Skip to content

Wondrous Words Wednesday

June 23, 2010

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, and join the fun!  (Don’t forget to leave a link in the comments if you’re participating.)

My first word this week came from Sea Change by Aimee Friedman.

1. sfumato – “Nice use of sfumato.”

From the larger context of this word, I knew it was related to art, but I didn’t know exactly how.  Sfumato means the definition of form in painting without abrupt outline by the blending of one tone into another.  I discovered that Leonardo da Vinci used this technique when painting the Mona Lisa.

_____________________________________________________

My next two words are from The Queen of Palmyra by Minrose Gwin.

2. epizootic – “Everybody loved him and loved his catnip tea, which could cure the epizootic.”

Epizootic is an outbreak of disease affecting many animals of one kind at the same time; also the disease itself.

_____________________________________________________

3. succor– “I could be a succor in time of trouble.”

I thought I knew the definition of this word, but I thought it was a verb, so I looked it up.  I discovered that when used as a noun, succor means aid, assistance or relief.

_____________________________________________________

Have you discovered any new words lately?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2010 6:35 am

    Good words, I have seen the last word too. I have read it often. Thought I knew the meaning. Why did I think that?

    I am going to put up my words or words now. A little bit backwards this mor

  2. June 23, 2010 7:14 am

    Those first two words are terrific! I’m finally back – here’s my list:

    http://bookingmama.blogspot.com/2010/06/wondrous-words-wednesday-june-23-2010.html

  3. June 23, 2010 7:49 am

    Whoa, you’ve got some fun words here! Here are mine: http://wordlily.com/2010/06/23/words-from-my-reading-46/

  4. June 23, 2010 8:33 am

    As usual although I have never heard of any of these words this is a very informative post.

  5. June 23, 2010 8:51 am

    Succor is the only word I’ve heard of. The other two look like they have too many letters. ha. Great finds!

    My words are here:

    http://lisanotes.blogspot.com/2010/06/wondrous-words-wednesday_23.html

    They’re all from A Severe Mercy.

  6. June 23, 2010 9:07 am

    Are we sure that 1 and 2 are even English?? 😀 LOL!!

  7. June 23, 2010 9:49 am

    Years and years ago people used to use the word epizootic in a personal way. Generally they meant either flu-like symptoms or just a case of the blahs. People would say, “I’ve got a bad case of the epizooties.” The words must come from the same source.

    I have some new words this week. Find them at Joyfully Retired.

  8. June 23, 2010 10:16 am

    I have seen succor many times also but never realized it’s true meaning. Thanks for sharing the new words today!

  9. June 23, 2010 10:17 am

    Sfumato–I love that word!

    My words are here

  10. June 23, 2010 10:35 am

    More new words! The only one I knew was succor. I love sfumato – sounds like something you’d order in an Italian restaurant.

  11. June 23, 2010 12:30 pm

    What fun!! I love discovering these fun, interesting new words!

  12. June 23, 2010 2:01 pm

    These are great additions to my vocab list. I remember the art term from my days in art history, but will add it to my list anyway. Thanks!

  13. June 23, 2010 3:45 pm

    I’d have recognised “succor” because it’s similar to our “socorro” (which means the same).

  14. June 23, 2010 7:02 pm

    SO educational!

  15. June 23, 2010 7:17 pm

    Succor, I know.

    The rest, um, not so much. Cool finds.

  16. June 24, 2010 9:29 am

    Don’t you think if someone said outloud “I could be a succor in time of trouble” that you could think it could mean “sucker” and it would sound like it made sense!

    • June 25, 2010 6:42 am

      Hmm, how is this word pronounced? I think I best run along and look(heat?) it up.

  17. June 25, 2010 12:00 pm

    You do find the best odd and unusual words…did you get my link about YA fiction for this summer…

  18. June 25, 2010 5:54 pm

    Two out of three are new to me. I love epizootic. I have been away from Wondrous Words for many weeks, but I’ll be back soon now that I’m feeling better. If I could just get my dogs to heal…that would really make me happy. Thanks for the new words. 🙂

Leave a comment