Skip to content

Wondrous Words Wednesday

July 28, 2010

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, and join the fun!  (Don’t forget to leave a link in the comments if you’re participating.)

My first two words this week came from The Messenger of Athens by Anne Zouroudi.

1.tilth – “Too afraid of spying eyes to stop on the road, he slowed to a crawl as he passed the terraces; he saw the hard ground worked into tilth, the seedlings planted out in mounded rows, and in the corners, already blooming, pale-blue flowers he was too far away to identify.”

Tilth means cultivated land.

_____________________________________________________

2. chivvy – “A grandmother chivvied a grizzling toddler”

I love the sound of this word!  Chivvy means to chase or hunt.

_____________________________________________________

My last word this week comes from Vivienne’s blog, Serendipity, in a post she wrote about gardening.

3. secateurs– “There was I with my secateurs, thinking I will easily cut it back – it ended up with hubby having to buy an electric chainsaw to cut the branches which were as wide as the top of my arm.”

Secateurs is chiefly British and it means pruning shears – it’s usually used in the plural.

_____________________________________________________

Have you discovered any new words lately?

32 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2010 4:07 am

    Chivvy sounds like something you’d do in prison…

  2. July 28, 2010 4:41 am

    I know all the words and have used chivvy in my poetry too.

    Here are my wondrous words!

  3. July 28, 2010 5:39 am

    The middle-aged woman in an English novel (genteel type mostly) goes into the garden with secateurs. She also usually carries a trug.

  4. July 28, 2010 7:10 am

    If you haven’t read this book…it is perfect for us.

    The Professor and the Madman A Tale of Murder, Insanity, and the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary by Simon Winchester

    See my review on my blog.

    I just started the blog, so it isn’t that exciting. 🙂

  5. July 28, 2010 7:27 am

    OOPS…my blog didn’t show….so here is my blog URL and also the review:

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com/ – nothing great…just getting started

    The Professor and the Madman

    This book is excellent for any word lover, but is a bit stilted and detailed.

    It was very clever how the author put a page from the dictionary as the beginning of each chapter and the subject of that chapter dealt with the word. From page 220…”The total length of type–all hand-set, for the books were done by letterpress, still discernible in the delicately impressed feel of the inked-on paper–is 178 miles, the distance between London and the outskirts of Manchester.”

    Dr. Minor, the madman, was an interesting character and the perfect person to “write” the English Oxford Dictionary…the professor, (Professor Murray) was perfect as well. You feel sorry for Dr. Minor in his circumstances, but rejoice at what he did.

    His death and burial are described as this: From Page 219…”Dr. William Minor, who was among the greatest of contributors to the finest dictionary in all the English language, died forgotten in obscurity, and is buried beside a slum.”

    It isn’t of high interest, but keeps you reading because of the history.

    I was wavering between a 2 and a 3 but am going with 3/5 rating.

  6. July 28, 2010 7:35 am

    “Chivvy” is my favorite of the three, also. Especially with combined with a “grizzling” toddler. {smile} Words are such fun.

    I have 4 words here from “Pride and Prejudice”:

    http://lisanotes.blogspot.com/2010/07/wondrous-words-wednesday_28.html

  7. July 28, 2010 7:44 am

    I always enjoy dropping by on Wednesdays for new words. It’s both educational and entertaining.

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress

  8. July 28, 2010 7:48 am

    Well, I’ve heard the second two. “Chivvy” is a popular word in some parts of the South – heard it a lot when I lived in Louisiana. But “tilth” is new, and I love it!

  9. July 28, 2010 8:08 am

    I knew chivvy already, but what does grizzling mean?

  10. July 28, 2010 8:12 am

    secateurs – I laughed when I saw this word.

    I was in Scotland and the security person at the airport in his thick Scottish accent asked me if I had secateurs in my purse.

    I said: Excuse me, I am not sure what you are saying. He repeated it several times then made a scissor-like motion, and then I got it. Between the word and his accent I had a difficult time understanding.

    THANKS for the funny memory. 🙂

  11. July 28, 2010 9:17 am

    Three more words added to my vocabulary. You always have great words!!!
    CMash

  12. July 28, 2010 9:36 am

    I would have never guessed that “chivvy” means to hunt or chase. I love the double v.

  13. July 28, 2010 10:22 am

    I love the word chivvy too. It just sounds good. I adore reading Viv’s posts – I adore the British language; they have so many cool words.

  14. July 28, 2010 10:45 am

    Great post, Kathy! I love that you used a word from Vivienne’s blog! I like to know the British words for different items! Thank you.

    My favorite word you posted this week is chivvy, as you said, it has a great sound!

    My words are here:
    Amy’s Wednesday Words

    Enjoy!
    ~ Amy

  15. July 28, 2010 11:07 am

    Don’t you just love how many new words we get when we read Reagan Arthur books?

  16. July 28, 2010 11:52 am

    I love the image that comes to mind when the Grandmother chivies her toddler. I also like that you found a word on a fellow blogger. Some bloggers have incredible vocabularies.

    You can find my new words here: Joyfully Retired.

  17. July 28, 2010 12:03 pm

    I also love chivvy! I remember when my grandma would chivvy me with her false teeth!

  18. July 28, 2010 12:41 pm

    I haven’t heard these words before but chivvy just doesn’t sound like what it means to me…

  19. July 28, 2010 12:51 pm

    The only one that I had an inkling about was chivvy, but I don’t think I could have given a definition.

  20. July 28, 2010 1:24 pm

    Great words, none of which I was familiar with.

  21. July 28, 2010 1:52 pm

    I’m loving all three words especially chivvy!

  22. July 28, 2010 2:19 pm

    I’m with Jeane – I don’t know what a grizzling toddler is! (I gather it’s not a baby bear, or grandma wouldn’t be chivvying it!)

  23. July 28, 2010 3:29 pm

    My parents always drove a chivvy — a big one with fins — when I was a kid.
    My new word, from a C.J. Box mystery about Yellowstone National Park, is thermophile — the micro-organisms that can survive in thermal pools.

  24. July 28, 2010 5:19 pm

    Ok…now I need to know what a grizzling toddler is…you do track down great words.

  25. July 28, 2010 7:50 pm

    Your words this week are indeed wondrous–and new to me! 🙂

  26. July 28, 2010 8:33 pm

    My cat chivvies every day out in the field behind the house!! 😀

  27. July 29, 2010 3:49 am

    Somehow I’d have imagined ” secateurs” to mean something completely different!

  28. July 29, 2010 7:20 am

    Good words, I love “tilth.” Never heard of that word. The sentence from the book is beautiful.

    http://readwithtea.blogspot.com/2010/07/lowcountry-summer-by-dorothea-benton.html

  29. July 29, 2010 7:47 am

    I was eavestwopping on BiblioEva and BethFishReads – Eva used the word ‘pastiche’ to mean a hodgepodge of literary elements. I had only heard the word in terms of a desserts, so it was new to me!

  30. July 30, 2010 2:55 am

    Chivvy I like it. I will definitely use it 😉

  31. August 7, 2010 9:04 pm

    I also like “tilth” – sounds old fashioned and fertile. 🙂

Leave a comment