good. I’ll have to check into it.

  32. June 14, 2010 8:47 pm

    I can relate to the sibling rivalry and the self doubt. This sounds like a good one.

  33. June 15, 2010 10:15 am

    I definitely have this one on my radar! I think I will relate to Lindsey, in a way it reminds me of Sophie Kinsella’s ‘Remember Me?’.

  34. June 15, 2010 11:01 am

    Another one to add to the list. (I’m thinking I have more books on that list than I could read in a lifetime, but that’s besides the point.)

    –Anna

Leave a comment